We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten path indoor pool beds were comfortable new york staff was friendly yogurt pancakes business center after a long day pancake maker booked this hotel biscuits fairgrounds highway mall shuttle
Selected filters
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2022

We booked this as a stop over on our drive to New Jersey. Although the hotel was a bit difficult to find (for me) I was pleasantly surprised. It was clean and well maintained, the rooms were well sized. We had two queens and sofa bed.

The sofa bed being sort of broken at the end is the only reason I gave it one less star. My 6 year old was on it and although she was fine, it was so floppy as the support below has clearly been damaged. Either way she slept fine, because she was small. I wouldnt say it was safe/comfortable for an adult.

We checked in around 11pm and the front desk was quick and efficient. The beds were comfortable, and had a good shower , shampoo, body wash and conditioner were provided. Along with makeup wipes, and lotion. Nothing to complain about as we were there for one night.

The hot breakfast was AMAZING. I didnt expect for the price of $168 CDN I would get that sort of breakfast. Scrambled eggs, pancakes, pre-made sausage sandwiches(super hot), fresh bacon kept coming in, bananas, oranges. Fresh Juice machine. Cereal, milk, coffee, tea greek yogurt. Honestly it was amazing!

Thankful we booked this hotel!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 219shallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 March 2022 via mobile

I rarely write a review but I read reviews before I book and saw nothing about the noise and horrible time we had here mentioned on this site. We stayed in room 212 and 214. It’s on the second floor above the lobby and eating area. Constant loud conversations from what we thought were guests until around 11pm my husband went downstairs to ask them if they could quite down only to see it was the hotel staff. They moved to a room but then again about hour later two staff members arguing loud! Again we asked them to take the conversations else where. But a few more times throughout the night woken by loud male voice that had to be staff at 2:30 and 4:30. We got no sleep. Choose another hotel or ask to be on top floor away from noisy lobby. Others who were going to event with us stayed in second floor rooms and heard the loud noise as well. Some called and complained too. I would never stay here again and my husband is at the fair for its duration with staff needing rooms, definitely don’t use this holiday inn if you need to be rested the next day.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JSweitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

Overall a good stay. There were multiple communication issues with the front desk.
All issues were resolved, but provided a less than exceptional 4 night stay.

I had 2 separate reservations because IHG was unable to update 1 extra night with my discounted rate. I was told it was included in reservation details that I was keeping the same room for 4 nights. Upon check-in I was given key for 1 night, not 4 nights. I had to return to front desk to update key a few times. Since front desk thought I was 1 night stay, didn't advise we need to call each day we wanted fresh towels ot want room refreshed. This review was during COVID. There was no signage at front desk or room indicating this. We found out by not having room refreshed.

Lastly, we asked for complimentary late checkout, 1p vs 12p the night before at front desk. Housekeeping visited our room 2x before we left.

Breakfast had signature cinnamon roll, pancakes and 1 additional hot item (breakfast sandwich or biscuit). Additionally, pastries and yogurt.

The indoor pool was opened for use. So was the gym and business center.

Property is undergoing renovation.

This hotel had an on-demand shuttle to NYS Fair, which was helpful for our trip.

Helpful staff to give kudos are for Monica, Megan and 2 shuttle drivers (sorry I didn't remember names).

All issues were resolved.

Room tip: Consider hotel if going to Fair. Staff friendly, but have patience for issues
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank treishag2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 February 2021

I searched for hotels within a 60 mile radius of Utica New York looking for the best place to take my kids to swim for an overnight during February break. Most places (I called over 15) were boasting a strict policy with only one room at a time allowed in the pool area (usually 1-2 hours max per stay) however, we we’re traveling with another family and wanted to be with to them. They were flexible friendly and organized. We were able to pick timeslots to swim with that family as well for 3 time slots upon arrival (2 arrival day, one departure). Heated pool and hot tub. The pool seems huge with only a few kids in it. It is about 10 minutes away from Destiny. It did appear off the beaten path Considering there are loads of hotels right near the mall but there are tons restaurants around. I saw many people getting takeout delivered as well. Staff was very friendly and I saw them constantly wiping things down during breakfast. Grab and go breakfast is more than adequate! All of my kids favorite things conveniently ready to go. And a hot single serving pancake maker. A COVID winter highlight for my family. Props to manager Ed and his staff.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank megan64NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 October 2020

Horrible service slammed a door in our faces tried to give 3 minors a room by their self’s because they wouldn’t move the people stomping and making inappropriate sounds do not come here go somewhere else.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mackenzie3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Syracuse-Fairgrounds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2020

Hello Mackenzie,

Our main goal is to give you a good night's rest and make you wake up with full energy in the morning. I'm sorry to see we didn't achieve this goal on this occasion because of the noise. Please accept my apologies for that.

I will be sending you a PM to talk a bit more about this. Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay. We would love to show you all the changes and improvements we'll make based on your feedback if you give us a chance.

Alejandro G.
Case Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews