We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like being home”
Review of The Oxford Arms

The Oxford Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 37
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Oxford Arms is an award-winning dining pub in Oxfordshire run by Chef Patron Bryn Jones since 2003. We are situated 10 mins from Bicester Shopping Village, 10 miles from Blenheim Palace and 20 miles from Oxford city center. We serve good, honest food with a minimum of fuss. The menu changes seasonably with daily specials to use even more local produce. 85% of the ingredients we use are local produce, a further 12% are from rest of the UK and 3% are from other European countries (some of the ingredients are from our organic Kitchen Garden and Kirtlington village itself). Our real log fire will keep you warm in winter and our beautiful garden patio will keep you cool during hot summer days. You will be looked after from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. The Oxford Arms is suitable for over 12 y.o. only please.
Reviewed 10 March 2015

It was a very good meal and a very nice spot, I don't like meat very much so i choose fish which was divine, also i wanted to try beer and they have a wide variety , the service is very good i really don't know if it was the owner taking our request or not but it was superb as a smoker i asked where i could smoke and i was directed to this sunny garden which is heated and makes you feel like you are ate your house i definitely recommend it to everyone

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank MarianaOliveira2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2015

My husband and I had a lovely evening at the Oxford Arms. The food was delicious (especially the triple cooked chips - yum!) and the service friendly and polite. Cosy and inviting on a particularly cold and rainy night.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Met some old friends at this pub as it was half way for us all to travel...we were pleasantly surprised!!
The pub is gorgeous and welcoming....log burner, candle lit tables and really friendly bar staff. We were given a very warm welcome and sat for nearly an hour waiting for our friends.
Menu is great...lovely seasonal dishes and all home made I could tell.
Our starter and Mains were delicious...we were so happy with them all. Rounded off our meal with coffees and fell in love with the ace little coffee cups!!
We will definitely return again!! Top nosh!!!

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We understand that the pub has been in the same ownership for twelve years, and has obviously built up and maintained an excellent reputation.. Enjoyable.

Date of visit: January 2015
3  Thank NormE_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Eat here as part of a birthday celebration. Main waitress was a credit to the place. Great recommendation on both food and wine.
The quality of the food was great at a reasonable price. We were too full to have dessert. Fingers crossed we get a chance to come back again later in the year.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank VEG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oxford Arms also viewed

Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire
 
Wootton by Woodstock, Woodstock
Murcott, Fencott and Murcott
 
Weston on the Green, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Oxford Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing