We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and restaurant in the Middle of Nowhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domaine du Moulin d'Asselborn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asselborn
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We were happy to be guided by our navigation system with the well known name, otherwise we would never have found it.
The hotel is situated in a very small town called Asselborn, somewhere lost in the wooded country of Luxembourg. My sister and I were on our way to Holland and we came all the way from Switzerland.
We arrived around 8.30 pm in the evening. The staff treated us very friendly.
The hotel has plenty of parking space, you can park your car easily in front of the hotel.
The rooms are fine and mainly built from pinewood. The bathrooms are spacious but a little bit old. The mattresses on room nr. 106 must urgently be replaced, for the springs staked in my back. That is why I slept badly during that night. I hope the management will solve this problem soon.
We enjoyed a fine dinner in the cozy restaurant. They had only a menu in the French language.
Fortunately the manager spoke Flemish. She was willing to translate the dishes for us. We asked for a mixed salad as a starter and they brought us a wonderful salad with shrimp, sweet pears and nuts. As a main dish we ordered a beef tenderloin. The meat was tasty and tender.
The meal was accompanied by a delicious Luxembourg Red wine. After finishing the main course my sister took a dessert and I took a cup of coffee and a glass of Grand Marnier.
The next morning we enjoyed a perfect breakfast and made a small walk through the environment. In the courtyard they had an exhibition about the First World War. The stuff looked poorly maintained and we found that unfortunate. I hope that they will be somewhat more careful in future with those valuable historical items.
After checking out we continued our trip to Holland.
Despite the painful bed we had a wonderful stay and we'll certainly come again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klaas-Dekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

The setting of the Moulin d'Asselborn is charming and serene. Unfortunately, the management feel that life revolves around their needs not their guest's needs. We were told to take a bus from Trois Vierge Railway Station. We did and then were forced to walk over a kilometer in the rain to the hotel that wasn't signposted for distance.

On Saturday night the manager decided to go drinking with her friends and locked my wife and I out of the hotel. She was forced to let us in, didn't offer and apology and then locked us in. The next morning we were told we could not check out before 9 AM. There was no internet access. There are only 3 taxis in the north of Luxembourg. None was prepared to get us on a Sunday morning, except 1 for a substantial fee. We had to resort to insisting before a young staff member gave us a ride out of the valley to get to our train. We found the staff to be generally indifferent to our concerns. Despite the lovely surroundings, we were very disappointed with the hotel.

Ron van der Holt
Clevedon, North Somerset
UK

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We spent there just one night.
We used a smart box present "Escapade gourmande" and we were very lucky because the place was wanderfull and the dinner was AMAZING.
If you dont want to do nothing for one day, please go to this hotel.
a special thanks to Silvia (waitress) that, with her smile and friendly approach, made our evening just great.
In the reception there is not a whorm welcome.
No bar in the room

Room Tip: Just RELAX
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asselborn
5.7 km away
Chateau d'Urspelt
Chateau d'Urspelt
#1 of 1 in Urspelt
667 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#4 of 8 in Clervaux
389 reviews
13.6 km away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 5 in Houffalize
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#6 of 8 in Clervaux
362 reviews
24.7 km away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#1 of 11 in Vianden
226 reviews
29.3 km away
Floreal La Roche
Floreal La Roche
#7 of 13 in La Roche-en-Ardenne
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Moulin d'Asselborn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Moulin d'Asselborn

Address: Maison 158, Asselborn 9940, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Asselborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asselborn
Price Range: ₹ 5,372 - ₹ 8,643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Moulin d'Asselborn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine du Moulin d'Asselborn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing