We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch by the Barrow”
Review of Mullichain Cafe

Mullichain Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in St Mullins
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We run a sweet little Coffee Shop on The Banks of The River Barrow in St Mullins.There is seating both inside and out and we provide waitress service.Our Menu provides a selection of Salads Prawn and Crab,Hummis and Chicken liver Pate plus many more.Pizza,Wraps,Ciabatta with wonderful fresh fillings. Emer is our in house baker and she has a large selection home baking, Apple tarts and Chocolate Brownies to name but a few. This is a wonderful place to wile away the day walking or cycling by the river.Martin Emer and Mark would like to invite you to share our little bit of Heaven
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a really delicious lunch among friendly staff in pleasant surroundings. Exceptional crab and prawn salad!

Thank handfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullichain, Owner at Mullichain Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Many thanks for your review from all the lads and lassies at the Mullicháin Café Mark Emer and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

The leprechaun is said to be a solitary creature, whose principal occupation is making and mending shoes, and who enjoys practical jokes and banter. According to William Butler Yeats, the great wealth of these fairies comes from the "treasure-crocks, buried of old in war-time", which they have uncovered (at the end of an elusive rainbow) and appropriated. Over the years leprechauns have evolved and adapted with variations founds in different parts of Ireland. One of the most significant evolutionary presence in Ireland is the infamous MULLICHAIN still a practical joker, still mischievous and still dressed in green (albeit polo shirts) and can be found settled in The picturesque village of St Mullins County Carlow. They no longer make shoes but welcome the weary travelers and walkers to their den now commonly referred to as the MULLICHAIN CAFE. Disguised within the walls of an old mill serving great food with a loud Mullichain welcome. The Chief of the legendary Mullichains Martin O’Brien and the Mullichain clan of Emer and Mark occupy this great establishment amongst antiquities from the fabled Mullichain clan. The menu contains good food with weird names, the Glynn, The Drummond, the Newtown named after the many Mullichain outposts dotted through the Barrow Vally.
Inside filled with laughter and banter as the Chief Of the Mullichains entertains the unwitting guests as they sip great coffee, Barry’s Tea or fine Wine. A sublime experience. Outside one will hear the singing birds with at times a sound of what appears more fitting to the Jurassic era. Some Say it just a heron but no. It’s far more than a big grey bird it’s the chant of the Mullichain warrior. The MULLICHAIN CAFE - not an experience it’s an adventure. Visit it

1  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

On arrival my wife and I were greeted by martin and seated upstairs in the old loft.
Surrounded by old photos of the area we received a lesson on the local folklore going back to before strongbow. Coffee,hot chocolate and scones were delicious.
Nice and warm inside too on a cold February afternoon.

Thank Fran372015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely visit to this little gem. Even on rainy days you can't beat the nice cosy atmosphere you get indoors be it staff or a nice hot drink. I have not eaten there yet but hope to when it reopens. The owner (gentleman) gives great advice re the area and is so enthusiastic towards each and every customer. Let's hope it continues as we look forward to returning in the spring. Relaxing walkway by the river.

Thank Piegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullichain, Owner at Mullichain Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hi Piegut
Many thanks for your review we reopen for the weekends in February and fully from the first weekend in March for the 2018 season looking forward to meeting you then Best wishes Martin Emer Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Three of us stopped off here for coffee/ afternoon tea while exploring the Barrow Way. We were greeted by very friendly staff, who were eager to accommodate us, and made room for us. We ordered 3 teas, (one herbal) and 2 desserts to share, lemon drizzle cake ad carrot cake. The potions were huge, and we had plenty to share. The service was efficient and friendly. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mullichain, Owner at Mullichain Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi Pat Many thanks for your review you gave us a great lift at the end of a long season
We are back in 2018 for the weekends in February and fully open from the first weekend in March Best Wishes Martin Emer and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mullichain Cafe also viewed

Graiguenamanagh, Kilkenny
New Ross, County Wexford
 
Thomastown, Kilkenny
 

Been to Mullichain Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing