We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel like you're a special guest!!”
Review of Hotel Antica Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Antica Posta
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Makes you feel like you're a special guest!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Once again, following Tripadvisor's review has led us to yet another wonderful stay! Albergo Antica Posta is a true gem in Ascona. The ratings says it all. Stéphanie & Christoph are the most awesome hosts!! Everything you ask for, they go the extra mile. I think Tripadvisor should have a category for a 6-Stars service award!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Friends booked for us this charming little hotel. They told us there were only 7 rooms. We got the superior room with the little balcony and the Swiss flag. The room was very spacious, the beds were nice and big. We had a lovely HD TV set but not enough sockets for our laptop and cell phone. The wi-fi did not work during our stay but they told us at the hotel that this will be fixed soon. There were a few steps to climb to our room some of them real squeaky but as we had no neighbors it was not a problem. Breakfast was ample, you do have to ask for eggs if you want them. Dinner was fine but we had better dinners in other restaurants. The Bechter couple are very nice and accommodating. They carried all our luggage up to our room and down again when we left. The location of this hotel is very convenient.

If you have a car you get special permission to enter the pedestrian area, unload and then park your car at the Migro or Co-op garage for a reduced price (12 SFr per day).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Albergo Antica Posta in Ascona, Switzerland is a lovely small hotel run by the very hospitable Bechter family. The design inside is somewhat Scandinavian, with an open court and a glass-enclosed restaurant. Our room and bathroom were huge and comfortable. We could see a church tower out our window which was beautiful in the moonlight. The owners were extraordinarily kind and helpful (and their new baby was adorable). Breakfast was so nice, we wished we'd eaten dinner there also. Ascona itself is a charming village on Lake Maggiore with a pretty waterfront, just big enough for strolling and perusing the vendor stalls, which have nice jewelry and other wares.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandlockedinKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The owners of the hotel were very responsive the weeks before we arrived. Because we were coming in to Ascona on Easter Sunday, we wanted to make sure we knew what services were going to be available to us (just an aside, there were many restaurants and stores open). They were very helpful.

We arrived earlier than they said we would, but were promptly brought up to our room. We stayed in the Double Room Superior and it was very spacious; there were two beds a little bigger than twin-size pushed together and then a cute sitting area. I remember commenting that people with small children would like all of the space. The bed squeaked a bit anytime either of us moved--bit it was comfortable.

The hotel also has a restaurant on-site. I am a vegetarian and there were plenty of choices. My partner is an omnivore and had some excellent meat dish. The food was very high quality. Not to mention the white chocolate mousse for dessert!!!

The hotel was a quick walk to the lake.

The owners were very nice and a great resource. I would certainly stay there again and even took back some brochures to give to friends who will be heading that way.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.0 km away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#3 of 32 in Ascona
336 reviews
0.4 km away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
0.4 km away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#13 of 32 in Ascona
95 reviews
0.2 km away
Albergo Carcani
Albergo Carcani
#8 of 32 in Ascona
228 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#14 of 32 in Ascona
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Posta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Posta

Property: Hotel Antica Posta
Address: contrada Maggiore 4, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,136 - ₹ 32,958
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the old town and was built in 1626. We dispose of a few lovely furnished rooms, a comfortable restaurant and a romantic courtyard, where to enjoy the summertime under the shadow of an old vine. All our 9 rooms are accessible by using different stairs and located all around the building. We have rooms towards the cortyard (quite), towards Via Borgo and to the little lane. The rooms are all furnished with affection and equipped with shower /WC, TV, W-Lan, hairdryer and a little safe. The rooms to the lane's have soundproofed windwows and a ceiling fan."Friendliness conquers hearts"With a lot of passion for your profession and a lot of care for details we could create a friendly and courteous ambiance, which is very appreciated by our guests. Relax and enjoy our hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Antica Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing