We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Hoopers Bay Beach on a busy day!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hoopers Bay Beach on a busy day!
Beach Studio Beach Studio showing kitchenette
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Hoopers Bay Beach on a busy day!
Beach Studio
Beach Studio showing kitchenette
Beach Studio ready for 2 guests
Beach Studio Patio awaits your arrival - just steps from the beach
Sandy Palms Beach House with apartments taken from the beach
Just a few steps through the garden from the apartments to the beach
Feed the friendly green turtles at Hoopers Bay
Endless empty beaches everywhere
Wish you were here!
Laze the day away on these on the calm sea of Hoopers Bay
Our guests love Exuma beaches
Come & enjoy!
Snorkeling is a pleasure in the beautiful clear water
Rent a boat to explore deserted offshore Cays
Santanas Grill for a great lobster lunch!
The rays are safe to enjoy
Feed the rays at Stocking Island
Another empty beach
The short walk from Sandy Palms to the beach
Enjoy the swimming pigs up close
See the swimming pigs on a Cays trip
Enjoy a lovely meal at Shirleys at the Fish Fry
Have a great lobster lunch at Santannas in Williamstown
Relax at Santannas for lunch on their deck by the sea
Magnificent Sunsets at Hoopers Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
George Town, Great Exuma, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Elliot B
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy retreat”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Well located small studio apt. with direct access to a gorgeous long soft sandy beach. Beach is usually mostly deserted, and has resident green sea turtles that can often be seen. Studio is small, but allows a queen bed and useful kitchenette. Outdoor patio also comfortable for chilling. Exuma is lovely and quiet, and Betty and Peter who rent are able to help with a car or travel options.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Elliot,
Thank you for your kind Review and we are glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Exuma with the lovely warm and sunny weather. You chose our cheapest Studio/Efficiency apartment for your stay although other larger ones were available .However this did not stop your pleasure of experiencing and enjoying the many outdoor activities available on the island and we were pleased to help you achieve them.
Best wishes to you both,
Betty&Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durrer90
Canton of Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and quiet stay”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks in the middle of November 2015. It was already pretty much off-season but the weather was still very nice most of the time.
The beach was beautiful indeed. We were usually alone and only a few other tourists were visiting the beach or some workers were working on a house around there. A little further out in the water are a lot of different little cays which can be visited by both kayak or stand up paddle which are included and located right next to the beach.
In the water we could find up to 5 turtles. Usually, you can find them by walking on one of the piers. They get fed a lot there that's why they stay there I think. One even bit me but it did not hurt at all :) You should keep in mind that they already get enough food and should not be fed additionally because their shell needs to be able to grow with them.
Peter explained us everything. He was extremely helpful and friendly. He wrote back per e-mail very quickly, visited us when we wanted to and booked trips for us. We recommend to book a trip to Staniel cay and the sea park (see the pigs and nurse sharks, caves and cays), to visit Chat n Chill on Stocking Island (and see the sting rays right at the beach) and to rent a boat to see the marked diving spots.
Since the apartment is some miles away from George Town its necessary to get a taxi or rent a car go get anywhere really (no public transport on Exuma). There was a grocery store 10 mins away by foot though. We had always a car in front of the apartment, which we could rent and use whenever we wanted to (not included in the price).
Wifi is included but speed is limited to 50kbps to 200kbps (usually faster during the night). So not always possible to watch Netflix etc. but we didn't not really miss it anyway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, animals, cays, beach
Liked least: Slow internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
Thank you very much for your helpful Review and we were pleased to read how much you enjoyed your first visit to Exuma.

Our best wishes to you both for 2016 & hope that we can welcome you or friends/family on another occasion.

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IPAOLI199...
Acqui Terme, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ROMANTIC STAY ON THE BEACH”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we have stayed 6 nights at sandy palms in studio apartment on hooper's bay. our stay was nice and not disappointed our expectations. the island has the beautiful beaches with white and soft sand. the sea has great colour with calm water especially in front of the beach where we are stayng. our apartment was small but clean and with everything you we need cooking. good connection free wi fi. we recommend renting the car to get to all the beaches of island.. assistance of peter, the owner, 'was valuable for advice on places to visit and when he helped us to solve a problem about the car that was broken .we recommend sandy palms for all those who want to visit this island without spending too much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location on the beach
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2015
Very many thanks for the Review & we enjoyed you staying at Sandy Palms Beach Studio.

You were lovely guests & we are so glad that you enjoyed so much from your holiday in Exuma.

Best wishes from a sunny & 31* Exuma & hope we can welcome you again.

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, on a sublimely beautiful beach”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The room is right on an amazing beach. I've been to beautiful beaches, Maldives, Maui, Sardinia, other islands in the Bahamas, and this is the best. This is paradise. It's warm, never crowded, just a few houses along it. Crystal clear water. Perfect oolite sand. Sublimely peaceful and beautiful. I don't think I ever saw more than maybe ten people on the beach at a time, and many times my wife and I had the whole beach to ourselves. The sea turtles swim right up to you. There are beautiful sunrises and sunsets.

The hosts, Betty and Peter Oxley, are fantastic. They know the area well, suggested great boat trips, arranged cabs for us, and referred us to good places to eat. They are 100% reliable, communicate quickly and clearly via email, and were a pleasure to work with. I’m very grateful.

As for the room, it has everything you need. This is a beach pad for grabbing sleep, showering, and eating. Everything works: the flatscreen TV is nice, the fridge is powerful, the hot water in the shower never ran out-- I have zero complaints. That said, don't expect it to be opulent, because many of the fixtures are showing their age and their proximity to the warm Caribbean ocean. If you’re the type of person who needs nothing less than brand new furnishings, then I'm afraid you won't be happy here. It’s low maintenance. They clean between visitors, but no one comes into the room to make your bed while you’re staying there. Who cares? You’re going to be spending most of your time by the water anyways. So if you can relax in dated, but completely functional and clean surroundings, you'll love it and you'll want to come back. We can't wait to do so. We can afford to stay at a very refined resort, but it’s more secluded here, and we’d rather spend the money on boat hires and other activities.

There’s one main road on the island, and the house’s location along that road is good too. We opted to take cabs most places, but it’s easy to rent cars. There is a small store (groceries, drug store items, etc.) and a liquor shop right next to each other about a 10 minute walk away. There’s also a meat/seafood shop in the other direction (maybe a 10-15 minute walk), which has some very nice fresh stuff for good prices in case you want to grill outside or cook it up in your room.

In summary, it is a sublimely beautiful setting, with a well-appointed accommodation, and wonderful hosts. I cannot wait to get back to the island, and I’ll be booking this same place again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Spencer,

We know that you enjoyed your stay at Sandy Palms but now reading about your experiences was particularly special. We want all of our guests to have the same pleasure of staying here in Exuma & your Review will certainly help others who may be thinking of coming to this beautiful island.

Many thanks & best wishes for the future.

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andie7777
Siena, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“relax and warm water”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

For 6 days, we have examined the island with its villages and the capital, George Town, with a small market. One day we went for a day boat trip to the Exuma Cays, which was a bit adventurous because of bad weather. Still we were able to see all its attractions like swimming pigs, iguanas, snorkeling, sharks in the private port.... We enjoyed all beaches on Exuma but we always liked to return to the Sandy Palms' beach, which to us was the most beautiful in the island. The local supermarket was quite close, so we often shopped there and we thus used a lot also our kitchenette. Restaurants were also available, not too far. We appreciates a lot all Peter's practical and useful advises and recommendations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beaches
Liked least: mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
It was wonderful to read your great description about your first visit to Exuma & your stay at Sandy Palms. We very much enjoyed meeting you & helping you with getting the most out of your visit. Your remarks will certainly help others understand more about this beautiful island.

Best wishes & hope we can welcome you again sometime in the future.

Betty & Peter - Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing