We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not particularly cheerful”
Review of Sunset Lodge Motel

Sunset Lodge Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Henderson
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Four of us stayed here over two stints during the Lions Tour of New Zealand 2017. We chose it due to the proximity to Auckland central and its value.
We now realised that there is a reason why this motel is so much cheaper than its Auckland counterparts. As soon as we arrived we felt that the building was in dire need of refurbishment. The room smelt of damp, one window would not open properly, and the shower platform failed to drain effectively, which meant that if you were not first to the shower then you will be standing in a puddle.
The facilities are basic, but sufficient if you just want a bed to sleep in and get by. There are clean towels provided daily and also free tea and coffee.
There is considerable noise from the main road (Te Atatu Road South) and also from adjacent rooms as the walls and floors are very thin.
Overall if you want any degree of luxury this is not the place to be, but if you only need a basic hotel to stay within reach of Auckland centre and the motorway then it is not a bad place to be for a night or two.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

We had 1 bedroom apartment. Big bedrooms wtih also a lot of space in the living area. Wifi signal was ok. Close to the highway and we didn't want to stay in the city. Basic but depends what you need. Good value.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

This place was disappointing the moment I walked in the door. Very very basic - over priced, over rated and undesierable.

Had a musky and urine smell (which was the tea towel), noisy long term residents.

Look, the list could go on for ever, but the placed should lose it licence to operate.

ABSOLUTE CRAP

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank AndrewK_NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Good value for one night stay.Very clean and tidy. Owners/managers very obliging even if they struggled to understand english. Parking adaquate but the road works on theTe Atatu road make it very difficult to get into. This has been like it nearly two years according to the locals. If you have mobility problems ask for a downstairs room. No way would our bathroom accomodate a wheelchair, the shower being the smallest I have ever seen and tucked behind the door.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Arrived at the Sunset Lodge 312 Te Atatu Road Te Atatu Auckland 4th June 2016, great location to everything, very nice welcome, had the choice of ground floor or upstairs, chose the latter easy walk up, nice and bright with a pleasant view,parking excellent, motel unit beautifully clean, old and dated but very spacious for a studio, queen bed, chairs to relax on nice table and chairs, kitchen with 4 hot plates and m/w, fridge more than adequate, shower etc basic but very functional, instant hot water wonderful, T.V. good, heating and electric blanket, bedding excellent no bugs, bed comfortable, pillows good. Extremely clean sunny basic unit @ $120 per day double. Would highly recommend this Motel, Owners I think Japanese very obliging even ran out with battery operated hand held water vac to get rid of the condesation on the car windows in the morning. Now that is service ,so friendly.
WiFi number connection taped to the coffee table.
Would be many years since we have used motels bed was always made daily, not so at this place, perhaps this is something new. We were there for 4 days, as this was a treat for us would have been the icing on the cake to have had the bed made daily. Always fresh towels etc.no complaints there.

Room Tip: Top floor sunny bright nice outlook stairs easy ground floor a little drab re light vehicles parke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sunset Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Lodge Motel

Address: 312 Te Atatu Road | Te Atatu South, Henderson, Auckland 0610, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Henderson
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Henderson
Price Range: ₹ 5,271 - ₹ 33,166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing