We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homely hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Williamstown Junction Guesthouse & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2015

This property is much like a hostel in that rooms are simple, with linen and towels provided. Our rooms had a king bed and a single with a bunk bed. Some rooms interconnect which may be useful for some. The layout is interesting, with rooms set in a square with a sunny, open grassed area in the middle. There is a common room/kitchen with two TVs, two long tables, magazines, three fridges, microwaves, kettles, toasters, and sink, but no oven. Male and female bathrooms are each communal but facilities were clean and hot water abundant. Each day we were greeted by the owner Colleen who made us feel very welcome, as if we were guests in her home.

This is not luxurious by any means but did the job for us. We used it as a base for trips further afield in Victoria, and felt safe leaving our spare belongings locked in our rooms as there is a secure front door lock and a lock to each room. It is great for people who want something simple, cheap and close to public transport (Newport station is a ten minute walk), and even better for families and groups as there are plenty of rooms in close proximity, and plenty of space in the common room/kitchen. It's also close to Williamstown, which is a beautiful historic town worth visiting.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the front door and bathrooms as people entering may disturb you.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Williamstown Junction Guesthouse & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Two of us stayed for 4 nights in the guest house, an original blue stone mansion. The rooms have an airy grandeur with many original features and the house has been modernised with ducted heating, modern bathroom and kitchen. Our stay there was comfortable and quiet and gave us easy access to the many bike trails around the bay. The hostess was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We have just finished our four night stay at the guest house. We stayed here for our first week in Melbourne to arrange our permanent move. We stayed in the large 3 bedroom home which has been beautifully restored and has everything you need from two t.v's to clean bathrooms and pots, pans and cutlery. This truly is a home away from home. We arrived in Melbourne after a four hour flight delay and Colleen (the owner) ensured check in was a breeze and from there on nothing was too much trouble. We have recommended this already to friends and family back in NZ and will continue to do so. Thanks again Colleen!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We had a one night stay at this lodge and guest house, as it was a group booking we had one side of the lodge to our selves. The owner a lovely lady was really kind to leave a few things for breakfast. Was a comfortable and pleasant stay. Clean tidy and well maintained.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed for two nights in the Guest house. The place is spotless and the shared bathrooms are kept very clean and tidy. The room was basic (they look like dorm rooms) but the bed was really comfortable and there is virtually no noise from other guests/ street. We were very close to the train station, about 20 minutes journey to the City.

The only draw back is the price, $100 per night is a bit expensive considering the distance from the City and basic nature of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
3.1 km away
Millers Inn
Millers Inn
#1 of 1 in Altona
25 reviews
2.8 km away
Captains Retreat
Captains Retreat
#1 of 5 in Williamstown
170 reviews
2.2 km away
Quest Williamstown North
Quest Williamstown North
#2 of 7 in Williamstown
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's
3.3 km away
Quest Williamstown
Quest Williamstown
#1 of 7 in Williamstown
278 reviews
2.8 km away
Punthill Williamstown
Punthill Williamstown
#3 of 7 in Williamstown
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamstown Junction Guesthouse & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamstown Junction Guesthouse & Lodge

Address: 481 Melbourne Rd, Newport, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3015, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 4,657 - ₹ 23,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamstown Junction Guest House & Lodge is Quality Affordable accommodation It is an attractive alternative for the price conscious Traveller being able to accommodate both small and large groups in comfort. Lodge rooms: $100 twin share or double (weekly rates apply) Apartment: $150 per night (weekly rates apply) House: $400 per night sleeps 6-8 guests (weekly rates apply. Group accommodation available, sleeps up to 40 guests in comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing