We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful experience”
Review of Chateau d'Urspelt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau d'Urspelt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urspelt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

beautiful bed and breakfast. stayed three nights and used the hotel for a base for traveling throughout Luxembourg. lovely dinner despite the flies. the staff were fabulous and went out of their way to help us reclaim our lost baggage from Paris. the spa was a great treat. beautiful countryside and great folks. best part was discovering my father in law had been there with the 26th Yankee Division during WWII. amazing connection!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yannick R, General Manager at Chateau d'Urspelt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Patti B,

Thanks for your nice review.

We have been very pleased hosting you during your visit in Luxembourg.

I'm very happy to read we find a quick & reliable solution for your luggage lost in Paris.

All of team members has been very glad to receive your encouragement, that's the best way to thank them of their continuous efforts.

As you may have noticed, weather condition were exceptionally hot for this Autumn season.

Despite having natural (100 swallows colony) & technical measures in place all over the Castle, flies were indeed still active in this countryside region of Luxembourg due to Indian summer conditions.

Urspelt Castle was indeed occupied by German soldiers during WWII then freed by the Allied forces during the Battle of the Bulge. (To be accurate, in January 1945)

They stayed a few days during this harsh winter and used our place as temporary hospital, then went in direction of Berlin.

It still have consequences now, as they torn apart the wooden frame from the walls to heat the place (Last pieces of that frame is still visible in the largest suite).

That's why all remaining furniture's from that time are doors, fixed wardrobes, stairs and a bar (don't know why... )

I'm very happy you made that special connection with our venue...another good reason to feel home here !

Feel free to contact me for organizing your next visit.

All the best,

Yannick R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We had the unfortunate luck of having a warm day with a full house hotel. The room was terribly hot but we could not open the window because of the very noisy people sitting @ the bar/restaurant until almost 3 AM!
the restaurant was very good!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yannick R, General Manager at Chateau d'Urspelt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andy S,

Thank for your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry to read you have experienced warm conditions during this exceptional hot Autumn.

My security staff has been informed about your legit remark and will double attention.

Feel completely free to contact them directly (using 100 on the room phone) for any request.

I've also requested my front desk team to advise strongly to book a air-conditioned room or suite if similar conditions occurs again.

Please note Luxembourg have settled a temperature record on that week, so it may never happen again.

Feel very free to contact me for organizing your next stay with us, I will do my best to make your stay completely 100% satisfactory.

Best regards,

Yannick R
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Found it on verychic hotels and i liked the deal. Had also an add on gift on a bath spa some kilometers away and this made the deal more attractive.
On the pros, is a quiet, well maintained chateau with polite staff, easy parking and very well decorated. Very attractive option for corporate and social events. Easy check in check out process and responsive personnel.
Definetely is an option that you would recommend to anyone.
On the cons, breakfast couls have some more variety based on the 4star rating, Also breakfast dining room was too small to accomadate a fully booked hotel on a weekend. Result was for late breakfast comers to think twice to come late nexr morning as they stood up until they find a table.
Heating on the room was not working. despite numerous efforts and the reassurance that system works, you were not able to add more heat in the room. Thank God it was not so cold out there but definetely you would let your toe finger slip out of the blanket.
Restaurant service was great, food quality presentation and quantity was very good but price was a bit salty.
Outside pool, no forget it . Unless you have done something really bad to deserve it.
Overall impression is positive and had some good time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at the chateau d'urspelt.
Hotel: everything is nice: the ladies at the reception are lovely, the room was very beautiful and clean, breakfast was complete and varied.
Location: it's a secluded place but it's perfect for a romantic getaway and the hotel met our expectations on every aspect.
Restaurant: food was great, especially the lamb which was generous and nicely presented. We had the chance to meet the chef who was very friendly.
However, the service at the restaurant was such a let down... only three people on the floor, we arrived and felt like no one in particular was looking after us. It was such a shame because the food is not cheap and the setting is sophisticated but waitresses clearly were not organised and didn't dedicate any time to us. 30 minutes after finishing our mains, no one offered us desserts so we decided to leave. The waitress who presented us the bill was on the phone so clearly was not even interested in getting our feedback.
At some point, all the front of house staff was chatting behind the bar and no one was on the floor! The table next to us even had to stand up and get the menus themselves.
Conclusion: everything matches the four stars in this hotel apart from the service at the restaurant. Please hire more staff or train the people currently in place!! Because when you spend more than 100 euros for two (starter main and wine) on an evening out, the least you expect is decent service!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lloyd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The danger of returning to a favourite hotel is to find it less wonderful that you remembered. However, for this fairy-tale castle close to Clervaux the opposite is true. I come back to it time and again, and find it more improved each time. The two private spa's remain the best feature, and the new improved menu in the restaurant is excellent.
The staff are excellent and speak a variety of languages between them. I will be back!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank lysasiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urspelt
2.7 km away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#4 of 8 in Clervaux
383 reviews
19.7 km away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#1 of 11 in Vianden
222 reviews
2.6 km away
Le Clervaux Boutique & Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#6 of 8 in Clervaux
358 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Koener
Hotel Koener
#1 of 8 in Clervaux
383 reviews
19.6 km away
Hotel Petry
Hotel Petry
#2 of 11 in Vianden
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Urspelt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Urspelt

Address: Am Schlass, Urspelt, Clervaux 9774, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Diekirch District > Clervaux > Urspelt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Urspelt
Price Range: ₹ 5,210 - ₹ 14,022 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau d'Urspelt 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Oesling region, this luxurious, 18th century castle is fully renovated and offers a classic and stylish setting for your stay in Luxembourg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau d'Urspelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Urspelt Hotel Urspelt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing