We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up market spa hotel in Kandersteg, well placed for hill walking”
Review of Hotel Doldenhorn

Hotel Doldenhorn
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Kandersteg
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We stayed in the flat booked through airbnb which gives you access to the spa and other hotel facilities. The service was good and the spa is fine, but the best bit was walking up the hill to their Doldenhornhutte for an excellent outdoor lunch and views across the valleys. And there was a bonus of seeing chamois on the way up too, despite us having a dog with us.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank MuddyWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Fantastic multiple-course gourmet meal. Every dish was presented beautifully - and every dish tasted excellent. (I don't normally order veal, but the menu for our group was set - and it was REALLY good.)

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

The food was ok, we were there for the kitchen night, a bit of a buffet gimmick, but the food was passable... that said, for traditional Swiss food there is a lot better available in the village...

What really annoyed me was the underhand deception about the drinking water. We ordered still water and it came in refillable glass bottles... and then we were charged 8 CHF a bottle for it... this is appalling underhand behavior.

When challenging the duty manager at check out, I was told this was typical practice and happened all over the place, and it was their mountain spring and they had to clean the water...

Be very careful here...

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fat_bloke_up_hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

The family was staying at the International Scout camp down the road. We walked the mile or so down the road to get dinner we could go left to the Riccola restaurant or we could go right to the hotel. We went right. As we approached the front desk, I specifically asked if they served non-guests. "Oh yes, she replied." We should have had our first clue as she walked us through the dining room and said, "this is our guest dining room", which was elegant and empty. We were seated, and ordered two bottles of mineral water. Our water was served. In the meantime, another man was seated on the outside of the restaurant. He was given water and a basket of bread and a menu. We had not received either yet. Multiple staff members passed by us. No one came back. After 20 - 25 minutes, my husband who is the nicest most humble and gracious man announced, "we're leaving". The two kids (adult children) and I exited as he stayed behind to pay. We converted the bill and it was $20 for each bottle of water and we didn't drink both. Short story long - if you are American or if you are not a guest of that hotel, don't go for dinner.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We loved the food, and the service is amazing! A must go in Kandersteg! Great food and a big choice for good wine!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Nadia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotel Doldenhorn also viewed

Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
 
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
 
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
Kandersteg, Canton of Bern
 

Been to Hotel Doldenhorn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing