We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,981)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveller rating
372
805
455
203
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
805
455
203
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road federal villa swimming pool great pool t shoppe water sports buffet breakfast great resort bit dated cable car jet ski cactus beach langkawi island hv cenang
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, nice staff, breakfast good, amazing swimming pools, direct access to the beach what more could you want?? I'd stay here again no prob. The location is good bars and restaurants all very near

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Helenm_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear M/M Helenm_108,

We thank you for choosing Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa during your recent trip to Langkawi island.

Your kind compliments in general about the Hotel are very much appreciated.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had reached a bit earlier than the regular check-in time. The staff were courteous enough to accommodate us in their cafe on the ground floor and gave us the rooms with in an hour. The buffet breakfast is excellent and the hotel is clean and perfectly maintained. Hope to be there soon again! Miss you Langkawi!

Room Tip: Rooms with the beach view are lovely!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anoopwarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear M/M anoopwarrier,

We thank you very much for staying with us at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi.

Your kind compliments in general about the Hotel are very much appreciated.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The resort need a makeover and it is totally not up to 4 stars. Towels and sheets had stains and flies inside the bathroom. There even ants in the room too. To my surprise, they still use key for room door.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wanzhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear M/M wanzhung,

We thank you for choosing Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa during your recent trip to Langkawi island which has been classified as a 4 stars hotel by the Ministry of Tourism & Culture Malaysia.

We wish to let you know that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage besides, hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests and we constantly upgrade guestrooms and facilities. Also, we practice our Villa care system to maintain & upgrade our hotel. If repairs are not possible due to force majeure reasons we will then make a room replacement and normally, all rooms cleaned by Housekeeping staff are checked by Housekeeping Supervisor before releasing them for new check-in. We are very particular that all guests are deserved to have a good room upon check-in.

For your general information, it is a standard practice by hotel to engaged A 3rd Party Professional Pest Control Company ( which hotel pays a lot of money ) to eradicate and performed control measures on pest in our hotel. The 3rd Party Professional Pest Control company will perform fogging and eradicate pest (insects ) on a monthly basis without fail and twice a month for the seasons where the weather changes and more pest are found. Langkawi being an island with tropical's climate is a haven for small animals and pest. There will be mosquito, lizard, gecko & ants seasonal through out the whole year depending on the weather condition.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The location of the hotel is awesome and has some nice food locations outfront.
What i liked
Staff are lovely
Amazing pool
Taxi stand right outfront
Location
Rooms are Big and lovely views
Beach was just outfront.
Swimming in the flagged area, could even have drinks down there
Loved the breakfast, had a good selection of food.

What i didn't like
We had to pay tax when we got there and wasn't include in the amount we paid before hand.
You aren't aloud to wear cotton in the pool, Our friend wore a polyester shirt in and got told he had to get out. About hour later we saw a whole group of people wearing cotton clothes. Pants, shirts, jocks and they didn't get told to hope out of the pool, instead they sat by the pool bar drinking. We were very upset about this.
Working on the whole floor under us, would have liked some pre warning about this.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear M/M Shannon H,

We thank you very much for staying with us at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi.

We noted your positive comments about the Hotel and we wish to let you know that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage.

Just for your general information the Langkawi Municipal Council has recently imposed a Tourism Promotional Fee to be collected from all hotel guests staying in Langkawi hotels based on the Trade By-Laws under the Local Government Act 1976 of the government of Kedah Darul Aman starting from 1 July 2016. In view of this implementation, all hotels are will be charging and collecting the Tourism Promotional Fee on behalf of the local municipal council.

Hotel has fixed swimming pool rules that only swimming attire can be allowed in the swimming pool.
Our pool attendant and life guard will stop and ensure the swim wear worn by guests are suitable material for swimming and not normal clothes or dresses.

We were most concerned to learn of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you and your friend again in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Supposed to be 4 star but that is a stretch.

About 2 kms from Cenang town centre.

2 pools - very good. The infinity pool costs 25rm per day to use. The mai pool is quite fine so so you don't really need to pay the extra.

Gardens are lovely and the beach bar quite cool.

The room was clean and acceptable but old and in need of refurb. Had a musty smell that was a little off putting. They charge for water, which is quite unusual for MY.

Service, similar to most of Malaysia, is lacking.

Think I would pay the extra for 5 star next time

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChristmasSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Dear M/M ChristmasSydney,

We thank you for choosing Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa during your recent trip to Langkawi island which has been classified as a 4 stars hotel by the Ministry of Tourism & Culture Malaysia.

We wish to let you know that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage besides, hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests and we constantly upgrade guestrooms and facilities. Also, we practice our Villa care system to maintain & upgrade our hotel. If repairs are not possible due to force majeure reasons we will then make a room replacement and normally, all guest rooms sprayed with air freshener by Housekeeping staff when they are cleaning the room and it will be checked by Supervisors before releasing it for new check-in. We are very particular that all guests are deserved to have a clean & good room upon check-in. We truly understand the needs to dehumidify and air our rooms due to the high humidity of Langkawi Island climate that sometimes causes unpleasant odor. Hotel has purchase dehumidifier to be placed in the room as a preventive measure.

For your kind information, a bottle of drinking water plus tea & coffee sachets are provided on complimentary basis in all guest rooms at Holiday Villa. The exception only for Federal Villa guest rooms which the replenishment is chargeable (conditions apply).

We have 04 swimming pools as part of the hotel facilities for guests free usage and it is further complemented with our New Infinity LaVilla Pool club and in order to maintain its exclusiveness, we impose a small fee that includes the usage of the pool and 01 drink at RM25.00nett per adult and RM12.00nett per child. Guests are welcome to patronize our LaVilla restaurant for lunch and dinner or just for a drink or coffee if they don't wish to pay to use the infinity pool.

We were most concerned to learn of the setbacks encountered during your stay and we sincerely apologies for all the inconvenience it had caused you. Our HR Division is constantly upgrading the service improvement program for all service staff via conducting counseling & retraining and your comments will be acted upon by our Training Division.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome both of you again in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews