We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Family Oriented Resort with Good Caribbean Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Would I recommend this hotel?
If you can get this at a fair price and keep your expectations low you will enjoy yourself.

When considering booking this hotel you first must consider two things:
- How much are you planning on spending on this vacation?
- What are your expectations?

LOCATION:
* Ocho Rios is very lush jungle and not known for having good breaches. Easy access to Zipline, Golf and the (not recommend) Dunn Rivers Falls.
* Not for anyone requiring wheelchair access or those who have trouble with stairs.
* If you do want a nice beach then you'd have to go up to Beaches Negril - be sure to book a higher category that has been renovated. Feedback remains the same on entry level (cheapest) room types, "we have stayed in Holiday Inns that are so much nicer" and similar.

ROOMS:
* The rooms here are a lot nicer than those that their more expensive Beaches Negril hotel. So as long as you are OK with sacrificing the beach it pays to save by passing on Negril and choosing this Beaches Boscobel hotel.


FOOD:
* Eleanor's Caribbean Restaurant is great as is the Jerk Chicken.
* Breakfast only served buffet style - awful.
* Lunch only buffet or else we'd have to have the Jerk Chicken from the Grill - which was delicious but we need more options.
* Dusty fake flowers in the restaurants.
* Not as many restaurants as advertised because each one has two names and is open half the time.


STAFF & SERVICE:
* With their Disney-esque service this is not an authentic Jamaican experience. Very "plasticy". That being said, in general the people who are choosing a Beaches or Sandals experience do not want an authentic experience anyway.

EXPERIENCE:
*Activities - some were included and some came with additional fees. We did not participate in any of those. Snorkelling was just OK. The waters of Ocho Rio / Bosobel are mirky.
Very loud activities squad - harassing you to participate. Into the night the shows were very very loud. We wondered constantly - how are the children suppose to nap during the afternoon or sleep at night?

* The are several men offshore on rafts or in canoes. They sell souvenirs to guests of this hotel and that is their livelihood. They are desperate. If you do not support them they do not get a single sale all day. How would you feel about this? Curious? Awkward? Intimidated? Guilty? Most ways would be negative. What is the best case scenario here? They can not be avoided as the beach is so teeny tiny. "Private Cove," as per the brochure.

OVERALL IMPRESSION OF HOTEL:
* When you check out they offer you an incentive, "send us the link to your trip advisor review and we will enter to have you win a discount off your next stay". This will not yield any real reviews! NO wonder this hotel rates so higher here on this very website. People dare not submit a negative review in fear that they would not be entered into the draw. Dishonest tactic in my opinion.

* November was a great value time of year to go because the price is a low as hurricane season but features weather as nice as peak Christmas time season.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Great_Expectations84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,255)
There are newer reviews for Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,947 - 2,951 of 4,255 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

A sentimental resort for my husband and I as we got married here 14 years ago and we returned 21/8 to 4/9 with our 11 yr old son. My sister her husband and my 15 yr old niece and our friends with their 13 yrs old daughter also made the return trip with us having also been there for our wedding. The property has been developed somewhat and is now on a much larger scale. The main thing about this resort is that the staff are so friendly and we found there was no one who was not prepared to do enough for you, they work so hard. Our special commendation goes to Lacey-Ann who attends the guests around the main pool area, she was amazing,what a lovely pleasant girl and a credit to the management team, we think she deserves a promotion Mr Spittle!
Anyone who complains about the food here must be extremely fussy, there was always something to choose from and it is available for most of the day and evening at one of the many eating areas. There was an obvious reduction in choices for our second week which is probably the only thing I would comment on negatively having paid the price for two weeks, however, there was still an adequate menu .
The grounds and gardens are extremely well kept and as for a previously read review commenting on junk in the sea, we did not see any of that ????????????
Our 11 year old thought the x box games garage was cool and he was kept fully entertained there when he wanted to dodge the sun or when he did no want to watch the evening entertainment.
Overall this is a fabulous family resort and I would recommend this to others without hesitation.
The Royle smethurst and Morris families

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roylebev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was our second visit to Boscobel. We came back because our first visit (in 2010) was amazing and we were a bit disappointed this time.

Rooms: we got upgraded to the beach, second level. These rooms were renovated in 2010 and are great. We had the concierge service, but didn't really use it. The bad thing about these rooms is that the doors open from the inside a bit too easily. We went with a 1.5 year old and a 2.5 year old and they could open the door easily (too easily). They just have to pull down on the handle, push and they are out on the communal terrace (a flight of stairs from the beach). As a result we had to barricade the door when we showered or wanted to take a family nap.

The concierge service is nice in that you get a stocked bar and milk in your room. We did not realize until after we selected the items we wanted in our bar that you get full bottles of the hard liquor. We asked for rum and gin only to find we drank exclusively at the bars, so our bottles had to be thrown out at the end of our stay (what a waste). Small, 1oz bottles would be much more economical.

Childcare: it was on the weight of our childcare experience that we came back. We even brought friends this time and had 6 kids between us. None of the kids liked kidscamp this year. Not one. I get the sense that when they closed the resort in 2010 for the renos they laid off the previous childcare staff (who were great!) who quickly got other jobs and were not available to come back. The new women they hired appear to not be happy and this translates into sullen workers who don't smile or engage with the kids when we bring them for childcare. The quality of the care is still great and the kids are well treated and taken care of, they are just miserable (kids and minders).
We did hire night-time private nannies, and these women were great! Happy and engaging, they seem to like their work. I'd just hire a full-time nanny for the week if I went again.

The rest of the resort was great. Good food (remember, this is Jamaica, so don't be too critical), good entertainment, good times.

The wifi (paid) is a nice touch.

I actually made it to the spa this year and had a great massage. We also went diving after first having a refresher course in the dive pool. The lesson was great, the dive was private (by chance) but the reef is battered and not too impressive.

I'll go back when the kids are older

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hibiscus99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This resort was so AWESOME, we did it twice!! The boys and I LOVED this resort -- the water slides kept them busy and I had no worries with them running around the grounds. My middle man is always a worry with the sun, but not here -- with self-serve beverages all day long everyone stayed hydrated and irie mon!! The food was excellent with many different dining locations to choose from. My children were treated like royalty and have named Jamaica as their #1 favourite vacation spot. Lots to do here and the staff could not be any better -- Excellent experience all around!! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHodgson55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We travelled to Beaches Boscobel in February 2011 with our two children aged 5 and 4 months. Like many of the other people here I had read the reviews here prior to travelling and was a little worried when I saw some negative feedback. After having been there I can honestly say that I read them now and laugh. Clearly there are just some people who you just cannot please! The resort is ideal for families as that is clearly what it is geared towards, not that adults can't have lots of fun there (and we did). To say the water park was a hit is an understatement. There are watersides for all ages from toddler slides right up to a slide that drops you several stories straight down! The beach is small, but when you are there with small kids that is actually a good thing, and there was always lots of room available. As at other resorts that I've been to, guests like to leave there towels on chairs to reserve them for later use making finding a couple chairs together to be sometimes difficult, but while we were there management put a policy in place that required a ticket to get a towel (1 at a time) and this helped cut down on the issue.

The food was well beyond my expectations. My husband and I are actually very into dining and we were very impressed.

The room was big and we had a pull out couch for my daughter and a crib for the baby and there was still lots of room. One day the hot water was out for a few hours, but these things happen. We did have some little tiny ants (almost couldn't even see them) one morning after we had left some fruit out in the room. We learned our lesson there and started making sure to put our food dishes outside the door when we were done and that was the end of that.

The day camp was great. We didn't leave the kids there much, but we would often tag along to the activities that they had going on. We did use the babysitting service there several evenings so we could go out to dinner on our own. My daughter was old enough to go with the day camp which didn't close until 9pm, but that option wasn't available for our baby so we just had the nanny take both kids and tag along with the day camp so they got to be involved with activities and they didn't even think about us being gone.

My only compliant about the resort is that there are not nearly enough public bathrooms at the resort and this was a nuisance for sure. You would think that a resort catering to children would have more. Also, the few that they had didn't have change tables so that didn't work out too well either for us.

Bathrooms aside though, we LOVED our vacation at Beaches Boscobel and actually already have our return trip booked and this time we are taking 3 other families with us! We asked our 5 year old if she would rather go back to beaches or back to Disney World and she picked beaches... that speaks volumes I believe.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Laurie7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
88.6 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
143.8 km away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
37.4 km away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,295 reviews
11.1 km away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
91.0 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range: ₹ 30,130 - ₹ 78,890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing