We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undoubtedly historically important and beautiful, yet it lacks my 100% vote”

Castrillo de los Polvazares
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Yes, you must visit and make your own opinion. For me it was very disappointing that the church was locked so you could not go inside. I appreciate people live here, but it would be better to be able to see beyond the large green doors and understand better how people live. The land around the village is unkempt and several dry stone walls are in poor repair. All of these things just take the edge off the experience. Maybe I am being too critical ? You do expect Clint Eastwood to come riding out of the sunshine, it really is that quaint and quirky, so for all my criticism visit. You can walk around the whole village in 45 minutes.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

4 - 8 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Very small town, build everything with stone. No cars allowed.
You need to park outside of the town and walk through it. There are several restaurants that serve the famous Cocido Maragato. But pay attention: if you eat ALL the food you will have to sleep a ver long siesta!!!!!

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Alvaro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Beautiful little village in the mountains reallyworth going to see! Lovely stonework and the roads are made of stone.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank celtictiger_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We stopped here because of the reviews and to have lunch. Little did we know that the restaurants are closed on Mondays. Pretty but we didn't see another soul in the place.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank NJB1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Awesome mini village where you can eat the famous "Cocido Maragato", a delicious Spanish soup with chickpea, beef, chicken, pork, vegetables, chorizo, etc. There are several restaurants, but we went to Entrepiedras, full recommended.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Milagros1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castrillo de los Polvazares also viewed

Astorga, Province of Leon
Castrillo de los Polvazares, Province of Leon
 
Ponferrada, Province of Leon
Astorga, Province of Leon
 

Been to Castrillo de los Polvazares? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing