We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Just back from a one night stay. Hotel really warm cozy & welcoming. Staff couldn't do enough for us & with two small kids they were very attentive to our needs. Food excellent and over all superb value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexdunne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Woodford Dolmen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 508 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was our third time to stay at The Dolmen for family weddings and it keeps getting better. We decided to go a day early and got a great deal for our stay of 3 nights. Had a bar meal on our arrival and lunch on the day we left, food was excellent. Service and meal at wedding was fantastic. Staff very friendly,efficient and helpful. Bedoom spacious and on the ground floor was clean and well serviced.
The grounds are great overlooking the river and ideal for an after dinner stroll
Special mention to the night porter (think his name was Brian) who always was cheery chatty and polite when we arrived in late and looking for a nightcap.
We dont have any more family left in Carlow to be married so gonna have to think of an excuse to get back
Thanks for a great break

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor as its closer to the bar
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liamandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I sta;yed in the Dolmen Hotel last Saturday It is approximately a ten minute drive from the town centre

It suited my requirements and I found the staff very friendly and the service in the bar and restaurant areas excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

stayed here for a wedding on the 18th june 2011 for two nights and have to say it was an experience i will never forget it was very clean, rooms are lovely, im a fan of a full irish breakfast and this one was fantastic,the ball room was done up lovely the sevice was great ,the staff were very polite and helpful,the grounds arond the hotel are very nice,the the dinners were great, lovely roast beef one of the best around,i can not believe some of the coments on this what do people want they should just stay at home lol

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,34,56,78,914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel has a friendly, comfortable feel to it, the staff are very friendly and the food is excellent. The rooms need a little doing up but that is reflected in the price. The grounds around the hotel are the best in Carlow and the river setting is very peaceful and beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globehopper69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
3.6 km away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
3.4 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
589 reviews
15.2 km away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
20.6 km away
Clanard Court Hotel
8.8 km away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Dolmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Dolmen Hotel

Address: Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: ₹ 4,500 - ₹ 11,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodford Dolmen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Woodford Dolmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolmen Hotel Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing