We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise ............” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamonds Thudufushi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamonds Thudufushi
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise ............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

An amazing beach holiday with absolutely stunning location, views and snorkelling.
If you want white beaches, peace and quiet and stunning blue waters, Thudufushi is for you.

As so many other reviews have mentioned, a 30-40 minute flight from Male starts the trip and you fly to Thudufushi.
You're met on arrival with welcome drinks and towels and after a long flight from the UK, that was required.
We stayed in July 2010 so before the new water villas were built, so be very interesting to go back and try one of those.

The location and views are incredible, a small island that can be walked or swum around in 10 minutes.
In my opinion, this is the main appeal as it makes the island quiet and relaxing.
The staff are superb and nothing was too much trouble.
From what has been reviewed the animation teams change every season but our team were excellent and the evening talk about the stars was superb.
Food was very good, varied as we were there for 15 nights ! and the lobster meal on the beach is a must.
The beach villas are excellent and we stayed on the west side of the island in a detached villa, and had a lovely deck to sit and watch the sunset.
You stepped straight on to the white sand and then a few more steps and you're in the gorgeous sea and the reef for the snorkelling !
Manta's, small sharks, thousands of multi-coloured fish and the turtles, exactly what you'd expect to see, was there.

We went in July when it is cheaper due to their alleged rainy season, we stayed for 15 nights but only had 3/4 days when it rained.
It was still very warm and we still went snorkelling etc, just no sunbathing for a couple of hours during those 3/4 days, whilst the downpour came in.

Did a couple of trips out snorkelling but no diving, again very well organised with top class guides and equipment.

Perfect for a special trip or honeymoon and would love to go back some day ..................

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    111
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
73
543
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I spent our second vacation on the Maldives for a week in the beginning of December. It was pure paradise the second time around! We were on Thudufushi's sister island, Athuruga, last year and thought that couldn't be topped. When we went to book this year though, they were already full for the time we could go. So we decided to give Thudufushi a try. We were not disappointed in the least!
My husband was a little concerned about the reef maybe not being as nice as in Arthuruga since we couldn't find much info in the reviews we read. Again here we were not let down at all. While snorkeling we saw eagle rays, turtles, octopus, morays, dolphins and millions of colorful fish amongst fantastic coral gardens. Each day we discovered a new area to snorkel around the island.
The island itself is small and cozy. It takes only about 10 mins. to swim or walk around it. There are about 50 beach bungalows and 23 over water villas. We had water villa nr. 16 and were very pleased. Unlike Arthuruga there is little golfcart "bus" that runs out on the boardwalk between the water villas and the beach. At first we laughed about this and said we really don't need this "luxury", but by week's end we were riding it too. The driver, as well as all local personnel we encountered, was more than friendly and always ready to help. This includes the waiter, bartender, roomboy, spa workers, ... Service was excellent! The only "complaint" we had was the Italian animation/sport team. They seemed to just be having a great time amongst themselves, couldn't really give correct information on snorkel trips, etc. There was also a man "singing" each lunch and night at the main bar/restaurant area. He didn't really bother anyone and was friendly enough - but his English pronounciation left you guessing which song he was singing! In fact all the Italian staff had just arrived on the island 2 weeks ago and I guess were still getting used to everything. They work in 5 month stints.

The food in both the main restaurant and water villa restaurant was heavenly! The chef is Sri-Lankan but has wonderful Italian influences. We enjoyed breakfast on our porch every morning! The all-inclusive on Thudufushi (&Arthuruga) is unbeatable! One tiny discrepancy we found was that it was stated in the internet that the water villas had an i-Pod docking station and an i-Mac. This was not the case. There was however wireless in the villas. The beach bungalows apparently have the docking stations. Also there's wireless in the lobby area. There was a doctor on call, with certain hours each day. Luckily we didn't need her. There is a boutique with some rather pricey things as well as some real bargains. Also a "souvenir" shop with some necessity items as well.

The week we were there, there was a good mix of nationalities: 40% Italian, 20% German speaking, 20% British, 20% Asian.A couple of families with small children, but nothing bothersome. Never once had the feeling of being crowded anywhere. The palms vegetation on the island is lovely and covers the cell tower well. Only improvement could be better hiding (the noise) of the diesel generator in the middle of the island.

Drinks at the bar were well-mixed and tasty. The cappuccinos are better than in Italy! Everything was very clean and even the beach was raked for trash (which did wash up daily) and shells/corals. The sunrises, sunsets, white powdery sand, turquoise blue/green water, white water villas, tasty dining in a laid-back atmosphere(barefoot island!), friendly smiles and service, almost perfect weather made our second trip to the Maldives once again heaven on earth!

Room Tip: Water villas on the right side have the sunset, on the left side have direct access to great snorkel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catellani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Thudufushi (meaning ‘Round Island’) is part of the South Ari Atol, a twenty five minutes sea plane journey from the main Maldivian airport of Male. Consisting of 47 beach bungalows and 25 ‘over water’ villas the resort has a capacity for a total of 160 guests, supported by 130 staff of local, Indian and Sri Lankan origin. They speak a whole host of languages which rather puts us mono-lingual’s to in the minority. Leased from the Maldivian government by the Italian company Franco Rossa it boasts a sister island, Atharuga, built to the same design and run with the same ethos.

The circumnavigation of the island is a treat for the gym averse, a full six minutes will see you back at your destination, neither out of breath or with the loss of a single calorie – providing you walk carefully. Oh and in your new holiday wardrobe don’t buy foot ware, that is so terribly last year.

A host of nationalities enjoy the sun from Italy, Germany, UK, France and China, with the odd couple from Japan and Korea. But it will come as no surprise that you did have to try and spot the couple who were not on their honeymoon. The creation of a place far away from the madding crowd had means it’s really not suitable for children as there is little for them to do. That’s either a blessing or a limiter to your idea of paradise.

The beach bungalows are in fact bedrooms with French windows onto a decking area and a hop, skip and jump past the odd palm tree into the warm waters of the Indian ocean. Each room has fitted wardrobes, air conditioning and a door to what can only be described as a half inside / half outside bathroom – use the loo and washbasins under a roof, shower under the heat of the sun, or the sight of the stars. It is quite an experience.

The over water villas (attracting a premium) are larger and more comprehensive and provide another take on fantastic sunset views across the Atol. A distant advantage are your own steps down into the ocean and the reef life that awaits you (including your own private life belt).

Choose which type of holiday you are after, from these two very complete offerings. Paradise is being able to open the door, walk a few steps over white sand and straight into the sea.

Most areas are open to the elements and when rains the staff drop screens until the weather has passed. Wearing beach wear means you get caught taking a shower if you are out in the open, no one cares.

A single jetty lures you to the reception area with the promise of an inner open courtyard beyond. The fully equipped Water Sports Centre, Diving School and Beach Bar await your convenience. Beyond this the main bar lures you into the open-air restaurant which provides a splendid buffet service three times a day. Finding Beef Wellington as a side dish sets the tone of the experience, dishes from around the word – more than you can review, let alone consume.

In the courtyard the boutique / shop has a very mature continental European aspirations. Expect to pay top dollar for that Armani bikini you can’t resist.

Out of the courtyard into the centre of the island is an open area with sandy ground, tall palm trees and the thatched health spar. On a Friday evening the restaurant staff move all the tables outside and lay service in the open air so guests can dine by candle light. Fresh fish, caught that day, is served straight to your plate. For those of you who have a hankering for home cuisine it is as varied as the guests and their suntans.

The over water villas have your own a la carte restaurant which, for a supplement, those in the bungalows indulge in too, though there hardly seems a point other than to change the view. Thudafushi has a lot of all inclusive items that go with the holiday, unlike competitors. Even a marine biologist and full time doctor.

Snorkeling gear, wetsuits (if you want one), life jackets and flippers are all part of the deal. Take out the hobbycat catamaran, laser sailing boat, canoes or windsurfer as there is an instructor on hand to help the inexperienced. But be prepared to book, as they are as popular as you would expect.

Scuba is extra and provides great intros into the sport. Run by iDive they take groups out most days, but you do have to have some experience and their prices reflect the exclusive nature of the island. Prices range from $140 for a half hour for two to a full deep sea diver course at $750. Watch out for double exchange rate conversions from dollars to Euros to sterling. The divers amongst you will know if that is good value or not.

Snorkeling is of course the surprise. The island’s house reef runs along one side of the island, only five meters from the shore, reaching out for 25 meters and dropping away steeply into the deep blue. It is reported that there are about fifty thousand types of fish and sea creatures around the Maldives and you won’t doubt that. The size, shapes, colours were beyond anything you will expect. The coral differed in shape, size, colour and texture too – just be careful as it can be quite sharp.

This is the real secret of Thudafushi and all these Maldivian islands, you can spend long hours just lying face down in the water watching the marine world pass by your little piece of facemask glass. Be sure to take an underwater camera which can take video too but a word of warning, watch out or the sunburn on your back when you are doing this!

The staff made the experience what it is. Take the trouble to speak with them – sadly not everyone does. Nothing was too much trouble for them; the island really had picked the best people they could get. They are engaging, interesting and will tell you much of the benefits of the holiday spot.

The Island Director, David, is Swiss German and on a couple of other reviews it said he didn’t engage with the guests. The truth is he’s a quiet chap but easy to speak to once you broke the ice. Every time you appear at a bar, the restaurant, reception or just walk along the beach everyone will greet you. Every request no matter how small is dealt with.

Worth the investment and the journey? Let other people speak for that, the island has 40% ‘returns’ as they call them. That’s an incredibly high figure and you will certainly meet several people who have been there more than once.

So what type of people come to Thudufushi? Honeymooners of course, but understanding who goes there gives you an idea of what to expect from your fellow guests. The island is not the cheapest in the Maldives, but then neither is it the type of place you will find Elton John or a minor European royal.

Mostly the guests are just ordinary people who have a little money to enjoy a treat. This means that there is no pretence or image or effort you need to live up to. Fellow island dwellers are easy to engage, sit with in the bar, talk to at dinner, and share a cocktail in the afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed in Sep for 8 nights on this island. Not sure I want you people to know about this amazing place, as it is already pretty hard to get to the island due to the frequent booking of regular customers.This island is particularly exceptional in:

All inclusive package, this includes any cocktail you can imagine, big variety of good wines and spirits, milk shakes and tasty juices.

Reef is amazing and you get to swim with Eagle rays, Calamari and turtles and of cause a great variety of fish including reef baby sharks

Very friendly stuff that will make your stay super welcome

Fantastic bathroom with outdoor shower which is really fun

The only downside to this small paradise island is the fact that the beds are quite hard, but to be honest we hardly noticed it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annushka79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed in a water villa for our honeymoon. Hands down THE best holiday we've ever been on.

The water villas are huge, really stylish and without doubt the most fantastic room I've ever stayed in. The outside decks were equally massive and the steps into the sea proved a godsend in the scorching heat. You can tailor your outside deck to be as private as you need by using the blinds, which seemed very well thought out. The beds are super comfy, and, as with everything else, MASSIVE. The shower was great, one 'rain fall' shower and one 'water fall' shower allows you and your partner to shower together. The double basin in the dressing area was also a nice little his 'n' hers honeymoon treat.

The food in the over water villa restaurant was very, very good indeed. Some of the combos were a little odd, but in the main, all good. Jack fish was a particular fave of mine. 4 courses on offer every lunch and dinner time was a bit much, but you don't have to have all 4 courses! Breakfast was just fine and dandy too, but the clear winner when it comes to breakfast is to have it on your terrace. Get it booked in when you finish your evening meal. The waiters and other staff were all perfectly nice and smiley.

The reef was stocked with plenty of sea life, we saw millions of fish, 4 or 5 sharks, 2 or 3 rays and a turtle, who we swam with for a good half hour to maximise the photo opportunities. A pod of dolphins also swam past the edge of the reef on at least 3 of the mornings we were there. Nice!

The singer chap they had on in the evenings was appalling. Enthusiastic, but very, very bad indeed. Laughably so. Like the-first-few-weeks-of-x-factor bad (Sorry if you read this singer man - I'm sure you're an amazingly nice chap.)

All-in-all. Amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yes_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thudufushi Island
11.0 km away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
30.5 km away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
36.9 km away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Diamonds Athuruga
Diamonds Athuruga
#1 of 1 in Athuruga Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
19.4 km away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
18.8 km away
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
Conrad Maldives Rangali Island
#1 of 1 in Rangali Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Thudufushi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Thudufushi

Property: Diamonds Thudufushi
Address: P.O. Box 2019
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Thudufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thudufushi Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 40,875 - ₹ 1,44,635
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Thudufushi 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and unwind at Diamonds Thudufushi, a little piece of paradise on its own private island in the Maldives. Set on a white sand island within the turquoise waters of a shallow lagoon, Diamonds Thudufushi offers luxurious accommodation and outstanding levels of service. Located on the south-western rim of Ari Atoll, just a 35-minute seaplane flight south of Male' International Airport, the resort is secluded and tranquil, providing optimum privacy in unspoilt surroundings. The natural beauty of the island has been retained and enhanced. Beach Bungalows have individual verandas and private beachfronts along the coral-sand shore. Experience the diversity of the Maldives by pairing your visit with a stay at Diamonds Thudufushi, offering intimate village charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Diamonds Thudufushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Thudufushi Beach & Water Villas Hotel Thudufushi Island
Diamonds Thudufushi Beach And Water Villas
Thudufushi Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diamonds Thudufushi Thudufushi Island, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing