We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to Switzerland”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wildhaus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This was the first time I had ever been in Switzerland and the team at Hotel Hirschen made it an unforgettable one. They were all so kind and informative on any of our requests. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. The restaurant food was absolutely delicious and my favorite part of every night was enjoying a few drinks at the blues bar. Kai was an outstanding bar tender and I am glad I got to know him while I was there. Now I just have to find a way to come back!!!

Room Tip: Excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HirschenWildhaus, Manager at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Matthew,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon! An best wishes from Kai as well!

Best regards

Michael & Simone Müller-Walt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

We have fallen in love with this family run spa hotel. Our children have grown up learning to ski in Wildhaus and also to hike in the local mountains.
A very friendly place, away from the maddening crowds of the larger resorts, and with spa facilities to compete with the very best. The restaurant is the best in the region, and always accommodating to kids and special requirements.

All in all Michael and Simone run a tight but caring ship that brings us back year after year.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank PraisDeLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HirschenWildhaus, Inhaber at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Michael and Simone Müller-Walt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2015

We stayed there for over 14 days and used this as a base for our visits to the area. We had a car,so easy to reach within 1 hr cities like chur,stgallen,zurich,austria,bregenz. some day we went with the car,someday we enjoyed the mountains arround with superb nature,watterfalls,mountains.
The Hotel room , we get over Vouchers was arround 35qm with a big terrace overlooking the mountains. great room. The Restaurant in tradionell swiss style was very nice and saff very fiendly. defenitly would stay again next year......

photo view from our room

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suittra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HirschenWildhaus, Inhaber at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre tolle Bewertung die Sie unserem Haus und der Region gegeben haben. Es freut uns sehr hat es Ihnen bei uns gefallen.

Herzliche Grüsse Gastgeberfamilie Michael und Simone Müller-Walt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was planning to drive from Munich to Grindelwald and needed a nice place to stay over on the way. After researching different towns and hotels, I selected the Hotel Hirschen in Wildhaus. Driving in at night, it was impossible to tell anything visual about our hotel or tis surroundings, but both were pleasant surprises in the morning. I arrived later in the evening than expected due to traffic and construction on the roads from Munich. So, instead of arriving at 8:30pm, I didn't arrive until 10pm. No problem for the cordial staff at the hotel - I had almost the entire menu to choose from, even though the restaurant had closed. And I was seated next to some people finishing their meals, and sure enough, the group included the owner, Simone Walt, and her sisters. They couldn't have been more accommodating. And the food was delicious. Dragged myself to bed, very tired, and had a wonderful night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. I stayed in a room that had not been renovated. Although it was fairly old, it was very comfortable and worked just fine for me. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Wildhaus is a small but very pleasant mountain resort. I took a hike on a well-marked path in the morning before leaving, and it was very nice climbing the side of the mountain the hotel is located on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidnightCruiser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I had a category C room, it was comfortable and quiet. The windows absorb all noise from the road. The bathroom was a bit dated and small, but perfectly functional and spotless. The bed was good quality and I slept very well. I would stay here again.

For the best price, you must book on the hotel website. I was able to book a C room even though the receptionist claimed (on the phone) that these rooms were not available anymore. She also quoted higher prices than the website. At least, the receptionist was always friendly, both on the phone and in person.

While hotel was perfectly fine, the hotel restaurant was the total opposite. Just about everything was terrible about it: waiting for 90 minutes, mediocre food, rude service. See separate review.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road do not have a view, but may allow for sleeping with an open window. Cheapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarlHugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HirschenWildhaus, Owner at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre ehrliche Bewertung. Es freut uns wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat. Wir wissen, während Ihres Aufenthaltes, wurden wir in unserem Restaurant Dorfstube unerwartet mit Besuchern sozusagen "überrannt". Daraus resultierten die langen Wartezeiten und wir konnten unserer angewohnten Qualität nicht gerecht werden. Wir möchten uns dafür entschuldigen und hoffen Sie trotzdem wiedermal bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Herzliche Grüsse sendet Ihnen Simone Walt, Gastgeberin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildhaus
2.1 km away
Hotel Stump's Alpenrose
Hotel Stump's Alpenrose
#2 of 7 in Wildhaus
84 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#3 of 7 in Wildhaus
59 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Toggenburg
Hotel Toggenburg
#4 of 7 in Wildhaus
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Hotel Sternen Unterwasser
Hotel Sternen Unterwasser
#1 of 3 in Unterwasser
61 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Saentis
Hotel Saentis
#2 of 3 in Unterwasser
43 reviews
9.2 km away
Hotel Restaurant Seehof
Hotel Restaurant Seehof
#1 of 1 in Walenstadt
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Passhohe, Wildhaus 9658, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Wildhaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wildhaus
Price Range: ₹ 9,813 - ₹ 27,489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional establishment with a modern interior, it has 63 comfortable rooms, 5 light-flooded function rooms, a bar and rustic-style restaurant. A lounge with two bowling alleys, pool table and Smoker Corner are also part of the offering. Plus there is a small Wellness-Attika with whirlpool, sauna and steam bath where guests can relax after working out in the fitness centre. The park behind the hotel is full of love. The perfect place for seminar, conference, banquets, parties etc. for up 130 peoples. Restaurant "Dorfstube" serving market fresh meals, garden patic and terrace, free parking and 3 garages and even W-Lan in the Hotel available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing