We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and warm”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Virgen, Sarapiqui, Province of Heredia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Louise F
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and warm”
Reviewed 10 February 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Wow, what a remarkable place to stay! At no other place in Costa Rica we felt so welcome. Unfortunately Wendy was not there, but her parents and sisters made up for it. The lodge is spacious and clean, you hear all kinds of animals during the night and day. Breakfast and dinner are cooked bij Dona Rita and are really very special and delicious. One of Wendy's sisters joined us for dinner so we could hear about Coast Rican life and the environment. We really felt at home. And in the neighbourhood there is enough to visit and see. Do go there, you won't regret it. Hope to be back sometime.

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolNeum...
California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wendy"s Eco Guest House in Sarapiqui, Costa Rica”
Reviewed 21 January 2019 for a stay in January 2019

Wendy"s Eco Guest House is Sarapiqui, Costa Rica was lovely wonderful new experience. Wendy designed the house with comfort and spaciousness in mind. Wendy's family cooked amazing meals. Our Uncle, my husband and myself all enjoyed hearing the howling monkeys and the feel and sounds of being in the rainforest. Next time we will try to stay for longer than 2 days. Thank your Wendy for sharing Costa Rica with us! I learned so much about being in a sustainable home that now I want to share my newfound knowledge at home.

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManDevvil
Cologne
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in the Dschungel ”
Reviewed 29 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

We stayed with 5 friends for 2 nights. The place is cool and special.
First of all Wendy and her family make the stay special. You are greeted with a fresh pressed welcome drink and Wendy tells you a little about the area.
The house is on a small street almost in the dschungle. The house is big, clean but basic. There is no aircon or fan. Master bedroom is huge and super nice with en-suite bath. There is one more bedroom and a another queen bed in the mezzanine.
We made a hike to a local waterfall that Wendy recommended and did rafting the next day. Both were super nice, especially because there is almost no tourists

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoeB1
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
923 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Staying with a Costa Rican family!”
Reviewed 27 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This house is situated in a magnificent area. It feels like Costa Rica off the beaten path. The house is an ecological house in the middle of the nature. We saw and heard a lot of animals nearby the house. You have everything you need at the house, we missed only a chair or two to sit in the garden and the beds were not that comfortable. Wendy wasn't there at the moment we stayed there, but we felt very welcome because of her lovely family. We ate breakfast and dinner at the family house. The mom cooked us some great Costa Rican food! So you must definitely eat at the family house when you rent the house, it was really great value. They arranged the rafting, a great night tour and a walk to a nearby waterfall for us. We stayed here for 2 nights and that was enough to do the activities and to explore the region. But what makes the place so special above all is the family, they are really nice and friendly. We had great talks and learned a lot about Costa Rica! We were sad to leave and hope to come back some day.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highlight of whole trip!”
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was an amazing experience. The house was cute, clean, authentic and right in the middle of nature. Wendy was incredible. She was a 5 star host and hide. We ended up doing several of her tours. Excellent. We had her all to ourselves. No tourists in sight. This is real Costa Rica away from the city. The meals by her mom was great. Wendy helped us learn some Spanish. Her knowledge on fauna and nature and local culture were a treat. This is the best place for a real Costa Rican experience.

Date of stay: March 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.