We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!”
Review of B&B Le Ghiande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Le Ghiande
Ranked #1 of 2 Montepertuso B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I consider myself quite a critical guest, having stayed in very many hotels and B&B's over the years for both work and leisure. I can't remember ever giving maximum marks to anywhere I've stayed before even though many have been very, very good. Two things set Le Ghiande apart - the setting and the hospitality of the owner, Salvatore.

The setting on a hillside of vineyards and lemon groves above Montepertuso, itself high above Positano, is stunning, with views along the rugged Amalfitana coast to Capri at the western end of the Sorrentine peninsular. Breakfast was served on a terrace overlooking the sea and my room had a private terrace with the same spectacular views.

Marco [Salvatore's young cousin] seved me a selection of ice-cold drinks on my arrival on an incredibly hot afternoon before showing me my room. Salvatore later discussed walking routes, and bus and ferry timetables with me and printed off one of these from the internet. I stayed two nights and arriving back too tired the second night to venture out to one of the 3 restaurants close by, unasked, Salvatore brought bruschetti, fruit and wine to my room, none of which I was charged for. Similarly the minibar was stocked with a small collection of drinks, and these too were included in the price of my room.

Le Ghiande is quite easily accessible by the hourly bus from Positano [plus a shortish flight of steps up from the road]. There are at least 3 restaurants within easy walking distance, one of which, 'Il Ritrovo', which, though it isn't cheap, serves sublime local cuisine.

My room was spacious, clean and comfortable, if a little bare. 2 very small suggestions to improve the room would be to provide bedside lamps [the central light gave a cold, harsh feel to the room] and to provide a rubbish bin in the bedroom [in addition to the one in the bathroom].

To conclude, Le Ghiande is an exceptional B&B. Salvatore deserves every success.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tontilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

A wonderful place to stay. Salvatore was a great host, warm and welcoming, giving us all the information and advice we required without being over bearing. The house is in a strunning location. We booked the smaller room with a juliette balcony but this still proved to be very spacious with excellent facilities, and the views were marvellous. We did a couple of wonderful walks that were very accessible from Montepertuso including 'The Path of the Gods'. There are good restaurants available in the village and Positano if you wish is easily accessible.So glad we chose Le Ghiande and hope to return.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 4RobL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I spend a lot of time on Trip Advisor and was quite surprised to find so many amazing reviews about this B&B. In fact, it was to the point where it seemed un-real. It wasn't just the fact that everyone is giving this place 5 stars - but it's the fact that everyone is simply saying SO MANY good things about this place.

Well, we just came back from Le Ghiande and I am happy to "admit" that it's all true. This place is an absolute JOY. And the main reason it's a JOY is Salvatore, Regina, Marco and the entire family.

For the 6 nights we spend there, we felt part of their family and that's a feeling we've never felt in any other hotel/B&B/etc., anywhere.

So a very big thank you to Salvatore, Regina, Marco and the familia. We miss you and we thank you for making us part of your family.

Grazie Mille!!!

Room Tip: Tip: Take the "1000" steps down to the beach at least once. It's not that hard and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Just amazing a little slice of heaven...We first arrived tired and knackered they greeted us with cakes and drinks and showed us maps of where to go and how to go here..then our room was clean and very nice the balcony had an awesome view of the whole of Positano and you just feel like you are in a picture just breathtaking words cant describe it. the bathroom is very nice aswell. Salvaltore and his family that own this B&B are just so kind and made our experience a highlight... unfortunately I broke my foot on the stairs walking to Positano once i arrived back at the hotel the family got me ice packs..pillows..food and drinks... and even called in his uncle who was a doctor... as I couldnt move they cooked dinner for myself and my boyfriend and brought us breakfast in the morning they then organised for me to go to the hospital in Sorrento and carried me down the 100 steps to the road they waited for me in the emergency room for 5/6 hours and then drove us back and cooked us lunch and dinner again that night... i have never had people look after me and be so caring before in my life.... they are truly amazing!!! if you dont come for the amazing service ... then come for the view and the rooms! Definately wouldnt stay anywhere else I cant thank them enough!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My fiancee and I had an incredible stay at Le Ghiande. We are both students and therefore travel on a tight budget. We could not believe what we got in Montepertuso! Our room was fantastic (clean, comfortable, spacious, and had an incredible view). More importantly Salvatore was an incredible host. He was extremely welcoming and provided us with maps and advice about what to do and see. We recommend the hike from Bomerano! His breakfasts and his wine were delicious!

You won't want to leave. We frequently just got sandwiches and wine from the market in Montepertuso and enjoyed dinner outside with a fantastic view. We liked it so much we stayed an extra day.

If coming from Sorrento make sure to ask the bus driver to notify you when you reach Chiesa Nuova (write it down in Italian before leaving). It is easy to miss.

Enjoy your trip and thank you Salvatore!

Room Tip: We had the room Vitri which was beautiful. It has two large windows that open over a fantastic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepertuso
1.2 km away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
1.4 km away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
641 reviews
0.3 km away
Il Pertuso B&B
Il Pertuso B&B
#2 of 2 in Montepertuso
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
#2 of 53 in Positano
430 reviews
1.4 km away
Pensione Casa Guadagno
Pensione Casa Guadagno
#23 of 53 in Positano
166 reviews
1.4 km away
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Venus Inn B&B Positano
#20 of 53 in Positano
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Le Ghiande? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Ghiande

Address: Via Tagliata 63, 84017 Montepertuso, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano > Montepertuso
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montepertuso
Price Range: ₹ 4,529 - ₹ 6,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — B&B Le Ghiande 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dipped in the green of the Coastal Amalfitana and far away from every noise the Ghiande in an ancient restructured colonic house and fine furnished equipped of all the comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Le Ghiande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing