We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect country getaway from a hectic city...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Where the rainbow ends.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere. It's snowing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere.
It's snowing.
Flaming June
The view from the front door.
A double staircase circumventing a king post truss or vertical beam
The meadow opposite.
Walk from the door into open country or visit our two lovely pubs just two minutes down the hill.
Snowy frolics in the village.
The Kitchen Window
The dining area.
A spacious, light and airy bathroom
The newly extended car park.
The well-equipped kitchen, part of the open-plan downstairs. Cook, socialise and enjoy the view.
The Gate, voted 'Most Unspoilt Pub in England 2017' by The Good Pub Guide. Good food too.
A few hundred feet from Chapel House.
Cosy bedrooms with fabulous views across the valley.
Period features; the original Victorian shutters and bolts.
The White Peak at sunset
The small bedroom.
Up, up, up and away in my beautiful balloon - fly from Tissington or Chatsworth.
Through the arched window.
High up on the edge of the village but feels like open country.
A 12kw woodburner and electric heating will keep you warm in winter.
Friendly locals.
Near Rainster Rocks (10 mins walk). Panoramic views towards Parwich. This was once a tropical sea.
Everywhere that I roam...... Show me the way to go home.
A green and pleasant land.
Harboro rocks on the village outskirts. A Mecca for climbing beginners.
Not far from Pemberley?
View from the bathroom. Brush your teeth and watch buzzards at the same time.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brassington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Keri1987
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect country getaway from a hectic city lifestyle”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My friends and I travelled to the Peak District from London, wanting a quiet, relaxing break and Chapel House was the perfect accommodation we could have chosen. Set in the quaint, pretty little village of Brassington, with beautiful surroundings and miles of greenery. We awoke every morning to the birds singing and looked out the window to see the lambs playing. David left some great information on where to visit in the area, and across the 3 days we were there. we always had something to do. We went horse riding, country walking, Go Apeing (not for those who are petrified of heights- like me!!!) and Caving.

We went to both pubs in the village, and ate at Ye Olde Gate Inn, which was absolutely beautiful. My boyfriend and I had the sirloin steak, which was exceptional, our friends had the venison and lamb, which they also rated very highly. The locals are very friendly and welcoming and we got some good tips of where to go in Buxton, including Poole's Cavern. It was always lovely to return to Chapel House, with the warm fire in the evenings and a glass of red wine!

One tip - do go food shopping as there isn't a shop in the village, only a small vending machine, which does sell essentials, but I would recommend getting your bits from the Sainsbury's or Waitrose in Ashbourne, which is 5 miles away- but get your meat from the butchers (also in Ashbourne).

Chapel House has everything you need for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside, and I will definitely be recommending to all my friends and family. I wish I was still there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill P
Edinburgh
1 review
“Amazing place!!!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had the most amazing week at Chapel house. 4 adults 2 young children and a baby. The house is situated in a great location, its rural but close to lots of attractions. We visited Heights of Abraham, Gullivers Kingdom, Alton Towers, Drayton Manor and Matlock farm park these were all easily accessible from Chapel House. Chapel House was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you would need. There is loads of space and we all felt at home as soon as we arrived. There is two local pubs which were lovely and child friendly all the locals were so nice and made us all feel really welcome. There is a great hill opposite Chapel house which the kids very much enjoyed running up and down each day. Its such a beautiful place and so peaceful. David the owner was extremely helpful and answered all of our questions and was so helpful. Would recommend Chapel house in a minute for a fabulous holiday. Thanks again David.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location it was so peaceful
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judea101
1 review
“Lovely quirky cottage, perfect for a family of four looking to explore the south of the Peak District. .”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were a group of two adults and two teenagers with bikes hoping to find great rides straight from the cottage and we did! Lots of bridle ways and very quiet, pretty lanes plus two major trails meant lots to explore for the week.
The village is small and friendly with two excellent pubs with good food and character.
The cottage itself has a relaxed homely feel and it well equipped.
Any queries/ problems are answered very quickly.
A good one!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samcam75
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A comfy cottage in a lovely village setting with amazing views!”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Chapel House was an excellent base for our first visit to the Peak District (we are already planning our second!). The house is superbly equipped with everything that you may need for a self catering break. The beds were comfy, the bathroom clean and the open plan downstairs area spacious. We particularly enjoyed the log burner each night, even though we had a warm week we still used it! The double staircase and beam made moving between the upstairs rooms entertaining - you may need to have limbo lessons first!!! Our daughter, who is 9, loved having her own double bed too!
The village of Brassington is very quaint and was in a good location for exploring the surrounding area. There are walks quite literally from the doorstep - on our first evening we followed the path up into the hills and watched the sun set.
David was an excellent host and contact throughout the booking was made simple. Lots of information about the house itself and the area were given. We especially liked the message we received on our first day to check we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves.
We had a great holiday - thanks x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateNorth...
North London
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful country retreat. 5 star stay!”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I took my boyfriend to Chapel House on March 20th for 3 nights to celebrate his birthday. I had been recommended by friends and what a recommendation it was!!

Chapel house: Super pretty, cosy, quirky features. Just two of us for the weekend but more than enough space and would work well for a family. Lots of hot water, a beautiful fire and stunning views onto the rolling hills. With a parking space near to the house we found it to be very practical for us. There are lots of walking route guides and attraction leaflets in the house which were very helpful for us. We took some food and there was all of the kitchen equipment we needed. Very very clean.

The village: Is very pretty, there are two pubs in walking distance.

The owner: David was extremely helpful l in answering some questions before we went and advising us about walking routes and pubs. David also gave really good instructions for the location/key info etc.

Recommended activities: We did the High Peak trail, about 8 miles and also Dovedale (my walking highlight) also lunch at The George in Alstonefield which I’d suggest booking in advance as it was very busy (dog friendly) about 30 min drive from Chapel House. We spent our evenings in the house relaxing - it was very quiet and tranquil.

We can't wait to visit again - don't hesitate booking here if you want a beautiful, countryside retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, pretty and cosy house, location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing