We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
58
8
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
8
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparfaithomemade jamsnext morningguitarhostesshostsquebecbreakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Our Hostess Helene, was so welcoming on our arrival. She provided a short history of the home, and offered us information on the area. We loved our suite which was both comfortable and extremely clean. Helene served a beautiful breakfast parfait, consisting of fruit, granola, yogurt, followed by a egg, cheese and ham casserole. Home made jams, scones and bread along with local cheeses were served. Another couple from France ate with us and we were able to communicate with each other with Helene's help. Home is within walking distance to restaurants and it is located on the Main Street of Maria. A lovely stay in the home of this lovely lady!

Room Tip: We selected a room with a private bathroom, which was very well equipped for the traveller.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H P, Propriétaire at Le Martin Pecheur, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour et merci de votre charmante note à notre égard. Nous sommes contentes que vous ayez apprécié notre petit déjeuner gourmand, avec produits locaux et faits maison. En effet la proximité des restos et des services de la ville de Maria nous permettre une situation géographique enviable.

Au grand plaisir de vous avoir à nouveau à notre gîte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Remember that nothing in life is 100% perfect!

The first morning, Helena served the most amazing le petit déjeuner, we have ever had at a B&B. It was if I recall, a four course breakfast... Unbelievable! There were eight of us that first morning and we were the only nonspeaking French couple… I tried my few French words and soon Helena and I were joking back and forth as if we were old friends. The same occurred with the other guests too! Just as we were finishing breakfast Helena brought a jar to the table that had special sayings and quotes. We each picked one and read it out loud. Nothing is impossible! I quickly did a Google Translate for mine and said it in English. We spent two wonderful hours sharing a meal with strangers, who had become special friends…during that short moment in time.

The next morning another special breakfast, but this time Helena played the guitar as sort of a farewell. Another couple from Bordeaux whom we had met the day before, were leaving too! This was also our last day in Quebec since we had started our journey in Quebec City two weeks before and would now be heading into New Brunswick. Helena, Florence and I had a picture taken together and as we hugged and said our goodbyes we cried…

We have travelled to many places in the world but never experienced the friendships and emotions that we did...on this special journey of discovery, through Quebec...

Merci Helena et Michel pour une merveilleuse deux nuits dans votre B&B charmant...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCouple12-8-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H P, Propriétaire at Le Martin Pecheur, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Vous êtes de ces visiteurs qu'on ne peut oublier! Ce sont des rencontres comme ça qui font que nous aimons notre métier. Merci beaucoup et à une prochaine fois, nous l'espérons! Bisous.

Hélène

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I was a little nervous, since this was our first visit to the Gaspesie, and only one of us speaks even a little French. This was our first stop, after a 7-hour drive from Maine and WE LOVED IT. The room is comfortable, the food is amazing, the hosts (Michel et Helene) are truly beyond compare. We found ourselves homesick for them after we left. They have created a very gracious and comfortable environment, with lovely arrangements and lots of art. The beds are comfortable, the street is a little noisy, but didn't bother us at all, and we slept with the windows open. Do not hesitate to book here. Merci beaucoup, Michel and Helene)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H P, Propriétaire at Le Martin Pecheur, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour à vous deux,
Merci de votre gentil commentaire. Il nous sera toujours agréable de vous accueillir chez nous. Vous serez toujours comme chez vous, soyez en assurés.

Very very nice to meet you.

Hélène

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Helene and Michel were very welcoming and knowledgable hosts. The century home is very well maintained with artwork throughout. There are is a lot of local literature available to peruse and the couple are very knowledgeable about area history and attractions. The room I had was large and very comfortable with all the amenities of a hotel room. The set breakfast was fabulous with an appetizer fruit parfait, hot entree and local treats such as local cheese and cold venison with a breakfast dessert to finish. Toast and homemade jams were available but unnecessary with all of the above. I will stay here again when I have the opportunity to be in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H P, Propriétaire at Le Martin Pecheur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017
Google Translation

Je vous remercie beaucoup de votre commentaire. Il nous fera toujours plaisir de vous recevoir chez-nous.

Passez un bon printemps!

Hélène et Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

As always, we read the Tripadvisor reviews prior to booking this B and B were looking forward to staying at Le Martin Pecheur. We consider ourselves to be "seasoned" B and B people and have stayed in many B and B's across the country. Upon arrival we were greeted by Helene who asked us to wait downstairs while she showed another couple to their room. We were left standing in the front entranceway and eventually Helene came back downstairs to show us to our room. The house itself was very nice - clean and tastefully decorated. Our room however was tiny- we were there in mid August and Helene let us know that we needn't turn the air conditioner on because the temperature outside was only seventeen degrees. I remarked that because the window would not open as a result of the air conditioner in it, I would need to turn the air conditioner on. She asked that I only turn the fan on or suggested that her husband could remove the air conditioner right away. Honestly, I found Helene's behavior to be odd and I found the air conditioner discussion odd as well. Our room was hot and stuffy because it was airless, and the air conditioner needed to be turned on. This B and B would not allow us to check in prior to 5 pm and by now it was 6 pm - we did not want to wait while Helene's husband removed the air conditioner although the fresh air would have been appreciated. We had been travelling all day and wanted to relax in comfort. As I said, the room itself was tiny and difficult to maneuver in once we brought our belongings in. It was the smallest room we have stayed in in any B and B and so crowded it was not comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was okay but there was really not enough food offered for the number of people dining. We would not recommend this B and B as a result of our experience.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the stairs and as mentioned was not comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracieOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H P, Propriétaire at Le Martin Pecheur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Si j'ai oublié de vous offrir un fauteuil pendant que je répondais à un autre visiteur, vous m'en voyez vraiment désolée et je m'en excuse. Notre accueil est personnalisé et je vous invite à revenir pour nous permettre de vous proposer une de nos suites qui vous conviendra mieux, je crois. Il est vrai qu'en haute saison, le choix est vite restreint et je vous invite à réserver à l 'avance pour avoir votre premier choix.

Merci de votre commentaire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews