We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Definately a mountain view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mountain View

The Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room
Mountain View The Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Living Room
Mountain View
The Main Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Caledonian Canal
The Hall
The Dining Room
Mountain View in winter
The Wee Bedroom
The Bathroom
The Canal Towpath
Neptune's Staircase bounds the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
simon N
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definately a mountain view”
Reviewed 15 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

From the moment we arrived, we knew it was going to be a great place to stay once we saw the view, what a beautiful view of Ben Nevis from the window. The flat was a home from home, and very dog friendly, the owner was very welcoming and his vast knowledge of the area was pasted on to us and proved very useful throughout our stay, will definately be staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules6727...
Earby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful part of Scotland”
Reviewed 17 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Very comfortable, clean apartment with everything we needed including the thoughtful extras like the binoculars, and umbrellas!
Great base for exploring the area.
Owner very friendly and helpful and offered advice on what to visit and how to get there. Was available if and when we needed his advice or information. Very dog friendly and made a fuss of our pup!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland0...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The ideal base from which to explore Fort William and the surrounding area.”
Reviewed 5 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Mountain View apartment is ideally suited to those who wish to explore Fort William and the surrounding area. It is located in peaceful Banavie and provides both an easy escape from and also easy access to Fort William when the need arises. The apartment is spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Given that Fort William is prone to rain from time to time, the downstairs lobby area is extremely useful for drying wet clothing and footwear away from the main living areas. This is a feature that is rarely found in holiday lets within hilly/mountainous regions.

Those who tend to self cater for the whole of their holiday are well served by at least two well stocked local supermarkets. Those wishing to dine out have the choice of the Moorings Hotel (adjacent to the apartment), Fort William, Glen Nevis, Achintee to name a few.
Tom and Julie Gilchrist, the owners of the apartment, are excellent hosts who are only too willing to provide help and advice in order to make the holiday more enjoyable. During our stay, we had cause to inform Tom that the television digibox was not working correctly. Not only did Tom descend from Ben Nevis to attend to the problem but he also turned up with a new television that same afternoon.

To summarise, this apartment is suitable for small families and couples who wish to engage in sightseeing, walking, climbing, winter sports and most anything else they wish to do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Reviewed 26 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Reviewed 19 May 2010 for a stay in May 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing