We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation for an interesting and...”
other travellers have booked this property
'Everything about Ivythorpe Coach House is perfect'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Everything about Ivythorpe Coach House is perfect'
'..highly recommend a stay here for families, couples or friends looking for something special' '..The beds are extremely comfy too! A gem of a place :)'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
'Everything about Ivythorpe Coach House is perfect'
'..highly recommend a stay here for families, couples or friends looking for something special'
'..The beds are extremely comfy too! A gem of a place :)'
“Magical views and inspired design make this more than a holiday stay”
'..newly renovated, offering state-of-the-art convenience and old world charm'
'It has stunning views, is beautifully decorated and has everything you need close by'
'Great accommodation- nice kitchen and bathrooms, all spotlessly clean'
'Would strongly recommend Ivythorpe to anyone who loves design, comfort and wants to escape..'
'The kitchen was fully equipped with quality appliances, dishes, etc. for eat-in meals'
“A perfect few days, in a perfect home, in a perfect place.”
“A fantastic property in a beautiful setting.”
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshford, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Baker709
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation for an interesting and varied holiday.”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are 4 adults who meet up several times a year to explore different parts of the country. We are quite selective about our accommodation and have a long list of criteria. The Coach House satisfied all of these! The accommodation is very comfortable and well appointed, with everything you might need-including the view out of the sitting room window. The village is small but has a village shop and a railway station. So not only did we enjoy long walks , but we were able to travel further afield to Bristol without anyone having to drive! Brilliant!
Our thanks to Selina for all her help both before and during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cevansocc
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ivythorpe Coach House was the cap on an amazing trip to England”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We loved our stay at Ivythorpe. It is a blissful, comfortable, beautiful cottage in the charming town of Freshford. When you arrive, Selina provides all the essentials to get your visit started with a basket of tasty goodies, and what you don't have you can pick up in the local shop a few minutes walk from the cottage. The house is perfect for a family of 4/5 with comfortable beds, heated floors, cozy couches, Netflix and wifi, and a well-stocked kitchen. The view of the church and fields next door are a perfect way to begin your morning (we were greeted to the sounds of the New Year ringing in with church bells and fireworks). We highly, highly recommend the walk to nearby Avoncliff, as it was a muddy, delightful New Years adventure to a sparkling pub and view of the river. This was the perfect escape from the hectic nature of London and the perfect jumping off point to explore Bath, Stonehenge, the Cotswolds, and Glastonbury. It is a short, short walk to the train that is only 7 minutes from Bath. There is plenty of parking at the house, so you can opt to drive to all the nearby locations or take the train to avoid traffic in Bath. We loved our stay at Ivythorpe and would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brilliant...
leics
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place .”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We loved everything about the coach house, from the minute we walked through the door it felt so welcoming. The beds were so comfortably , great ensuite with shower. We caught the train to Bath which was a five minute walk away, great community shop. A hamper full of goodies was much appreciated. Thank you Selina for providing this oasis of calm. We are coming back next year .x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelCla...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Myself and 4 friends stayed in the cottage for a long weekend at the end of November. It was perfect for us. Freshford is a lovely little place, and the cottage was very cosy and had everything we required. It was a 5 minute walk from the station and the train to Bath was very quick. Selena was very accommodating and helpful. We would certainly recommend this to our friends and family!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansong2...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Superb Freshford and Bath at your doorstep”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great little property in a beautiful situation with the bonus of a carparking spot. We enjoyed the views from the bedroom and the touches like the soaps and the comfortable beds. Interesting village shop and welcome food and wine pack. A more detailed list of things to do/places to eat and when, would have been a great addition, especially when we arrived on Sunday afternoon. As we were travelling with a toddler we relied quite heavily on the kitchen facilities and felt the cutlery, utensils etc provided were not up to the general level of finish of the house. We were restricted by not having internet or netflix at Ivythorpe as advertised, in a one off technical failure which affected some of the village and lasted for our entire stay and left us feeling that we weren`t able to make the most of our considerable trip, a dissapointing note for us in an overall very cosy and lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: The customer service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing