We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Panorama Villars
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2011

we had three apartments between 12 of us. aged from 4 years to 54 years. Clean, showers wonderful, kitchen facilities good, just no conventional oven in our apartment. Beds really comfortable and slept peacefully. No noise from other people. In the one bed apartments we still had our own bathrooms and doors to lock at night giving us complete privacy. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were a must for a day skiing, and us all chatting about our hard day on the slopes! We had a 5 minute walk up a steep path to the ski train, which took us up to the sloops. The views from our balcony and bed were breathtaking. We had a problem when we arrived as we were late and could not find the keys, which was our error, (they are in a big RED envelope just as you enter the hotel) however we called their emergency number and someone was with us within a few mintutes, despite the issues our fault, they still were welcomimg. We got alot of quality for our money. will stay there again in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mooninmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2009

We returned to Villars after a 15 year absence with some trepidation - could it still be lovely? We needn't have worried - the village is still magical, sitting on its south facing balcony on the mountains with a view of the Dents du Midi that you could never tire of. Yes there has been some building but in keeping with the village's character but the boulangerie (Heiz) is still wonderful, next door to Marche Viret, the supermarket which will comfortably provide all you require for a holiday.
There are several restaurants in the village. The Toscana pizzas are wonderful, if pricey but the gem for us was Le Francis, an unassuming looking place from the outside in Avenue Central (nearly opposite the Co-op). Here you can have good pizzas, pastas, galettes, burgers, stroganoff etc with a salad bar (veg is a rarity in the mountains in winter) at a realistic price. And the best bit is - They have a non-smoking section!!! Every where else in the village still is smoking and, boy, do you notice it when you've got used to smoke-free in the UK!! Come on Switzerland, catch up with the times on this one!
My advice would be avoid the Rotisserie des Alpes to the right of the railway station. We waited over an hour for steak and chips, until hunger got the better of us and we left and returned to Le Francis!
We stayed in the apartments at the Panorama resort - clean, functional with a small kitchenette for breakfasts, central and with glorious views. Rather small if you have family and do take extra pillows if you like an English Stack!!
It's a beautiful village with good skiing at Bretaye, just pack a few extra francs!! Enjoy

6  Thank jasminKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We booked the Residence Panorama as we had 3 children with us, and wanted the flexibility of cooking ourselves, and as we are non skiers, also somewhere we could entertain the children with space around us, not a cramped hotel room. We also had a budget.
I'd read other reviews, and was expecting this place to be just about ok considering it wasn't hugely expensive, and I definitely knew it wouldn't be a 4 star as it suggests.
It was better than ok - spacious apartment, always very warm, comfy beds, well equipped in the kitchen department, kids were always in the pool, ice rink straight over the road,billiards downstairs...5 minutes to the train station.
There isn't a restaurant or shop, although there's a large Coop within 5 minutes walking distance.
Any negatives - bit scruffy, MDF wood lurking around the apartment, no large mugs for cups of hot tea, but apart from that, all good I would say.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somuchworld2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We have just returned from a week's stay at these apartments. Fantastic undiscovered resort with great skiing and brilliant snow. Apartments provide basic accommodation for skiiers. We took an apartment for six when there were only four of us and were glad we did as it would have been very cramped in the studio apartment. We had a double bedroom, a substantial fold down double bed and two fun fold out bunks. And two bathrooms which was great.

The main disappointment for me was the lack of ANY maid service or change of towels. I was advised that if I wanted a fresh towel I would have to pay CHF 8 (£4) which was not a problem but seemed very petty. There is a washing machine in the basement if you are desperate, which we weren't.

The pool is freezing and has no charm about it really.

The location is a MAJOR problem if you don't want to have to walk up a steep hill to get anywhere or do anything, as the apartments are located downhill from the main street.

Having said that, the apartments are perfectly serviceable, and very clean. Quiet too and with fantastic views. We just would probably stay somewhere more central next time.

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank chocolateyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Søren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.5 km away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
166 reviews
1.0 km away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
665 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Ecureuil
Hotel Ecureuil
#8 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
25 reviews
10.9 km away
Grand Hotel Des Bains
Grand Hotel Des Bains
#1 of 1 in Lavey-les-Bains
288 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Panorama Villars? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Panorama Villars

Address: Route du Village, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range: ₹ 8,508 - ₹ 16,171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Panorama Villars 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Panorama Villars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Panorama Villars Hotel Villars-Sur-Ollon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing