We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic... When in Northern Wales, Stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwern Borter Country Manor

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gwern Borter Country Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Rowen B&B and Inns
Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic... When in Northern Wales, Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at 3 different B and B's in our trip to Northern Wales, July 10 - 15th, Gwern Borter Manor was by far the best. Owner was very helpful and friendly. House, rooms, grounds were spotless. Beds were very comfortable and it was so quiet there. VERY short drive south of Conwy Castle. A gem!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    27
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
31
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

What a fantastic setting!!!!!! the grounds were amazing - beautiful garden. The manor house itself was beautiful - well set out. The ornaments were brilliant - A suit of armour in the breakfast room was a wonderful touch. The owner certainly knew what he was doing - he was straight to the point consise and informative - then disapeared. However, when we asked a question he was very very helpful and informative. The breakfast was spot on too - BLACK PUDDING!!!!! Brilliant stay and will stay there again for sure....THANK YOU for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louisecollinson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday staying in 'Farriers'. The cottage is cosy, with a lovely homely feel. The kitchen is well equiped so it was easy to cook nice meals and pack lunches for picnics. Gary offered us a free upgrade to a larger cottage on arrival, but my daughter was really looking forward to staying in 'the little house'. She also had a great time with the animals, and despite only just turning 4 Gary took her out for two rides on Percy (who she now thinks is her horse!). Gary was also very knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna and we were lucky to spot a red kite visiting the area. The bikes and scooters also provides entertainment and there is plenty of scope for games as well in the car free area. Gwern Borter is in an excellent area, far enough to feel relaxed but close enough to visit numerous beaches and mountains as well as days out like the Welsh Mountain Zoo and Pili Palas.
In summary, this is a great place for families.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilithmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed in one of the Gwern Borter cottages. You get better facilities and more headroom on a narrow-boat! Only loo was downstairs, which made it difficult for elderly folk overnight. Thoroughly inadequate cupboard-/wardrobe space in our bedroom - I lived out of suitcase all week because simply no scope for unpacking. Too many petty rules that polite and mature people just do not need to be told. Poor kitchen facilities - so small the toaster was on top of the microwave, and all the cutlery and cookware was under the sink : nothing was easy to reach. How this place ever got 4 AA stars amazed us. It's in a good location, but we won't be returning. We'd sooner find somewhere else within a five-mile radius.

I've never written a review on here before, but the owner irritated me, and this is the only way to respond. Reading other reviews, it seems other cottagers have found the same.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tellthetruthnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
This customer had unreasonable expectations, they came on a self catering holiday and expected everthing to be supplied, were constantly knocking on our door, e.g one morning at 8am were knocking on our private accomodation asking for a toilet roll, they refused to pay the bikes they used (which goes to charity) and for breakages on leaving. I suppose these were 2 of the rules they thought were petty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Four of us have an excellent stay in Gwern Borter Country Manor! We were amazed just from the moment we reach. A huge compound with horseriding, biking and nice greenery. The beds were very comfortable with a great host, Gary! He's kind enough to cook us the trout we caught. Very nice lounge where we will always be at night after dinner. Very good breakfast too!

Moreover, it's not expensive! Great!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
1.0 km away
Tir y Coed Country House
7.5 km away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
4.9 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
7.2 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
19.3 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwern Borter Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Property: Gwern Borter Country Manor
Address: Gwern Borter Manor Barker's Lane | Rowen, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,453 - ₹ 8,005
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing