We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very special place that I hope to keep...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pontoon House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pontoon House
Pontoon House Rear garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Pontoon House
Pontoon House
Rear garden
Upstairs Master ensuite bedroom
Living Room
Dining/Living Room
Downstairs master ensuite bedroom
Downstairs master ensuite bedroom
Upstairs queen bedroom
Kitchen
Dining Room
Keel Beach, Achill
Lough Cullin View
Lads fishing down the village
Lads taking the high road
Winner all right at Healy's fishing competition
Boat out on Lough Cullin right of way beside Pontoon House
Horse treking at Turlough 10 mins away.
Fishing on Lough Cullin
Village Connemara Mare & foal
Village Donkey Mare & foal
Keel Beach, Achill, Co. Mayo
Connemara Ponies in local fields
View across Lough Conn
Healy\'s Hotel & Restaurant 3km from Pontoon House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Pontoon, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
quigleys2...
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special place that I hope to keep returning to year after year!”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thanks Paddy another fabulous week. Our 5th time at Pontoon House and this year I was nervous as we were bringing yet more friends for a first visit to Mayo plus our kids who have been visiting PH since they were infants and toddlers, now they are teenagers and you wonder...will it still work? It did and we had a great time. I have visited family in Mayo every summer of my childhood and what Pontoon House has afforded us is the opportunity to have a holiday in the most comfortable of houses so that you feel its a holiday but also the kids have experienced the magic of Mayo.
Ok so the weather can be a challenge, we were lucky! But, there is so much to do in Mayo with kids of all ages. Pontoon House is ideal place for two families who are happy to share but also there is a feeling of space.
Paddy, hopefully we will be back again soon to this very special corner of the world

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home, you feel like you belong there after only five minutes.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thanks a mill Bernie for your lovely review - great to see your Kids have been able to experience some of those great memories that you have cherished since your childhood. Great to see your friends also had an enjoyable time. Thanks again for your very valued business. Kind regards, Paddy & Emer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pontoon Paradise”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I took my family away to Pontoon House over the August holiday and we had an unbeatable time. The house is perfect with everything you need, and its ideally located with plenty of walks, lakes and mountains nearby, but also not too far from the pleasant suurounds of Healey's Fishing Lodge. The decor and interior of the house is lovely and the views from the house were just breath takibng . The owners were really helpful and so welcoming.
We would highly recommend to any couple or family planning a stay in the area. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !! Especially the surrounding and remoteness.
Liked least: The odd drop of rain !!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Many Thanks Pauline for your very kind review - It's great to hear you all enjoyed yourselves and hopefully we will see you all back in Mayo over the coming years. Kind regards, Paddy & Emer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie J
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I visited Pontoon House with 8 other members of the family, young and old. Having stayed here before we knew what to expect but were still delighted to find the house as well equipped and comfortable as before with everything you could need from a flask to a first aid kit.
The locations is perfect with beautiful views of the lake and enoiugh outdoor space in the wonderfully landscaped garden for the boys to explore and play football.
I would and do recomend this property to everyone, do not be put off by the weather in Ireland it is still a great destination and despite being cloudy we saw very little rain. Mayo has so much to offer and the short flight, great exchange rate, and lack of industrial action or security threats makes it an obvious choice for a great holiday. Ireland has it all and you do not need to have Irish connections to enjoy it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alsolutly everything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Great to hear all went well for you Maggie. Thanks a mill for your review and look forward to looking after you all again. Kind Regards, Paddy & Emer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPG222
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“A family get-together that shall be long remembered”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our party consisted of 7 adults. The primary reason for the trip was to meet up with 6 American relations who were on holiday for the first time as a group of 6 although my family and I visit Mayo on a very regular basis. We could not have asked for more from the house and its location. It was clean and tidy when we arrived. The bedrooms are of a good size providing plenty of room. The kitchen includes everything you would expect. The fact that there is free wifi is a bonus but for us the layout of the kitchen/diner is the house’s best feature. We had two ‘parties’ at Pontoon House, the one on Sunday evening included 19 adults. We had more than enough space for a buffet meal, music and dance – indeed, we could have easily accommodated another 8 to 10 more. Whilst we have tried ‘get-togethers’ before in other holiday rentals none have gone down as well as the two we had here. Sunday night was special, the house helped make it so.



The location is handy for getting to many places as mentioned by other reviewers. It was lovely to walk down to Lough Cullin in the morning or indeed, back along the road and out a bit of the way to Park. My niece was particularly taken with two little foals in a field not far from the house.



We had one small issue during the stay. On the Monday evening we noted that the toilet in the main bathroom was ‘backing up’ a bit but by Tuesday morning it was OK again. Tuesday evening the same thing. By Thursday morning all three downstairs toilets were ‘backing up’. I emailed Paddy, the owner, who responded within 30mins. He informed me that a neighbour, Adrian, would be around within an hour. 45 minutes later Adrian turned up. He rectified the problem straight away, identifying baby wipes as blocking the drain. Adrian was very polite and even left his personal number telling us to call him immediately if the problem were to return. You could not have asked for better service.



As a slight aside – as I said, I visit Mayo on a very regular basis. A great many of the houses in the countryside have septic tanks i.e. they are not connected to a sewerage system. Septic tanks are not designed for the disposal of non biodegradable waste so please do not do it.



Throughout the planning, booking and all the way up to our arriving at Pontoon House, Paddy kept in contact happily addressing any issues / problems I may have had. That helped to elevate the stress of planning the trip which was very much appreciated. I have no qualms at all about recommending this property as a holiday retreat – fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space the kitchen/diner offered
Liked least: Wifi can be a bit slow but at least it is available.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thank you Chris for such a fantastic review. Great to see all the family had a fab time in Pontoon House and look forward to having you back again. Keep in touch. Kind regards, Paddy & Emer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin L
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday home in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This holiday home is special! It sleeps at least nine although the master bedroom has an additional child's bed and travel cot on top. The modern but traditional home is stunning from the moment you walk through the front door; it has a very contemporary feel but manages to feel homely at the same time. The kitchen is most people's idea of a dream kitchen with a utility room off for white goods, boiler, microwave, toaster, ironing board etc. This is open plan to a double-height dining / living room more than 30 feet long with french doors opening to a large, family-friendly garden (complete with built-in slide, rotary dryer, garden furniture etc). There is a large open-hearth (with fuel provided and the fire was set ready to light when we arrived) and the house is fitted with under-floor heating downstairs and radiators upstairs fired by a sophisticated central heating system. There are three double en-suite bedrooms + a bunk bed room and a large single/small double room. There is a contemporary family bathroom downstairs where most of the bedrooms are. All the windows are fitted with plantation shutters and give the house a modern feel to it. The arrangements with the owner were straightforward and friendly. The house is set up quite high from the road behind remote controlled gates and has views to die for - looking across towards two large lakes and mountains in the distance. At the end of the road, through a farm gate, one can reach a secluded sandy area on the shore one of the lakes complete with cattle and donkeys - it's so peaceful. Less than ten minutes along the road is a wonderful local pub - Healeys - which serves great food and a quarter of an hour the other way is Castlebar which boasts a Lidl, Aldi and Tesco and a wide range of shops, pubs, coffee shops etc. There is an impressive peace gardens commemorating the fallen from the world wars (and more recent conflicts) from County Mayo. Further afield is the beautiful, rugged Achill Island and towns such as Newport and Westport and some beautiful mountainside drives down to County Galway. Also worthy of a visit is the 'Titanic Village' about 20 minutes away from where 14 people boarded the fated vessel and three survived. There is a beautiful memorial garden and a minute down the road is Leonards pub which when you go in you realise is a pub on one side and a delightful grocery store on the other. Foxford is home to the Woolen Mill with guided tours and just down the road is the National Museum of Irish Country Life which is well worth a visit. Nearby to this is a ruined abbey and round tower dating from around the turn of the first millenium. This house is an ideal base for visiting so many places in Co Mayo and beyond although if the weather is inclement, the house is a delight to be in too. There are all sorts of entertainment suiting all age ranges including, games, books, puzzle, small and full-size rocking horse, full size pool table, TV + Sky box + DVD, Wi-Fi. I would most definitely recommend the house for large family groups and groups of friends providing they were prepared to look after such a beautiful home. We'll definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and state of the accommodation
Liked least: 3mobile wifi had to be topped up and was a bit slow
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Wow Kevin - Thank you most sincerely for giving Pontoon House such a comprehensive review. Great to see you all had a fab time. Hope we get a chance to look after you on your next trip to Mayo. Kind regards, Paddy and Emer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing