We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
43
22
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
22
2
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Villagiovina Info
info@villagiovina.it
+39 0864 251746

In August 2018 our family had a very special joyful celebration. As residents in the UK we had a unique family wedding reception to prepare for in Sulmona.This involved a wedding meal to include 50 of our guests travelling from the UK, New York, New Zealand.
30 + of our guests stayed for 2 or 3 days in Villa Giovina.

• Villa Giovina has a beautiful setting with spectacular views of the mountains.
• The buildings are spaceous and the grounds and gardens very pretty and well maintained.
• Rooms were very clean and of a high standard.
• The service was most courteous and helpful .Staff were always very kind and considerate.
• The food and cuisine was of an excellent standard , authentically Italian.The kitchen catered for special dietary needs, gluten intolerant and vegetarian.

• The wedding meal was absolutely magnificent on a magical Italian evening
• Alberto and his highly professional staff manage a jewel of a hotel in this breathtaking location.

• We most certainly will return and enjoy the experience again

• Thank you for a fantastic experience Alberto!

• Villa Giovina will not disappoint the visitor!

Jim and Kathleen Meehan UK

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmeehan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming here since the hotel opened. Each year it gets better and better- I cannot understand why it’s not considered 5 star and I cannot understand why the prices are quite so reasonable - a true hidden gem in the Abruzzo countryside.

The swimming pool is always clean, crystal clear and with enough sun loungers for everyone. There’s enough shade throughout the day that staying with babies and toddlers is easy enough. Hammocks and a fridge stocked with water and beer- what more could you want!?

The bedroom is always cleaned to perfection and the bathroom is vast with a large bath / jacuzzi in room 213!! The views from any window in the hotel are just magnificent - particularly the bathroom window while you lounge in the jacuzzi!

We had a wedding party here 2 years ago and we will most definitely be coming here for foreseeable future. Debora and Alberto make us feel like VIP guests every time and always go above and beyond to make us feel welcome.

I can not recommend this place any more.

We stayed with a 9 month old and a 3 yr old and found the hotel to be very accommodating, comfortable and clean - as it has been for the past 8 years.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank 1982KayTFrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We had dinner at this place;
The food was just ok and not even in big quantities;
The service was the worst part of the night, slow, not really polite and it seamed like they were just trowing the food at us just by dropping plates and cutlery on the table;
From my point of view they were really understaff;
The view is beautiful but is not worth a visit;

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DonEstanyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

It was summer 2014, with sun and good temperature. The hotel is among splendid lawns, trees with a marvelous swimming pool. Rooms are spacious and bathroom fine. Wifi= the top! Meals at the restaurant, including breakfast are excellent. We enjoyed the staff, very cordial and competent. A good address for those who want calm in a beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A beautiful clean, nice;y decorated comfy hotel with great power showers and fantastic mountain views. Efficient wi-fi in rooms. Alberto served wonderful regional food and the best Montepulciano D'Abruzzo I've even drank. He was very knowledgeable. The radiccio risotto was to die for. It was too cool in October to use the little pool but it will be nice in summer ditto the fabulous restaurant terrace and well-kept grounds. A nice little bar and good buffet breakfast plus eggs. A short drive to Sulmona which is full of history, and an hour's spectacular drive up to the mountain villages, lakes and National Park. Easy to reach from the nearest airport on efficient trains.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonsunlounger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews