We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for a weekend exploring the Forest...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Side Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Front of property
Side
Master Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Snug
Lounge
Lounge
Dining Area
Kitchen
Bathroom
Garden
Garden
Forest of Dean
Cannop Ponds
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bream, Lydney, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Netti2015
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a weekend exploring the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Mill Hill Cottage provided a perfect base for our group of 4 adults for a weekend exploring the Forest of Dean. It contained all the facilities and equipment we needed, a pretty garden to sit out in; and was close to all the places of interest that we wanted to visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeansstev...
Worcester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Break”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my family with our dogs had a reasonably nice break at Mill Hill cottage.
We did have some issues
The dogs were not in a secure garden although this was promised, first day and Holly was over the wall into wasteland, the road was busy at times so this lead to all dogs having to be kept on a lead.
Molly and boys playing in the garden only to realise later we were not permitted as it was next doors.
No outside night light.
Parking for 2 cars only and this was very tight.
Heating in the cottage wasn’t really working cold on the first night fortunately for us the weather improved.
Garden chairs badly stained unable to use.
No night light in landing.
Lack of mirrors in the bedrooms, had to dry my hair on the landing.
We have stayed in many cottages over the years and this was certainly not the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2018
Sorry you think the garden is not secure? no dogs over the last 3 years have escape so yours must be good escape artists. The garden is a good size cottage garden however if it was not large enough because the dog could not be controlled, and you needed to expand into the neighbours garden we could of asked them if this was OK and I expect they would not of minded.
Heating is set to work below 18 degrees which means the temperature must of been warm, however we cannot control the temperature outside which at your visit was over 20 degrees. If you had asked about a special night light for the landing to make you feel at home we would of provided one due to the one we had being stolen. We are also very sorry that the large 4ft free standing mirror, the mirror you used in the hall and the bathroom mirror where not to your liking. The (2) plastic garden chairs do get covered from the trees in the garden but are easy to clean using water, however the large wood picnic table that you obviously did not see because it was not mentioned should not be washed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulrikefen...
Oldenburg, Germany
1 review
“Cosy but spacious cottage with a very nice garden.”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The cottage is cosy but spacious and has everything you need including a very nicely laidout garden. A shop, a pub and a sports field are in walking distance and it's close to forest walk ways.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolZ601...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The cottage was a lovely 3 bedroom cottage with a beautiful garden which will be lovely to sit in in the summer months..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pongo111
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage in the Forest of Dean surrounded by wonderful walks and things to do”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Area was wonderful and very close to lots of local attractions, the local pubs and restaurants are great we found 3 within a mile of the cottage and the food was really good with friendly service. If you enjoy walking and cycling then you will be in your element here amazing area of outstanding natural beauty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Hayley and her group observe all the house rul;es and left the cottage as they found it. Would welcome them back at any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing