We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilbawn Country House
Nearby Hotels
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
US$ 179
US$ 167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$ 154
US$ 61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilford Arms Hotel(Kilkenny)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 157
US$ 153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 136
US$ 122
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Newpark Hotel(Kilkenny)
US$ 141
US$ 133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
96
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
7
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Kilbawn Country House B & B was a wonderful stay for us when visiting family locally and in Thomastown. Kilbawn was recommended by a family member and we were not disappointed. Elizabeth and her husband made us feel at home right from the start. With a set time for breakfast and the extent of the menu for breakfast, we thoroughly enjoyed our Irish breakfast and porridge for breakfast. Our room was perfect with Ensuite and we both loved the electric blanket. Couldn't ask for better hosts and beautiful home and well manicured grounds. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tootsdelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Kilbawn House for two nights to attend a friend's wedding nearby. The house is very homely and Elisabeth made us feel very welcome right from the moment we met. She helped us to arrange our transport to and from the wedding and gave us tips on where to go in Kilkenny the evening we arrived. The rooms are lovely, cosy & spotless. I would definitely recommend and would go back again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Maybe we should mention, that this was the first time we visited Ireland, and our first experience with B&Bs...
But no matter what we imagined it might be - Elisabeth proved us wrong! It was way way better than expected!

She is such a nice and heartwarming person, tries all she can to give you a nice "home" and you'll barely find another host which is so attentively!

The house and garden are perfectly looked after, in the dining room you have nice Irish folk music in the background, and the rooms are absolutely clean and comfortable - and you even get electric blankets!!!

Also the breakfast is very tasty (you should really try the porridge) and you'll be perfectly happy with the selection of meals!

Thank you very much for this two pleasant nights at your home - as we suggest to everyone else as well:
Our next trip to Ireland will start at your B&B!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jakob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Kilbawn House is very close to Kilkenny City and Gowran Park when Horse Racing is on. Elizabeth, Host of house was very accommodating and has a wonderful home and gardens. If we get to Kilkenny again will definitely think of Elizabeth to stay in her home.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eithne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Kilbawn House is an immaculate, lovely, well-appointed bed and breakfast near Kilkenny and within driving distance of many important sites in Southeastern Ireland. The bedrooms are spacious with comfortable beds, very nice linens, and modern bathrooms. The breakfast is homemade, ample, and delicious. Above all, it is run by Elizabeth and Jim with concern for quality and the overall experience of their guests.
We booked Kilbawn House from the U.S. and when I had questions the responses were immediate and congenial. When we arrived at Kilbawn House in the evening after an exhausting drive from Dingle, we were welcomed warmly and offered tea. Elizabeth showed us our rooms and inquired about our plans for the following day. During the conversation she offered advice to maximize our sightseeing time. The next morning she recommended a place for dinner in Kilkenny where we could enjoy both good food and music.
From Kilbawn House we were able to see both Cahir Castle and the Rock of Cashel in one afternoon. Many other sites—just ask Elizabeth—are an easy drive, as well.
Elizabeth is the heart of Kilbawn House and her gracious concern for guests was evident in the way she recommended a remedy for my daughter who had a cold and in the way she made certain to not only welcome guests, but to offer a warm farewell upon departure.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews