We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
19
21
13
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
21
13
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

We had lunch here in May 2017. Would definitely never be back. I had Rosti three ways: the fish portion was awful, very "fishy" tasting. I ate one bite. The ham portion used low quality meat. The tomato portion was fine. Iced tea was $5 a glass, there was no salt or pepper on the table, and bread was not offered. The waitress was not at all friendly. All in all, a typical tourist trap; they know you won't be back. $50 for two for a very poor quality lunch!

Room Tip: I am rating the restaurant portion, not the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 May 2017

Dear Sir

Thank you for vistiting our beautiful little City.

Since end of 2016 we do not have a Restaurant anymore, we are only the Hotel.
I ask you to send the complaint to the Restaurant Adler.

Best regards

Edith Günter
Hotel Adler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

My husband and I were located in room 333, which was very spacious, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom was large and functional. Very good free Wi-Fi in the hotel. Breakfast was simple but quite adequate. Location was outstanding. The proximity to all the beautiful buildings, the station and river was perfect. We never ate at the restaurant so cannot comment about the food. Hotel staff friendly and very accommodating. We caught the train to Rheinfall, which was an amazing sight, and definately worth a visit. Thank you for a wonderful 2 nights.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking a courtyard. Room 333
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Our greeting to the hotel was very unfriendly- we arrived by bicycle and felt like 3rd rate citizens. - ate in restaurant since it seemed to have a good recommendation but food was average at best. - the worst experience was being charged 8 euros for each 1/2 litre of tap water because we didn't buy any wine or a drink. - 16 euros for tap water!! - the original waitress never indicated that this was the 'rule' But if you don't drink alcohol why be penalized.. breakfast was very average too so I'd never recommend this place. It's not worth a 3 star rating !!! And the owners need to smarten up and treat visitors with some genuine enthusiasm. We noted that a local family having a birthday get together in the restaurant were treated like royalty!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _sandy_harvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Hotel Adler was a lovely place to stay in the heart of an Old City with easy access to Rhine Falls and shopping at Winterthur and Schaffhausen.Its a cosy place and has access to other nice romantic restaurants for dinner

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainsley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The hotel is located in the center of the town. The rooms is very big and good. The bed is good and the shower is good. Breakfast is very satisfying and good. Service is good and everythnig was clean and lokked well. the wi-fi is not good

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oddur Helgi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews