We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Living room with a wood burning stove Bedroom with a super kingsize bed and high quality matress
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Living room with a wood burning stove
Bedroom with a super kingsize bed and high quality matress
Open plan living room with wood burning stove
Super Kingsize bed with Egyptian cotton sheets and views over the valleys and beyond
Outside seating right in front of the apartment
Bunkroom off the main bedroom, great for kids and adults alike.
Bunkroom with full length beds, great for kids and adults alike.
Bunkroom with full length beds, great for kids and adults alike.
Autumn view from the living room
The gardens at Abbotsleigh Cottage
Garden at Abbotsleigh Cottage
Bridge over the River Frome at Freshford
Freshford Village, the area known as Sharpstone
Bridge over the River Frome and the Inn at Freshford just the otherside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Freshford, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jjacobsen
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My 19 year old daughter and I stayed at the Abbotsleigh cottage during July 204. We had spent some time in London and Milton Keynes and I was keen to show my daughter the beautiful english countryside and we were not disappointed. The village is lovely with thatched roofs, winding country lanes and some lovely trails/walks. There is a pub where we ate a couple of times - which was nice and the community run shop where you can get necessities ie bread, milk etc. The cottage itself was very comfortable and had absolutely everything you needed, including wifi which was good for research and keeping in touch with home. I took the bedroom and my daughter slept on the couch which converted to a double bed size. The kitchen was very well appointed with all lthe utensils, pots and pans etc. Even the small things like cooking oil and herbs. We didn't do very much cooking but everything was there if needed. The owners Philip and Naomi were marvellous hosts and were very helpful and very keen to assist whenever needed and right there so it was easy to ask for help or advise. They seemed to anticipate your needs which was lovely. There is a train station in the village and Freshford is just one stop from Bath so very easy to get to Bath if you didn't want to drive, The train runs quite often during peak times but I think it was once an hour during the quieter times. Of course Freshford is very conveniently placed and we were able to drive to visit Glastonbury, Cheddar Gorge, Lacock and a few other places of interest and Phil and Naomi were able to advise the best places to see. It was a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJOttawa2...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in beautiful location and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We very much appreciated the very warm welcome and helpfulness of the hosts. The brownies were a lovely touch. The cottage is very comfortable, tastefully decorated and well-equipped. The bed is great, even the knives are sharp -- an unusual occurrence in a vacation rental. The view from the property is breath-taking, over the lovely garden and valley & hills beyond. Most of the time the only sounds were of birds and horses' hooves. Freshford is a lovely, very hilly village, but not far from Bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of the hosts
Liked least: Tricky driving in and out of the cottage, but the owner was very helpful with this.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woronora7...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location,accommodation and everything to a very high standard”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The owners Phil and Naomi ,
Very welcoming, helpful and present the property to a very high standard. The whole apartment was well decorated and furnished and equipped.
The gardens and aspect from the garden really nice to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine in the evening or a cup of tea in the morning.
Many thanks,
George and Erain

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twizzle10...
Ongar, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect weekend break”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

this lovely accommodation is tucked away in the middle of nowhere but so close to Bath. We had the most wonderful time and felt like we'd had a week's holiday in one weekend, so diverse are the things to do. The station is the quaintest thing just a platform in a pretty garden. Leave plenty of time to walk there though as we cut it a bit fine, missed the train, and there wasn't another for an hour!! Accommodation is really spacious and represents so much better value than staying in a tiny room in the city centre. Be warned you will want to stay longer than a weekend, so don't miss out - add an extra date to your booking if you can, you won't regret it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximity to Bath, style of decor
Liked least: slight damp smell in places (but it was an old house, so to be expected)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieSing...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Wonderfully welcoming, peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed for a week with our 2 children age 7 and 9. We all loved the cottage. Everything we needed was at hand. The whole cottage was immaculate and the owners very welcoming, happy to answer all our questions about the area. Watching the sun come up through the valley each morning was wonderful.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing