We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Beer Garden”
Review of Sonnengalerie

Sonnengalerie
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Kusnacht
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 23 - US$ 91
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At the Romantik Seehotel Sonne in Küsnacht, the choice is yours. If you'd like to dine in a gourmet restaurant, we suggest you try our famous Sonnengalerie - with an "al fresco" option in summer. But if you're after something more down-to-earth, you'll find Swiss specialities and modern international dishes in our cosy and historic dining rooms. Our beer garden is right next to Lake Zurich. Enjoy the wonderful shade under our big trees and simple, delicious self-service dishes in summer. When evening comes, end the day in style with a select drink in our elegant tower bar. The Sonne is a little piece of Küsnacht - we wish you a warm welcome!
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

We live in Kusnacht so this is our 'local'.
It is by far the best beer garden on Lake Zurich.
The location and the views are 1st class. In summer it has the sun all day and in winter it turns into an ice rink which is beautiful.
It has a small kids play area which allows parents some peace to enjoy the sun.
The food is very good with a substantial selection for a beer garden.

The biggest downfall is the service, there is no other way to describe it other than terrible. You can stand for 10 mins waiting to be served whilst the barman works the ice cream stand.
It is really bad, you need more staff when the beer garden is open.

Thank swr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Sonnengalerie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear swr1
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do our best that you enjoy your time at the sonne. With our new tables where you can serve yourself easily we hope that queing will be a little bit less. There are always times where no matter how many persons you have , you have to wait a little bit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Sonne is at a beautiful location right at the lake. We had a great summer breakfast outside here and were impressed by the professional and personal service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Sonnengalerie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear guest
Thank you very much for this nice review. Our breakfast buffet is not the largest in the world but it is made with heart and brain. We hope you tried our honey from Kuesnacht. - Just wonderful. Looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We ate here during a business trip. The main courses are expensive for UK standards (CHF 50+ per main course). The wait us reasonable. My lamb was pink but very tender and cheesecake was not that sweet, which I like.

Thank pekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Sonnengalerie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Dear Peakao
thank you for your feedback. Our main dishes various from CHF 24 to 64 approximatly, so you do have a wide ranch. In Switzerland you usually cook the lamb pink especially lamb chops. We do hope you it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

This was my second visit at Sonne (hotel review separately) and this time I got to experience eating more diverse ways. Gasthaus (I think that was the pub’s name) offers local pub food that does not make great impression. But the actual restaurant food is good and might deserve more that three stars.
Service is really friendly and the location and athmospere makes the restaurant definitely worth visiting.

Thank Vuopalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

I stayed there one night and had a business diner. The service was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
I had a room which was not in the main building, my room was at the first floor with elevator with lake view, amazing ! The location is fantastic, in December when I was there it was possible to do ice-skating in front of the hotel along the lake... beautiful. Easy to come by car, there is a valet parking. I highly recommend that place.
There is also a very nice bar in the hotel :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank valerie253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sonnengalerie also viewed

Kusnacht, Canton of Zurich
Kusnacht, Canton of Zurich
 
Kusnacht, Canton of Zurich
Kilchberg, Canton of Zurich
 
Gattikon, Canton of Zurich
Rueschlikon, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Sonnengalerie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing