We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good prices”
Review of La Rotonde

La Rotonde
Ranked #25 of 170 Restaurants in Morzine
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Friendly, nice, relaxed. Quite large but didn't feel crowded or too busy even when fully booked. Good pizzas.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Anna-Clara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely restaurant. We were a party of 8 , 4 adults and 4 kids. The menu was diverse enough to please all. Massive, lovely pizzas were devoured by the kids and the adults were very happy with the steaks and Savoyarde fare on offer. Good choose of wine topped it off. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 199nickys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Came here on a Wed evening (busy night as Chalet girls night off) having not booked and they managed to find a table forthe 5 of us, 2 sea food risotto's and 3 steaks all very good and quickly served. Good local food in a friendly and buzzy place, great for families and especially good for steak! Will no soubt be going next year!!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank markrS9913JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We were part of the five , in the previous review. Having always enjoyed meals at the rotunde on many occasions , my perche was half the size of previous occasions , but it was the lamb dishes that were unbelievably appalling....it spoilt the whole evening watching the faces of the three that suffered the miniscule plate served up,as all three of them have had lamb before there and this didn’t resemble anything like the quality we’ve enjoyed for many years at the rotunde....it’s couldnt have been one lamb shank worth of meat in the three meals put together.......having taken friends there , i fekt quite ashamed after saying before hand you will like it here....indeed the surroundings are nice, but there needs a huge review of what they are doing here.....perhaps the management needs to visit some of the other “quality fine restaurants”and witness what they are serving, as we have have always though the rotunde was “ quality”....sadly I doubt we’d risk taking friends there again.....not when we can rely on our other favorites........

Date of visit: March 2018
3  Thank susanann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We have visited this restaurant on many occasions, and recently made a reservation for ourselves and visiting friends. We were five in total. Two ordered perche, three confit d'agneau. As we salivated, awaiting the treat in store, imagine our disappointment when the waiter brought two very small serving dishes of perche and a single bowl of 'salad,' which in France comprises lettuce and tomato; then followed the lamb... Having experienced this dish before, at this very same restaurant, imagine our stunned astonishment when it arrived ... it bore no resemblance to that which we'd had on previous occasions. In fact it looked like a starter, actually smaller than a starter. So confused were we, that we informed the waiter we had not ordered starters, but the lamb.... He informed us this was definitely the main course we'd ordered.... we asked, "But where is the lamb?"... Apparently it was on the plate, as assembled by the Chef. We discovered the lamb hidden on a blob of mashed potato (of similar dimensions to a rosti), under a mound of rocket; 'artfully' surrounded by a couple of mange tout, a few wafers of courgette, 3/4 slices of carrot and the odd green bean, oh and a sprig of three miniscule tomatoes. But the lamb?... well it was definitely not on the bone (shoulder or shank) as, from previous experience, we'd anticipated ... it was merely a few fragments of 'pulled' meat - little more than a tablespoonful, in fact (between the three of us) not even the equivalent of one shank, or part shoulder, made up these three portions. Inclusive to our choices, were chips.... one bowl eventually arrived - which, even for those of modest appetite, was totally insufficient for five people, and which unfortunately tasted as if they'd been reheated from lunchtime. What an absolute rip-off! Shame on the owner and management; and shameful that they leave the waiting staff to make excuses for any shortcomings. We know recent refurbishment has to be paid for, but not at the expense of the client, the quality and quantity of food, and the previously good reputation of the restaurant. The management must seriously 'up their game', review charges, customer satisfaction, re-train kitchen staff, reinstate the original lamb of old, and offer more generous portions. Having extolled this restaurant; we not only feel embarrassed having taken friends there, but also cheated and very, very disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lucylocket49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rotonde also viewed

Morzine, Portes du Soleil
Morzine, Portes du Soleil
 
Morzine, Portes du Soleil
Morzine, Portes du Soleil
 
Morzine, Portes du Soleil
Morzine, Portes du Soleil
 

Been to La Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing