We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Group friendly, comfortable accomodation.”
other travellers have booked this property
At the foot of Gaer Fawr, an Iron Age settlement, nestles this spacious,stylish,country house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
At the foot of Gaer Fawr, an Iron Age settlement, nestles this spacious,stylish,country house.
Local sculptor Andy Hancock carved this bird of prey for our entrance.  You see them fly overhead. The sun floods into the spacious well equipped kitchen/diner and you can eat outside on the patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
At the foot of Gaer Fawr, an Iron Age settlement, nestles this spacious,stylish,country house.
Local sculptor Andy Hancock carved this bird of prey for our entrance.  You see them fly overhead.
The sun floods into the spacious well equipped kitchen/diner and you can eat outside on the patio
A view into the kitchen from the breakfast room which seats 8 with room for high chairs.
Stylish, well equipped modern kitchen overlooking the garden,with cooker,microwave, and dishwasher..
A cosy lounge with TV, DVD player,and Wifi.  There's full oil central heating at the house.
Up the stairs after a great day's walking or just relaxing in the sunshine or at the beach.
The first floor family bathroom with shower, bath, wash hand basin and WC.  Take time to unwind!!
Master bedroom with dressing room and ensuite.  You wake up to the morning sun and feel refreshed..
Ensuite bathroom with bath in the dressing room.  Don't worry, there is a screen if you're shy!
Second double bedroom on the first floor.  Both double bedded rooms can accommodate a cot/extra bed
F F twin bedded room, light and airy with views over our fields, and,of course, the horses.
Ground floor bedroom. with double bed and views of the garden and fields.  Shower room opposite.
View of the front entrance from the hard standing car park.  There's a porch for your walking boots.
Rear view of the house showing the outside patio and dining area.
Close up view of the BBQ area which seats 8.You can pick the blackberries for your cereal bowls.
View over Rodney's pillar and the Breidden Hills from the drive. We take a crop of hay every summer.
Looking towards the village with our latest addition, Orla, a beautiful filly born on 7 July 2014
Orla thinking about food v sleep!  Now where has my mum gone?
The Guilsfield brook runs through our hay meadows a hundred yards or so from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Guilsfield, Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela F
Consett, United Kingdom
1 review
“Group friendly, comfortable accomodation.”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. There were 8 of us and 1 5 month old baby. The pictures dont do the place justice to be fair. Huge bedrooms, the main one has a gorgeous bath and the others are very comfy too. It has everything you need, its not 100% immaculate but do you really want it to be when your are in a big group anyway? we surely dont and it was more than great for us. Its in a great location, close to the road but not too close that you would hear any noise. Spar shop is 2 mins away. Lovely countryside to walk or go biking. Really conveniently placed. Margaret was lovely and friendly, always on the texts when you need her to be, happy to do anything for you, she went out of her way to organise high chairs for the baby etc. A great place to say with a warm welcome. Highly recommend this place. Great value for money too. Angela

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge rooms are great for big groups, very spacious!
Liked least: The existing owners possessions in the bedroom wardrobes but this wasn't bad because we had our own empty wardrobes anyway, just saying some people might not like that.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedersA
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Location, Excellent Owner, Superb Accommodation”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We booked this for a weekend. 7 friends in a cottage, and we did not feel claustrophobic! The facilities were excellent, the owner, Margaret, was welcoming and charming, and the rooms were brilliant. Everyone slept well, ate well and enjoyed the peace and tranquility. Will definitely return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooms, kitchen and location!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muhammad...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“great”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we stayed 3 nights and it was great good rooms nice and cosy. it was in a good quit area. we had enjoyable time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your comments, Saleem and we are so pleased you and the family had a great time with us on the Gaer Hall estate. Thanks too for posting back the keys, they arrived today. Hope to see you all again soon, kind regards, Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing