We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
159
27
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
159
27
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family cottage nanda devi local kumaoni spent nights clear skies homely food an excellent place dining area is heart and soul cave temple homemade pickles sunset walk recreation room warm hosts homely stay jeep jams
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2021

If you’re thinking of vacationing at the Misty Mountains, here is a quick table on what to expect:
1 - Hospitality. Few places come close
2 - Seclusion. It is a piece of heaven in its own little corner
3 - Food. Outstanding local delicacies
4 - Madhur. The Misty mountains is like an extension of the person he is. Welcoming, serene, warm and one with nature
5 - Nature, mountains, fresh air, peace, tranquility, sheer beauty. Misty mountains has it all, in abundance!

Clearly, the pros out – weigh the cons by far. However, bear in mind that if you come from warm climes (like we do), then the indifferent insulation in the rooms and the can be a slight issue. Each room is equipped with heaters and electric blankets. The problem though is if the heater is put on, then the blanket is ineffective, and vice versa. Apparently, this is because the electric voltage isn’t sufficient to power all the appliances simultaneously. However, if you carry sufficient warm clothing, you should be fine.

Madhur had allotted one family cottage and two smaller cottages to us. The family cottage is a double – storied unit. It comprises of three bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and a large living area. The one we had was also equipped with a small attic room, which can easily accommodate 3 children or two adults. Overall, it had a capacity of 8 adults and a few kids thrown in for good measure.

The smaller cottages meanwhile comprised of two bedrooms and one bathroom. Again, cozy and comfortable for a small family. Everything was solid and well – built, comfortable and very homely.

Despite the temperature plunging below 0 by evening, our bathroom pipes happily gushed with piping hot water from the resort’s solar tanks. The other cottages weren’t so lucky though. However, this too wasn't a problem for the Misty Mountain's team. Raju, the man – Friday assisting Madhur, had to tramp up and down the mountainside ferrying buckets of hot water for them to bathe.

The place isn't a typical resort. It is more of a collection of cottages spread over the mountainside. They're constructed such that each cottage has panoramic views of the nanda Devi range, at least in the winters.

We could see the entire Nanda Devi range framed in our ‘L’ shaped bedroom window! Gazing out, it was as though we were looking at a picture of the mountains through a glass frame. That early in the winter morning the skies were a clean, clear blue, affording uninterrupted views of the entire range. There are no words to describe the breath – taking beauty of what we saw. Imagine waking up to this view everyday!

Besides being within striking distance of Patal Bhuvaneshwar, the place offers brilliant hiking and trekking opportunities. We spend nearly all our time trekking through the property's 1100 acre estate, clocking 12 to 14KMS everyday. In 4 days, we were far from done! There is no better location for safe trekking, whether you are with kids or solo. The best part - it is a private estate so you won't come across anyone else. Just you, the mountains, forests and nature's bounty.

The Misty Mountains is a winner all the way. There are no two ways about it. If your idea of a holiday is communing with nature, yet, coming back to the comfort of a cozy home, warm hearth and intelligent conversations, then there is no better destination than Ambika & Madhur's Misty Mountains resort. To read more about our trip, you can visit my blog, details of which are in the bio.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roadtripperabhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Madhur Chhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2022

Dear Abhishek,

That is a beautiful and an elaborate review of Misty. Thank you for your generosity with your words as well as time in writing this. You have captured the essence of Misty - the experience of good food, warm hospitality and creature comforts within a 1000 acres of solitude.

Look forward to seeing you here again sometime. And please do not mind the long gap between the review and this response. We were almost on pause mode the last year or so and just getting back to everything Misty.

Cheers,

Ambika, Suroohi and Madhur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020

We spent 4 nights and 3 days at the Resort and after spending Chilly Nights in Tents in Chopta, Misty's Oak Suite with electric blanket and heaters with all the facilities was a bliss and Wife was super elated to be there.

The Oak Suite being located at the highest point in Resort has the most Amazing view of the Himalayan Range. The Suite interiors and the furniture are top notch.

Being situated in the midst of the Jungle, an offbeat location, Madhur and staff ensured that we had best home-style meals which were finger-licking good.
The Staff was always ready to listen in to our request and were very humble.
Did a Trek to Lamkeshwar Mahadev and Vishnu Mandir from where the view is breathtaking. The Sunset point we could visit only once due to the cloudy weather, but it was worth it.

Madhur has really put his heart and soul in the property and it is visible when you notice the different Suites, which are built with so much passion and patience over the years.

Madhur, you were excellent host and would love to come back to Misty as soon as possible. Thank you for helping us make some good memories to last for our lifetime.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PrashantMishra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Madhur Chhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2022

Dear Prashant,

In between your review and my very delayed response, you have already been here again. :) Such are the times!

It was fun hosting you and I am sure that we will get to see you again sometime soon. Late autumn and early winter would be interesting with its beautiful balance of great weather and fantastic views.

Looking forward to seeing you.

regards,

Suroohi, Ambika and Madhur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

We spent 5 night at this beautiful and quaint resort amidst the COVID crisis. Initily we were a bit apprehensive about travelling, but found comfort here due to it's offbeat location and huge space (spread out across ~1,000 acres) which makes it perfectly suitable for social distancing. The property is based in a lush green forest with beautiful Himalayan views from every cottage in the property. Ambika was hands down a brilliant host. Besides doing all she could to make our stay comfortable, she personally cooked exquisite dishes for us incl. a fancy anniversary cake for us. The staff was also very friendly and courteous, and never said no to any of our requests. They also took us for 2 amazing hikes including a sunset walk, and Lamkeshwar walk. The property is also equipped with an activity room where we spent some time playing TT, carom and badminton. Last but not the least, we were served a great variety of food during our stay including a special local Kumaoni lunch, and desi mutton. Overall, we will highly recommend this place for its beautiful ambience (himalayan views), reasonable pricing (inclusive of meals), food and hospitality, and more so during the current pandemic.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 764karand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Madhur Chhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2022

Hi,

Yes. You were amongst the very few guests we were able to host, amidst the chaos that befell all of us.

Lately,, we have had quite a few guests stay 4 -5 nights, and have had good feedback from them. We are also working on a completely refreshed menu this Autumn. We are pretty excited about that too!

Thank you fro taking time to write this and apologies for responding so late. Covid really derailed all our processes and we are just about getting back to most.

Look forward to hosting you again sometime.

regards,
Dear Rajesh,

Thank you for your short and to the point review. We are glad you had a good time and would be happy to host you again.

regards,

Suroohi, Ambika and Madhur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

Amazing place to stay. 125 kms of screen to view Himalayan Range gives you a life time experience. Madhur and Ambika are perfect host to ensure that you have best of time in Nature. A must visit place.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank RajeshH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Madhur Chhabra, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2022

Dear Rajesh,

Thank you for your short and to the point review. We are glad you had a good time and would be happy to host you again.

regards,

Suroohi, Ambika and Madhur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

The stay at The Misty Mountains was a totally relaxing one. The hospitality and overall arrangements were great. Considering the off beat location, the team had taken care of minute things and gave the customers a memorable experience. The food was excellent and the spread was also decent. We met people who have been coming here since last 10 years and always found the place better than their last visit.The trek to the Lambakeshwar Mahadev temple was a 3 km trek, with a great view and gave us a chance to enjoy the snow. Overall, its a great play to relax for a few days and enjoy nature.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SwatiAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Madhur C, Owner at The Misty Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2020

Dear Swati,

Thank you for a generous review of our place and hospitality. It is indeed our constant endeavour to build upon the guest experience that we offer each and every year. The patronage of our repeat guests is one of our most precious assets.

Look forward to hosting you again sometime.

cheers!

Ambikam Suroohi, Rags and Madhur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews