We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chexbres
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

I spend 2 nights for business, hotel center located, price correct, very efficent staff.
Room a little noisy, but clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    107
    29
    19
    5
See reviews for
29
89
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

I'm the owner of a small video production company and we filmed a conférence for Nestlé Research at the lovely castle of Oron in Switzerland. We asked the castel where to stay (2 nights) and they mentionned the prealpina as the closest to the castle.
Everything started smoothly but a mix up happened in the reservation and the hotel took advantage of this to charge us with extra money. Appart from this the view is fabulous but the room rates are way to expensive. the rooms looks like cheap motel's and the bed are not confortable to say the least. I would strongly recommand you forget about this place unless you're masochist ;-)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_algar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

I got exactly what I expected, a clean room, but a very Spartan one!

Good staff, good service, very good food, and not overly expensive alcohol.

The location is stunning with fantastic views over the lake.

Would I go again, certainly its very fit for purpose.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

I arrived at the hotel very late at night, after the desk had closed. I was very pleased that the hotel had a system allowing me to pick up my key from a passcoded box at the door.

I was a little dismayed to find that my room was very small for the 200 francs, and with the sound of the motorway nearby it seemed to be little more than an overpriced motel that night.

The hotel was clean, pleasant, breakfast was good, the views are stunning from the lake facing areas, but it IS very close to a busy road and you should make sure when booking that you have a room with a view and a room as far as possible from the motorway.

For a little less money you could stay in a quiet village pension, for a little more you could stay in four star luxury, so why bother with the Prealpina?

When I addressed my complaint to the desk next morning, they replied there was nothing they could do, and normally they advise guests when they book by phone (I used their website) about the noise in the side facing rooms. I wrote a letter of complaint to the management, for which I was simply thanked rather than offered any apology.

  • Disliked — Proximity to motorway
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ioriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

We wanted to try a different hotel on lake Geneva for a weekend break this year, having in the past always stayed in Lausanne and Geneva.

Location:
The Hotel website promised tranquility and great views from all the rooms. Sadly the reality was very different. The Hotel is enclosed by a raised motorway on two sides and the rooms at the back and the side suffer from the associated noise 24/7.

Rooms:
The rooms are clean, with high quality bedlinen, but very basic furniture with linoleum floors and a very sterile bathroom.

Food:
Breakfast is great, both in terms of views from the breakfast area and the food.

In summary I would say that this Hotel is more of a Motel, unless you book the top of the range rooms directly facing the lakefront.

  • Liked — the breakfast was great
  • Disliked — the location directly by the motorway spoiled everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Puma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chexbres
0.8 km away
Le Baron Tavernier
Le Baron Tavernier
#1 of 2 in Chexbres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Lavaux
Hotel Lavaux
#1 of 3 in Cully
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.3 km away
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Mont Pelerin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage
4.2 km away
Auberge Du Raisin
Auberge Du Raisin
#2 of 3 in Cully
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
5.8 km away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina
Address: chemin du Prealpina 3, Chexbres 1071, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Chexbres
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chexbres
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,485 - ₹ 11,686
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prealpina Hotel Chexbres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing