We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (767)
Filter reviews
767 results
Traveller rating
341
286
95
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
286
95
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river italian restaurant howler monkeys costa rica primary forest covered walkway air conditioning buffet style road noise night walk grand tour suspension bridge lunch and dinner la selva biological station on stilts guided tour ceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 767 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

In a protected area divided by the main road between Tortuguero and La Fortuna, this is a great little stop over to break up a very long journey. I would recommend the tours offered locally to see the wildlife, as the guides know where to find it spot then. We took some great pictures and the tour guide was very informative
Good sized rooms with decent enough shower. Staff all very friendly and food very good. If staying longer than one night, try and get a quiet room by the river. Either way you will be probably be woken up by the Howler Monkeys at 5.20am! That’s the joy of staying in a forest. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would recommend

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mackmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This lodge was a great place to stay to explore Sarapiqui. We stayed in a room in the main part but would recommend a bungalow away from the busy highway. We asked to move but they didn't have a bungalow available. It is situated near 2 forested areas that were beautiful to hike in. One of the forests you had to have a guide with you. There were lots of activities to enjoy. I would really recommend the river safar as we saw so much wildlife from the boat. Staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms in the main part of the hotel. Highway noise is loud and rooms are small dark and cramped.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Phyl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

You come here for the birds and the owners make a big effort to attract as many birds here as possible with fruit stations etc. I loved gallo pinto so it was a very welcome breakfast for me, with excellent coffee too. The rooms were a bit austere in that they were made of hard wood throughout and there was no air con, but the fans seems to work fine. There was a very interesting tour included, requiring a 0520 pick up (!) to the Selva Bird Station which is a must do. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darron1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This huge forest lodge is a must place to visit if you are a nature enthusiast. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and make you feel at home. Wish we had wifi in our rooms. Bungalows are located 500 m away from the main reception and dining area. Hotel will also help you in arranging tours. Pool is nice and food is decent. This is a bird watcher's paradise. Also you get to enjoy the beautiful weather. Hotel will benefit from some upgrades on infrastructure to make it a five star property.

Room Tip: Bungalows are located away from the main road
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nianigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

The lodge itself was fine, but not great. We stayed in the bungalows that are very far from the reception / breakfast room so we needed to walk a lot and cross a road to get to our bedroom. The breakfast is fine (fresh fruit, gallo pinto), fruit juice is to be avoided, tastes very artificial. If you have the option, it's better to have lunch and dinner somewhere else as the food is basic and not worth the price.
Some employees were nice, but most of the time we felt like we were bothering them. Most didn't smile at all, we didn't feel welcome.
The gardens and the tours offered are great though and the tour guides we had were very knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is just one bridge away from the rainforest.
As it rained a lot, we saw many frogs just next to the dining room after dark.

Room Tip: Avoid bungalows, unless you want to be isolated from the rest of the hotel. You can hear the road a bit.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerChamonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews