We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place to stay”
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We visited Ballard Inn many years ago, right after it opened. It is still as lovely as it was then - if anything it is better as they've added nice touches over the years. It's clean and comfortable and has great public spaces. The breakfasts are nicely prepared and served by very friendly and accommodating staff.

Their appetizer and wine spread in the evening is a wonderful treat and a chance to share wine discoveries with other like-minded travelers, since this is a wonderful wine area.

The only complaint I have is that the room we were in had 2 very uncomfortable chairs and no work area to place a computer (they do have free wi-fi) and not many areas to lay out your toiletries and other items. There was adequate lighting which is always a pet peeve of mine.

If you're looking for first class, this is the place.

Room Tip: Don't take Jarado if you can avoid it. Alamo Pintado also had uncomfortable chairs and a very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerningwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our third visit to the Ballard Inn. We stayed in the "western room" which was on the lower end of their room rate costs, and really enjoyed it. We dined at the restaurant downstairs, which was excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landarch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have been coming here at least once every year for the past 5 years and just love this place. The themed rooms are comfortable and have all the amenities that one may need during their stay. It is close to our the wineries in the area and the staff is very helpful in meeting all of your expectations. We usually stay at the farmhouse room. It is cozy and quiet. We have stayed at other rooms as well but you will find a favorite after a few stays. I hope this place stays in business for a long time. The foodies also fantastic and the restaurant serves a great meal nightly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marathondude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Actually our stay was only over night...but it was fabulous all the same. The Fiesta room was lovely and the heat worked really well. The bathroom being at the back of the room, furthest from the heat, was a bit cool, but once the shower got going, it warmed up nicely. The King sized bed was very comfy and sheets were crisp and clean. We found unique pumpkin cookies on our pillow at turn down time.
Dinner in the restaurant was divine! We ordered several appetizers to share, and one entree each. We would have been fine with one shared entree and dessert, but we couldn't agree on the entree. (lamb or duck...tough choice)
The waitress even complimented our idea, that allowed us to taste a variety of the chef's specialties. The DUCK IS AWESOME. Its the chef's signature entree and he does it with perfection. YUM! (Duck is so easy to do Wrong....) I highly recommend this inn and its restaurant! Since our stay was limited, we did not get to enjoy the on site wine tasting, or the early evening snacks in the common room with the fireplace, or the inviting wrap around porch with the lovely . I would like to return for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lecknox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Wow! A good B&B set in a romantic town.

- Rooms are beautifully furnished, and the atmosphere is great.
- Staff especially the front desk is excellent
- The building is magnificent, as are the rose gardens

Cons:
- expensive
- no hand basin in the bathroom
- kitchen is noisy at night, and this spoils the rooms immediately above
- noise from the lounge until 10pm at night is bothersome
- dinner is OK, but my rib-eye (why such a cheap cut?) was tough and undercooked
- breakfast is good, with each order cooked immediately. However, if there are no items you
want, you are out of luck, as there is minimal cereal or other goodies. The Hadsten House
in Solvang would be a good example of what one would expect. However, this is a small
place, and one should not expect everything.

But these are quibbles and I want to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballard
4.1 km away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
421 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
5.2 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
278 reviews
5.3 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
7.1 km away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Address: 2436 Baseline Ave, Ballard, CA 93463-9711
Region: United States > California > Ballard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballard
Price Range: ₹ 15,532 - ₹ 29,049 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballard Hotel Ballard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing