We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, dog friendly, a highly recommended get...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Original hay-feeders.
Welcome basket.
Ideal for a special occasion!
Original stone steps.
Luxurious simplicity.
A mix of antiques and modern.
Luxury toiletries.
Open fields to the rear.
The village pub - still a warm welcome.
The Manor
In the deep mid-winter, view to the pond.
The smell of a real Christmas tree :-)
Our 2015/2016 5 star award.
Our 2015/16 Gold award.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Digby, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert H
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing, dog friendly, a highly recommended get away”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked this last minute, we really needed to get away and relax, we also wanted to bring our dog along with us. The Granery has ticked all the boxes and has done it with class.
The Granery is well decorated, comfy, roomy and has a very high class feel to it. Everything you need down to a candle for the dinning table (very nice touch) was available. Plenty of information was provided also regarding local food/walks/attractions as well as instructions for the cottage's devices.
Bath is amazing, and bath bombs provided was another nice touch.
We originally had reservations about taking the dog with us, mainly regarding access to suitable walks. This was no problem, owners directed us to a nice walk and the village is a maze of public footpaths, including one leading to a field with dog bins on, all just a few steps down the road. For those who want to explore and walk a little further, local walks in the area with maps and instructions are in the cottage, this was great and we completed two of the walks with our dog.

The only possible let down was that when we visited it was too warm to light the wood burner, but that's just means we will have to revisit in winter to try that out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thank you for the lovely feedback - having done a lot of walking ourselves we've almost always been impressed with the condition and signing of footpaths in this area, there's certainly no shortage. The wood burner is rather lovely :-) Hope to see you again when the temperature drops.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High standard & quality barn renovation, comfortable and private.”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were on a touring holiday in a hired car, which did have Sat Nav, but we did have a little trouble finding the property. We saw the plaque on the gate the second time we drove slowly through the village, and once there, were greeted warmly by a very friendly hostess. The gate does need to be opened manually each time guests arrive/leave, but the road fronting the property is very quiet so it wasn't a problem, except for the gale force winds blowing fiercely for most of our stay. We couldn't therefore enjoy the outdoor back patio or garden which looked lovely, but the accommodation itself was absolutely delightful; the decor, spaciousness, quality of the fittings, charm and ambience of the interior. We had everything we needed to make our stay not only very comfortable, but also easy and a pleasure to self-cater and stay in when the weather was just too cold and dreary. We did have dinner at the 'Red Lion' in the village one night and found the meals and the service excellent. The 'Kinema in the Woods' was a fantastic experience; unique and special, and I would say is a must when staying in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and standard of the property
Liked least: The wind
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
The weather was not on its best behaviour that week so I'm glad you enjoyed the Granary. I'd definitely second your recommendation that all visitors to the area pay a visit to the Kinema and I shall pass on your compliments to the Red Lion. I hope the rest of your trip went well and you managed to find a little bit of summer on your travels :-) Thank you again for stopping with us, Linda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keelerwom...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a wonderful little gem. Don't want to tell the world, but feel I need to.
I knew I had arrived somewhere special when the gate was open in readiness for our arrival. Little touches were evident that mean a lot such as towels and a bowl along with doggy treats in the welcome pack.
The place was beautifully presented with luxury touches. To sit outside in your own garden, looking at the countryside with horses in the field and ducks on the pond, and a small salad and herb garden of which you are encouraged to use was just so peaceful and relaxing.
There is lots of information available so that you can make the most of your holiday, but staying there is as much as you need.
Simply wonderful and thoroughly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Sometimes when we don't have any guests we like to have a sneaky cup of tea in the Granary garden too :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Boekhoute, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay of an exceptionally high standard.”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very friendly welcome by hosts coupled with an explanation of the cottage and how things work. I think the high point of the building has to be the bathroom, this by no means deducts from the rest of the property. It has been completed to a very high standard.
The property itself is central to places of interest from Heckington Windmill to RAF Coningsby and close to Lincoln which now hosts the Magna Carta.
I wish I could give a bad review to keep it ourselves alas this is not possible.
If I have to give a negative: Although called a King-size, we found the bed a little small for us, (we have a very large bed), also the bathroom tap is on the edge of the sink so it's a little difficult sometimes. For those using mobile phones on your holiday, very poor connection. This is a "normal" problem in the area difficult to make a call or send text sometimes. But these are very minor points.
A very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathKag
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“A relaxing weekend retreat!”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a fabulous weekend at the Granary. It's a perfect getaway for a long weekend of country walks and exploring the Lincolnshire countryside and coast. We were made very welcome by the owners and the Granary is luxurious with its characterful features including a sumptious bath and log burning stove. We had good weather for exploring, but we would have been happy to just stay in and relax in the beautiful property, which has stunning surroundings and countryside on its door step. We were able to bring our dog too and he was made very welcome with his own towels, bowl and treats. We will definitely visit again sometime and would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath and woodburning stove
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing