We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing holiday for my wife & I and...”

Review of Rose cottage

Fun in the pool, safely enclosed and alarmed.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fun in the pool, safely enclosed and alarmed.
Rose cottage over the rainbow! The play ground and acres of garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Fun in the pool, safely enclosed and alarmed.
Rose cottage over the rainbow!
The play ground and acres of garden.
The communal area for the weekly BBQ
The ponies for riding and animals for petting
Home cooked meals available - have a night off from cooking!
The play barn with dressing up box and bouncy castle
The play barn with many toys and games.
The games room with table games and a wii
The chickens for egg collecting
The complex plan
Rose cottage first floor
Rose cottage ground floor
The living/diner
The master bedroom
The bunk bed room
The twin bed room
The kitchen
Fun and freedom
Lac de Maison sunset
Lac de Maison
Clematis
The three cottages safely enclosed and private
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Benassay, Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JimandHaz...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very relaxing holiday for my wife & I and fantasic fun for our 2 young girls (aged 3 & 18 mths) highly recommended!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Anna and Simon were the perfect hosts, very approachable and keen to offer assistance if required but not over bearing. My wife and our two young girls stayed in Rose Cottage which was excellent and had all the facilities you could wish for, everything you would need for young children was provided from a high chair to cutlery, toys and a cot. This made packing far less hassle and it was clear that Anna and Simon had put a lot of thought into providing facilities that would cater for families with children.

Rose cottage is perfectly located, only 50 paces (as are all the gites in fact) from the amazing heated swimming pool which the kids loved and we spent at least an hour a day playing on the inflatables and splashing about and cooling off from the beautiful weather we had that week. Our eldest particularly enjoyed riding on the shetland pony, collecting eggs, stroking the goats and sitting in her twin bike buggy with her little sister as my wife and I cycled along the beautifully quiet country roads with them both laughing away behind us all the way. Even on the only day it rained we had fun as we spent most of that day in the play barn dressing up, drawing, playing musical instruments and playing with the enourmous selection of toys on offer.

All in all this was the most relaxing holiday my wife and I have had since we started our family and the kids absolutely loved it! There was so much for them to do that they just didn't get bored and as a bonus tired themselves out every day in what was a fun and more importantly a safe environment.

To be honest there was so much to do at Lac De Maison that we didn't actually explore as much as we had originally planned, however we have no regrets as that was only due the kids having so much fun that we never felt the need to go further afield and anyway, we can always explore more the next time we go!!

Bottom line, this was an amazing family holiday, which my wife and I highly recommend!

Thank you Anna and Simon!

Jim, Hazel, Ayla and Kaia - Hampshire, England (July 2015).

PS Try the home cooked food that Anna and Simon offer, we loved all the meals but especially the lasagna, so much so we had it twice....Mmmmm

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the facilities are perfectly set up for families with young children.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lds80
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing family holiday in a rural idyll with everything we needed”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Rose cottage for a week in July 2015 with our four year old son. It was easily the most relaxing holiday that we have had since becoming parents - we even read books!

The outside play equipment, including pirate ship, slide, swings and trampolines gave our son hours of entertainment. The swimming pool was great for cooling off in the afternoons when it was too hot to play any longer. It was a generous size for only the three cottages on site and was always kept spotlessly clean. Although we didn't have much rain during our stay, the indoor play barn was also used daily and the huge selection of dressing up clothes throughly enjoyed. The bikes, which are free for guests to use as they please, were one of our favourite things. There was a good selection of bikes for all ages and sizes as well as tag along trailers, child seats and helmets. There are some really beautiful (and flat) country bike rides straight from the cottages.

Rose cottage was again spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we needed and more - there were even bath toys provided! The beds were comfy and we all slept well. The arrival pack of food was genuinely useful, not just a token effort. We had an arrival meal cooked by Anna, which was simply delicious, even though we arrived late! The TV had loads of English channels, and most importantly CBeebies. That, and the huge selection of DVDs were about the only things that got our son to sit still all week.

We did have plans to do some day trips out, but never quite managed to tear ourselves away from Lac de Maison for very long. We had lots of lazy days sitting in comfy chairs, chatting with other guests and watching our children all make friends and enjoy freedom on a scale they're never normally used to at home.

Anna and Simon have clearly worked hard to create a truly special place, which caters so well for the needs of young families. They seem to have effortlessly found the right balance between being on hand and being quietly discreet in the background. We look forward to going back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ine R
Borgloon, Belgium
2 reviews
“Great place for a child-friendly relaxing holiday!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent 2 weeks in Rose cottage. It was absolutely fantastic. Everything we needed was provided, the cottage very clean and well equiped. The welcome pack at the start of the vacation was nice!
The girls (2 and 4 years old) enjoyed the huge garden, the pirate ship, the playhouse, the pony ride, the (heated !!!) swimming pool AND off course the great desserts from Anna. Anna is a great cook, and so nice they bring the meal to your cottage and afterwords you just put everything in the dishwasher so you can enjoy a relaxing evening! There are enough places in the neighbourhoud to visit (La Rochelle was very nice) and the bikes they provide are also a big plus! Great bakery and butcher in Vasles!

Anna and Simon are really great and friendly hosts! We really enjoyed our stay and hoping to go back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunnyCaz
Surrey
1 review
“Our third time at Rose Cottage and it just gets better”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We returned yesterday from our third stay at Lac de Maison and it really does get better every year. After a few stressful breaks with our children (now aged 4 and 6), Lac de Maison really opened our eyes about how relaxing a holiday can be. On that first trip three years ago, I read my first book post-children while they toddled around the spacious yet safe complex with their new-found friends and we haven't looked back since.
Hosts Anna and Simon have created a haven which offers the privacy and autonomy of self catering with friendly service and delicious catering on hand should you want it. The menu is varied - from the family meals that we ordered on our first night (a saving grace after the drive from Calais!) to the three course a la carte dinner that was delivered to our cottage course by course one evening. Anna and Simon are ex-restauranteurs so the quality of food is excellent.
The complex itself is stunning. We always feel like we have gone back in time slightly as our view from the cottage opens out onto stunning fields - complete with ponies - and colourful gardens. The fact that there are just three cottages means that the children always have friends to play with, but that the play equipment and pool are never crowded. There is a well-thought out timetable of children's activities that takes place on three of the mornings throughout the week which includes egg collecting and pony rides. Aside from the extensive play area (with the Pirate Ship that was much-loved by all of the children during our stay!) the play barn is kitted out for all ages. From dressing up, to playing in the ball pit and using the Wii, the children are never lost for something to do!
While our children relish the independence they feel that they have at Lac de Maison, it has been designed with the entire family in mind. From relaxing in the hammocks dotted around the gardens to making the most of the on-site beauty treatments and taking advantage of the local golf club, our holidays at Lac de Maison offer something for every one of our family.
Rose Cottage itself has all that we need - the three bedrooms are well thought out and tastefully decorated. The bathroom and kitchen have just been refurbished - although with Anna and Simon's cooking and the barbecue being well-used the oven didn't get a look-in! Each gite has a private garden and seating area, which enabled us to get a good mix of social and family time.
I couldn't recommend Lac de Maison more highly. We felt so relaxed when we returned home and the children are already asking when we can return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing