We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic. Have no hesitation in recommending...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Reading Room House

5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Let the sunsine in!!! High spec kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Let the sunsine in!!!
High spec kitchen
Large dining table for 6
Underfloor heating throughout
Superking or twin bedroom with en-suite wetroom.
Beautiful Elan Valley
canoe on the River Wye
Stunning Elan Valley
Gilfach Nature reserve
Walk or cycle around the Elan Valley dams
One of the Elan Valley dams
Enchanting Woodland Walks
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newbridge-on-Wye, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizdaw1
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic. Have no hesitation in recommending the Reading Room”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed for 4 nights with some friends. Excellent welcome pack and well equipped - once I found the microwave hidden in the cupboard! No need to take your own basic provisions - these are all provided. Lovely small and sheltered garden to enjoy the October sunshine of which we had lots. Lovely big lounge/dining area with split level kitchen. Underfloor heating was much appreciated., particularly in the mornings when it was a bit chilly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinet...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accomodation”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fabulous 5 night stay at the Reading Room. It is fully deserving of its 5 star rating ( and more ). It is beaufifully furnished and contains everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday. The decor, layout and overal standard is absolutely excellent. Spotlessly clean and evidently well cared for. The ensuite wetroom was a delight with lovely toiletries available for your use. The secluded garden is lovely, we enjoyed watching the visiting bird life and siting out when the weather was good. We were given a super welcome pack of delicious home made bread and cake together with other goodies. We would recommend the Reading Room very highly. Graham and Diane were great hosts and we hope to visit again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout, decor and luxurious feel of the place.
Liked least: All good. Nothing negative.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana088
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage deserves it's five star status. The minute you walk through the door, you go WOW! It is very comfortable, spotlessly clean and has everything you could need and more for your stay. Wonderful welcome pack and a warm welcome from Diane, the owner. Diane and Graham are on hand if there is anything you need, but are not obtrusive. The bonus for us was the river walk about 2 minutes from your front door. There is a private enclosed garden and fabulous bi-fold doors in the lounge that let the outside in. Although it is a bungalow, it would not be suitable for the disabled, as it has large steps down to the lounge area from the kitchen. We had a wonderful week here and look forward to returning next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KHouldey
Cradley Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We decided to visit this place again as soon as we stepped through the front door!”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Without a doubt, staying at the Reading Room House for Valentine's Day was the perfect choice. The accommodation was mindblowing as soon as one stepped through the front door. From the contemporary decor, to the numerous comforting features, to the nice little touches, this holiday home was the embodiment of luxury.

Our stay was made extra special with roses, bed decorations, a bottle of champagne, and a delicious home-made cake! These little (or should I say big?!) touches really made our stay perfect.

The entire home was spotless and very inviting. The underfloor heating made the house very warm and cosy, whilst other features such as the jacuzzi bath and living room fire gave the whole place a fine sheen of luxury. The bedroom was very plush, with a very large and comfy bed. The kitchen was extremely well equipped, making cooking with my partner a massive amount of fun! Although we didn't stay very long, we made use of the plethora of DVDs and board games on offer. Due to the wealth of tourist information of offer, we were able to discover Elan Valley which is quite simply the most breathtaking place I have ever seen..

Diane and her husband have done a fine job making the perfect getaway and I wouldn't be able to ask for anything more from them. Needless to say, my partner and I will be staying again, and I have recommended the holiday home to several colleagues. If you want ridiculously good value for money and a quiet getaway in a perfect location, this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: The Wi-Fi was on the blink unfortunately, but we were warned about this prior to our stay. We didn't really need the Wi-Fi anyway, but some people might want a reason to escape from the other people in the house...?!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review and we are really glad you had a memorable stay. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Best wishes, Diane.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sinead430
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My dream home”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my boyfriend booked this last minute as a quick little get away to celebrate our 5 years together for 4 nights.
Our check in time was 4pm but we arrived a hour early and diane was outside to greet us.
When diane opened the front door for us we was amazed our jaws dropped! we couldn't believe how homely and modern the reading house was.
There was home made bread and cake and also a bottle of prosecco as a welcome package which was lovley.
2 kingsize bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, loads of games and dvds, amazing kitchen over looking the living area.. and a remote for the fire!!!
we went to élan vally which was a 20min drive from reading house and also we went to breacon beacons which was a 40min drive from here.
Also my sister and her boyfriend stayed with us on ur last night here and they loved it, we had a come dine with me night :) We had a problem with our wifi and graham sorted the problem straight away he was very helpful. i wanted to bring this house back home with me i was very sad to leave :( diane and graham have very good taste!
I've come home and uploaded some pictures and everyone has been asking me where i have been and stayed. So I've passed on the vicarage holiday homes website to a few friends so expect a few bookings :) I will defiantly be coming back here again!!!!! thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything.. to hard to pick
Liked least: no signal :(
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank for the lovely review and recommendations.
We would love to have you return again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing