We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday cottage ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Gleeson's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gleeson's Cottage
Our favourite beach - Old Head, with view of Croagh Patrick Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Gleeson's Cottage
Our favourite beach - Old Head, with view of Croagh Patrick
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
View of Lough Cullin
The stream down the lane
Kitchen
Garden
Down the lane
Down the lane
Down the lane
Stove
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
Bathroom
Double bedroom
Views from garden
Views from garden
Views from garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pontoon, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
_hobnails...
Kildare, Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best holiday cottage ever”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This the perfect holiday cottage.

The host was amazing and greeted us with extreme warmth. The house is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The treats and surprises were greatly appreciated.
I will definitely be returning soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Lovely young family and looking forward to seeing them again this summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explore64...
1 review
“Peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is finished in a modern and tasteful way with every modern convenience and looks great. 10 mins from the bars and restaurants of Castlebar, its ideal for a peaceful break. Helen and Aiden were very attentative and made sure we had everything we needed and even put some food in the fridge (and a grateful bottle of white wine thx)
I'd recommend this to anyone
Norm

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Liked least: cant think ... maybe a clothesline?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you Norman , it was a pleasure to have you all stay in the cottage and to meet you .You are most welcome to return at anytime. Best wishes, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minibreak...
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We are just back from a 12-night stay in Gleeson's Cottage, and would definitely recommend it! Our kids (aged 11,9 and 7) had a ball, so much to see and do, both locally and further afield. The cottage itself was perfect, had absolutely everything you might need and more. Seeing rabbits in the garden every morning and evening was a highlight for both the kids and our dog.The sandy beaches of Lough Cullin were perfect for young kids and a dog. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for the wonderful review ...it was so lovely to meet you all and have you stay wi th have us .Hope to see you all again sometime. Best wishes to you all, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing & wonderful couple of days in "Gleesons Cottage."”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is so well equipped with everything you could possibly need and Helen the host is helpful and friendly. Lovely to get away for a week end of peice nad quiet and long walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi-134
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing 2 week stay!”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a 2 week stay in Gleeson cottage and it was absolutely fantastic! Helen the owner met us on arrival with the fire burning, a bottle of wine and the house had everything we could of possibly needed for our stay. We packed far to much because Helen had thought of everything. The cottage is clean and cosy and beds are very comfortable. The cottage is in a beautiful location which is so relaxing and we enjoyed lots of walks and got out running. The shops are about 20 mins away in the car and it's a nice drive. My husband and I have absolutely no complaints at all and we throughly enjoyed our first family holiday with our 6 month old daughter. If the weather is too bad to leave the cottage the free wifi, freeview and board games will keep you entertained. We will definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to our family and friends. Thanks again Helen!! We hope to be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi Tam Claire and Zara,

Many thanks for the fantastic reviews! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Helen & Aidan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing