We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Retreat in the Heart of the Wine Country”
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
252 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great Little Retreat in the Heart of the Wine Country”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We finally got to stay in this charming little inn after several years of just driving by. We live in the Ojai Valley so the drive to the Santa Ynez valley is a little more than an hour away. We traveled to Santa Ynez many times and only admired the Inn from the outside. Well we had a special occasion to celebrate and thought it would be a great opportunity to visit the Ballard Inn. We went for two nights and stayed in the Wildflower Room. They are running a winter special for $169 per night which makes this a great deal. We upgraded to a king suite with fireplace for $195 per night.

The bottom line of our review is that if you have the opportunity, you most likely will not be disappointed in the Ballard Inn. I can't think of a better place to stay in the whole valley. It is centrally located to all of the points of interest in the valley whether wine tasting, exploring Solvang or Los Olivas or even just traveling the US 101 highway. It is also in the middle of some great restaurants including the one at the Inn. Each of the rooms are different in theme, decoration and antique furnishing. Several have real wood burning fireplaces with wood provided. The rooms are very nicely furnished, very clean and spacious. There are no phones or TV's in the rooms. These are however provided in the downstairs sitting room along with books, puzzles and numerous board games. All the rooms are upstairs in the main building with 3 located on the first floor in the annex. The bathrooms are small, very clean but at the same time, non-descript. They are certainly adequate but the dreaded skin clinging shower curtain prevails. Linens & towels are basic and nothing fancy. No robes or slippers are provided.

They provide a great breakfast which is included in the room price along with wine, cheeze, salami,crackers, relishes and fruit in the evening and then cookies during the bed turndown service. All of these amenities are of a very good quality. Coffee, tea's, hot chocolate, etc are provided in the mornings and the evenings. off street parking is provided along with a few newspapers in the mornings. There is a great front porch with comfortable rocking chairs that is great fro reading or just relaxing. They also provide bikes but I believe there may be an extra charge.

The staff is wonderful! Very friendly and helpful. Jordan, the resident innkeeper, is one of our favorites. He could not do enough to help us with whatever we requested. But all of the staff we encountered was great.

Some great restaurants we tried in the area: Hitching Post II, Brothers at Matties Inn, Los Olivas cafe and the Los Olivas Grocery for wonderful sandwiches & wine to be enjoyed under the on site Oak trees.

When traveling back to Santa Ynez, we will stay at the Ballard Inn.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    47
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
125
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

My husband and I got away without the kids for a weekend in January. We chose the Ballard Inn for its location (near Los Olivos, but not on the main street), and quaint character. The staff at the Inn was extremely accommodating and very friendly. We dined at their excellent restaurant where everything was perfect. We had a well-trained and delightful server who hails from North Dakota of all places. It was really nice to have dinner with a staff that really knows what they're doing. She was very professional, yet warm and friendly. We stayed in the Mountain Room- lots of light and a lovely fireplace. Wine and cheese in the evening was very good. I thought better than other reviewers had made out. We love this hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoLover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We did the wine tour package through the inn- it was great. I've been on several wine tours in Sonoma and Napa, The tour was through stage coach tour and was great it -great variety of vineywards/tasting rooms. The room was cute, liked the sink was outside of bathroom, comfortable bed. Happyhour was simply cheese and crackes and some antipasta- but wine was good average quality- not supercheap as other reviewers had stated. Dinner was amazing -ate outside was great perfect. The breakfast was probably equally as good we had the special which was avacado and crap omellette with sides of sausage and potoatos- again I don't understand other's comments about breakfast- included in breakfast is also a buffet of cearal, fruit and muffins and then you also get another dish- ps coffee was great. The inn was isolated but minute drive to so many vineywards- Lincourt is actually a 10min walk. Also as a runner loved the location being able to run on a road with so many vineyards on it. Overall great experience- very romantic a true get away

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin78law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We are used to quiet bed and breakfast off the beaten path. The Ballard Inn is located almost on the street of a fairly used road. Half of the rooms are on the street side so when you open your windows, the sound of traffic lasts until midnight and start again about 5:30 in the morning. The patio area also faces the road. The parking lot is in the back of the building where is is quiet. It's like the got the layout wrong! Nice rooms but quiet noise which takes away from the quaintness.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank porsche21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My wife and i stayed here in January when things are slow. We got a great deal, as they were running an off-season special. I believe it was $125/night or so. The staff was nice and helpful.

The room (the cheapest they have) was large and cutesy B&B Victorian which is really not my style, but it was very comfortable and clean. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable with lots of pillows. There was a comfortable chair and ottoman, a sink and vanity in the main room, and a nice clean small private bathroom in the room.

There were only 2 other couples at the Inn at the time. We went to the free wine and cheese hour at 4 every day. It was a lovely modest spread of cheese and fruit and a modest white and red wine. We really enjoyed that,and spoke at length with the other friendly guests, sharing experiences about wineries we each had visited. Really lovely.

The restaurant is pricey, but worth it. We went only 1 night during our stay, and it was the best meal we had. I'll never forget the squash coconut soup with curry or the lamb.

We will be back for sure. Probably in January for our anniversary to take advantage of the lower rates. I love the area, and have grown to prefer it as a destination over Santa Barbara. I love the wineries. Modest and unpretentious.

I would say that this Inn and a B&B I stayed in in Carmel are 2 of my most favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballard
4.1 km away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
5.2 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.3 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
4.0 km away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Santa Ynez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Property: Ballard Inn
Address: 2436 Baseline Ave, Ballard, CA 93463-9711
Region: United States > California > Ballard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballard
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,044 - ₹ 25,015
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballard Hotel Ballard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing