We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glossa, Skopelos, Sporades

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathan...
Daylesford, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Owners Sarah & Matt are very helpful & very discreet, never visiting the very private Ysyhia without a prior alert. Accept their offer to facilitate car-hire - I've never had that service before. Apparently the builder named the cottage - Greek for tranquility. You will need an owner-preferred high clearnce car for the steep access & the 15 minute drive to Glossa for supplies. There is no direct beach access. Isolated but still only 40 minutes drive to the bottom of the island via lunch at Fish Tavern Agnontas. But the privacy, the pool, the self-catering, the startup provisions supplied, the full kitchen with excellent fridge, the tranquility. The cottage & bathroom & deck are spacious. The double bed & bedroom is cosy but well ventilated with air conditioning if required. The bath sheets are lightweight, but there are pool & beach towels too. The tranquility. Highly recommended. I'd go back in a flash, well loaded with gin vodka tonic wine & books. And go to Agnanti in Glossa for a fine meal or more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you very much Jon for your kind words, we are delighted that you had a great time, a pity only that it was so brief. Last year we had more substantial towels in the shower but they have been destroyed by β-carotene sun-tan lotion. A great shame, but something we are working on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and beautiful”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ysyhia is just a beautiful villa in a beautiful location. The cottage has been perfectly finished with every detail considered. We didn't need for anything. The location is incredibly private - you can't see any other dwelling from the house... just the sea! You'll need a car to see the sights of the island, but you can easily spend your time just chilling by the pool and exploring locally.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Oh thank you so much! We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves at our little hideaway and of course you are welcome back any time you need a break from the stresses of work and London.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, romantic and secluded”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our week at Yshyia cottage. There were so many lovely things about it, it's difficult to know where to start! I'll give it a go...

Firstly, the setting. The cottage is, as advertised, very secluded (very rural setting, beautiful, undisturbed view of the sea, no people or cars to be seen!). This was perfect for us as we just wanted to be really chilled and have a quiet week with just the two of us. However, it is still a (fairly long but perfectly doable) walk away from Glossa village (which is very charming and traditional). To access the rest of the island (and when we were too lazy to walk) - we used a quad bike which we had hired for the week. So much fun and a brilliant way of exploring the island - highly recommended!

Secondly, the cottage itself. We simply couldn't find a fault with this perfect, beautifully maintained, pretty little house. Inside, it is very charming and very well looked after. Outside, it is also something pretty special. Lovely little pool and our favourite bit was the terrace overlooking the sea. We sat out here most evenings for drinks etc. This is also the place my partner chose to propose while we were away... so I guess that says everything about the romantic setting!

Lastly, the kind and accommodating owners of the cottage - Matt and Sarah. They live up the hillside above Yshyia cottage and were always on hand to help out or respond to any queries. We really found that they managed to find a perfect balance between being incredibly helpful, warm and hospitable whilst giving us our privacy and never being intrusive; a lovely couple.

So, in summary - if you are looking for a peaceful, relaxing, beautiful and happy holiday - Yshyia is the place for you...We couldn't recommend it more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The wasps!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Oh thank you SO much! We are glad that the cottage lived up to your expectations. We don't get an opportunity to write reviews of guests but you two were perfect! And we're sure you know that should you choose to return to Ysyhia for your honeymoon you'd be more than welcome. We'd love to see you both back here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing