We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Granary - Superb 5 Star Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Original hay-feeders.
Welcome basket.
Ideal for a special occasion!
Original stone steps.
Luxurious simplicity.
A mix of antiques and modern.
Luxury toiletries.
Open fields to the rear.
The village pub - still a warm welcome.
The Manor
In the deep mid-winter, view to the pond.
The smell of a real Christmas tree :-)
Our 2015/2016 5 star award.
Our 2015/16 Gold award.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Digby, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham A
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Granary - Superb 5 Star Accommodation”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I think every superlative has already been used to describe The Granary, but I can only wholeheartedly agree with them, and just add that this beautifully renovated and refurbished building is an absolute credit to Linda and Jim, the owners. Everything that could make for an extra special stay has been thought of and some! Quality fixtures and fittings throughout make for a very luxurious and pampered experience, with the amazing copper bath and bath bombs being a special memory. The Welcome Basket on arrival with Lincolnshire Plum Bread and other local goodies definitely set the tone, and my wife and I were very sad indeed to have to leave this lovely bolt-hole behind when the time came to go. Whilst we have already recommended to both family and friends, this has been with slight trepidation, for it is almost too good to share!
When venturing out and about a little circular walk around the village of Scopwick was nice, Woodhall Spa is a must with the trail worth following. Fabulous food is to be found in the Woodhall Spa Bakery/Deli and do visit the Petwood Hotel, the former Officers Mess of 617 Dambusters Squadron. The town of Louth on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds was also rather nice with many independent shops. In Lincoln itself a suggestion would be to head for the Cathedral quarter near the Castle and make sure you walk both down and up Steep Hill, stopping at Bunty's Tearoom room for well earned refreshment - delicious sandwiches, tea and cake to be had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiPaul...
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WOW, WOW, WOW - LINDA AND JIM HAVE GOT THIS JUST RIGHT!!!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd visit to The Granary and we were still amazed at how lovely this place is.
Linda and Jim have worked so hard to get this place to the stunning standard it is....
The little details of fluffy towels, bath bombs and a well thought out arrival basket along with everything else makes this place stand out from all the rest. We have stayed in alot of 5* cottages and this place really is stunning.
You feel at home as soon as you step into the cottage, it's so relaxing and tranquil, we really didn't want to leave.
Thank you Linda and Jim for another lovely stay, we will be back next year for another visit.
Nikki and Paul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: It's not nearer to where I live
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Sep 2014
Wow! Many thanks for the great review - it has made my day :-) Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HelsBels1...
Hampshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Heaven”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Granary is a fabulous property which has been restored & furnished beautifully by Jim & Linda. The furniture, equipment and linen are all of very high quality and the property is a delight to stay in for a holiday - in fact we didn't want to leave and felt at home as soon as we had unpacked. Linda greeted us when we arrived and had supplied a basket of goodies and fresh eggs from the chickens who became our friends very quickly! We also became quite addicted to Lincolnshire plum bread which we found in our basket. We were very lucky to have picked a week with fantastic weather and we had all our meals outside in the peaceful tranquil garden and enjoyed bird watching and were thrilled to spot 2 'little owls' in the trees surrounding the property. We have recommended The Granary to all our family and friends and would love to return for another fantastic holiday - Thank you Linda & Jim you have thought of everything and more to make The Granary a very special holiday home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: leaving at the end of the week
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - it always brightens our day when we know our guests have enjoyed their stay :-)

I don't always respond to every review but rest assured they are all appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 103
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing