We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully quiet spot in the country”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Godefrere

The gite with parking area and fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The gite with parking area and fields
Double bedroom Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The gite with parking area and fields
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Shower room with WC and hand basin
Sitting and TV area
Dining area
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Dining area with sitting and reading by the window
Games room, with 6ft pool table, dart board, petanque, and other outdoor games
The pergola and our garden seen from the gite stairs
A sunny day and what could be better than a long lunch with French food and wine.
The house and gite from our hay field
Lounging in the sun or eating on the patio
Enjoy our large gardens and explore our 5.5 acres of grounds
View from the gite bedrooms with our neighbours. Look out also for foxes, hares, deer and owls.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Gorron, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joachim S
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quiet spot in the country”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent our second week in France here at La Godefrere after a week in Paris, and the change was absolutely wonderful. Paris is obviously much more exciting, with lots of attractions and sights (and lots of tourists everywhere!), but here at La Godefrere we were able to relax and enjoy the holidays.
Being out in the countryside, it was completely quiet at night and quite dark. There is nothing that disturbs your sleep in this area!
The gite is very spacious, with a large downstairs room that includes space for a lounge, dining area, reading area and a kitchen. The main bathroom is on the same floor. The bedrooms are above this downstairs room, and a laundry / games room is located at ground floor below the gite. There was lots of space for our teenagers to curl up in a corner with their cell phones or books.
The gite was very well maintained - not a single thing was out of place. The bathroom and kitchen were spotless, the beds were comfortable. The TV was maybe a little outdated, but we hadn't come to France to watch TV anyway.
We made a number of day trips to places like Mont Saint Michel, Fougere, Mayenne, Ambrieres-les-Vallees, as well as some local farms and villages. There is a lot to see in the area, and we barely scratched the surface. We also visited many of the patisseries in the nearby towns to sample some of the local specialities.
Overall, we had a lovely, relaxing time at La Godefrere!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderfully quiet and relaxing!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaAuber
1 review
“Lovely Gite in a pretty and rural location.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at La Godefrere for 3 nights in August at the end of our holiday in France. The Gite is lovely, very comfortable and well equipped. The owners Graham and Kate were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Their gardens and land are lovely giving a lovely setting and there were cows and sheep in the surrounding fields. My daughter enjoyed stroking the cats too! We enjoyed playing pool and darts in the games room. The area is lovely and there are loads of places to visit - we were spoilt for choice and wished we had longer to see some more! We went to Ambriere les Vallées which was lovely and also enjoyed a walk by the river and a game of Mini Golf at the Parc du Vaux. Mayenne was great too, we did the town trail on the map from the tourist office and a boat trip which was very interesting. We were given an English translation of the French commentary too which was great as this is often not the case! The only slight downsides I would say would be that the Gite is a little dark given the nature of the conversion of the barn and the bathroom had rather an aroma probably due to the septic tank and no opening windows. We would have liked a more private area just for the Gite as you are literally opposite the owners house but that might be us being picky! Overall a great holiday in a lovely area.

Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S L
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Quirky Charm of Peter Mayle's Provence sans That Price Tag!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My sweetheart and I stayed here for a week and found it pleasant, peaceful, and full of charming quirks. I'd read Peter Mayle's "Encore Provence" and although La Godefrere is not set in southern France (Provence), it's still got the same odd character from the brocades selling interesting antiques that I'm tempted to envision in a vintage getaway of my own to the boulangerie that sold better mille feuilles (napoleons) than we had eaten in Paris.

We are a quiet couple that provide much of our own entertainment, but there were still many things to see and do outside the privacy of the Godefrere guest lodgings. Nearby were chateaux, lovely walks, even a cidre museum! Our hosts were the perfect balance of warm and welcoming with leaving us our privacy, too. We could see them and their sweet cats in the garden often and banter with them about our mishaps with French customs (we didn't read the signs IN ENGLISH in the grocery stores that said shoppers needed to weigh and label their produce before going to the cash register; I ordered hot tea on a cold & rainy day as an "aperitif" at a nice restaurant to the consternation of the waiter; our U.S. credit cards didn't have the microchip that's read by most credit card machines in France so we couldn't buy gas for our car after midnight).

When on vacation, we prefer to have a little place from where we can brew tea and eat simple meals then wander around the world at large. This is definitely an affordable and enjoy place to do just that.

(I've added photos to complement the ones on La Godefrere website so you can see some of the detailed charm of the place.)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in June 2013

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emmyloves...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and picturesque”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Lovely comfortable rooms and friendly people! Rural but well located, mayenne and leval are nearby. Lots of lovely places to visit which are all detailed in a folder in the gite.
Great local cider available at several farms in the area.
A good place to relax or as a base to explore the local area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing