We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay on route to Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Aylburton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight stay on route to Wales”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

friendly people,lovely room plenty big enough for our family of 6. Would stay again and for longer. However down side is that people below us were having a get together after the pub which carried on until 3am. You could hear every conversation and they were very loud. So next time we would ask that something is done ! Overall would recommend! Lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: better to ring them direct as we have 4 children and they were able to accommodate us !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clair t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    55
    26
    16
    8
See reviews for
67
101
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nr Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I spent a weekend here, in August and we had a wonderful time.
The room was amazing: big, airy and spotlessly clean. The furntiture beautiful and the beds very comfy.....
The breakfast at The George were excellent with lots of choice and extremely well cooked ( no greasy fry-ups here).
We ate in the resteraunt many times and the food was superb....lovely range of food and always plenty of it and cooked to perfection.
As for the staff we can not praise them enough. So friendly and made us feel at home the whole time we were there..........
We will be back !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceriliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We had a lovely time here. The room was clean and comfortable, with plenty space and good en suite shower room. The 4 poster bed was an added surprise! The staff were friendly and helpful, giving us good information on the local places to visit. The food in The George across the way was also good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet weekend away in a beautiful village setting.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Stayed here in March and throughly enjoyed our stay, a good location and nice and quiet, even though it is on a main road. Food was good and the prices were fair. The menu is small but I,m sure there would be something to suit every pallette. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen33_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights on a business/pleasure trip. Couldn't fault the staff and you MUST eat in the restaurant, the food is excellent with good sized portions. The full English is enormous! They have an award. Becky (head waitress?) was so helpful and friendly, couldn't do enough to help. Good stuff - Great food, lovely staff, clean spacious room. Bad stuff - Don't stay on the ground floor on the first room inside the entrance - stair case going up and above our room. People could be heard talking and clonking up and down the stairs bumping cases etc! Could also hear their plumbing in the morning! Also, the washing machines/tumble dryers were against our wall so you can imagine! In the room, tiny basin with no plug and only a shower. Waited an age to get hot water through in the sink and very low powered shower difficult to use. In fairness, this room was probably suitable for a wheelchair and so catered more for the disabled and I think we got this room as we booked late so make sure you book a room upstairs! All said and done, very clean and tidy with nice furniture. You must visit Painswick - An idillyic little picture postcard village not too far away and a walk in the Forest of Dean is delightful, stopping off at Speech house for a little tipple to finish off the day!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memyselfi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylburton
10.3 km away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
717 reviews
7.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
644 reviews
8.3 km away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
1.4 km away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
186 reviews
13.4 km away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 2 in Lydbrook
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge

Property: The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Address: High Street | Forest of Dean, Aylburton GL15 6DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Aylburton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aylburton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,278 - ₹ 6,630
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian, Carole and the Team welcome you to The George Inn and Millingbrook Lodge which is ideally placed in the centre of Aylburton, a small village just one mile from Lydney, Gloucestershire. The Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. Situated in the heart of Aylburton village it is ideally located for tourists and business-persons alike with easy travel links to Cheltenham, Gloucester, Bristol, Chepstow & Cardiff. The George Inn boasts a selection of locally sourced Cask Marque Real Ales, Draught Beers, Lagers, Ciders and selection of wines & Spirits. The Landlord Ian and his team keep an impeccable cellar and continue to offer award winning service. The Millingbrook Restaurant offers a wide range of fresh food from Lighter Bites to Traditional Home Cooked Meals. The George Inn prides itself on great service, an imaginative menu and we are Forest Famous for our value for money. The restaurant is open all year round and our garden is available during the summer months for al fresco dining. Our food is locally sourced whenever possible, for example our Meat is sourced from Cowshill Farm and Fitzgerald's Butchers in Lydney and we use the Finest Butter from Netherend Dairy Farm. The Millingbrook Lodge offers 4 star Visit England hotel style accommodation all with en-suite facilities at great competitive rates. A choice of breakfasts are also available, from Continental up to Full English every morning in the Millingbrook Restaurant for all our Millingbrook Lodge guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing