We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Stay While Driving Through Switzerland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothenburg
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Value Stay While Driving Through Switzerland”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My family of four (two adults, two teenagers) stayed one night while transiting Switzerland north-south on the E35/A2. We got a rate on expedia.com for US$135 per night, which is the basis for which I rate this hotel as a value, taking into account the high prices for just about everything else in Switzerland. The room consisted of a very nice queen-sized bed and queen-sized hideaway bed, which the hotel staff had already set up for us, knowing that we would have four in the room. This was by far the most comfortable hideaway bed I've ever slept on, far exceeding my expectations.

We had free wi-fi Internet access in the room. The bathroom was ample sized. The hotel is located at the Lucerne-Neuenkirch rest stop on the E35/A2, located about 10km north of Lucerne. It is co-located at the rest stop with a gas station, a Marché restaurant, and a small store. The hotel is more removed from the expressway than the gas station and restaurant/shop, which helps with highway noise abatement. Nothing else is immediately nearby. There is free parking immediately in front of the hotel; we stayed during a period of low occupancy; I'm not sure where all the cars would be parked if the hotel were sold out. The breakfast buffet (starts at 6:30) consisted of pastries and cereals and breads and cold cuts and some canned sliced fruits and juices. Overall, we found this hotel to be excellent for our needs - which was to have a place to overnight on a long drive from northern to southern Europe. While we did not use this hotel as a base for seeing Lucerne, my impression is that it is too far away from the city unless you're willing to make the roughly 10+km commute.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank American_Bureaucrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    101
    60
    11
    2
See reviews for
94
72
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I Stayed in this hotel since 1996, 3 to 10 times a year, found the hotel very clean, allways a warm welcoming, the hotel manager (Mr A. De Sauza) is doing his best to improve anything. I allways noticed somthing new.
Breakfast is improved, I could find cherry tomatos, as well as the normal reach breakfast.
I was very pleased to see that there are no Smoking rooms,
The operating stuff did not change for those years !!! it's so good to have a warm and friendly welcoming, like a family. I'm sure thats the manager's spirit.
I highly reccomend this hotel, it is very close to the city of Luzern and also to the E-35 highway, it took me 40 min's to get from and to the Zurich airport.

Room Tip: Rooms at the easten side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Went to Luzern to visit a colleague for a day. Hotels in Luzern are stupidly expensive, so while this is a pretty standard HI Express, the price was easily triple the usual price in the USA or other areas of Europe.

Rooms were clean and quiet. While the hotel hosts bus tours (including a large group of Indians), they are accommodated on their own floor for their convenience and that of the other full-fare customers.

Typical HI Express Europe "free breakfast", which means don't expect any eggs, sausage, or anything hot besides the coffee. Pretty standard.

The free internet service was worth every pfennig that I paid for it. Manager explained that this area, essentially a rest stop on the highway, was very far from the phone office and as a result the internet speeds were abysmally slow. I've learned Intercontinental is pretty awful in Europe with their internet access, so no surprise there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon thames
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very convenient hotel and obviously popular as they were fully booked. Had a slight problem as they had not provided a room with a bed for my son but luckily they had a cancellation and provided us with the room we booked. Clean and efficient room if a trifle hot.
Key problem is the lack of a restaurant for evening...we went to the motorway service area around the corner which had an expensive self service restaurant and shop but NO ALCOHOL. Believe me after driving all day with two small children, i desperately needed a drink but it was completely dry. Should be a fine stopover if you bring your own wine!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w1karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The new Holiday Express Inn is convenient for a night, but its location at the motorway is not the best choice for vacation. The staff and Manager are very helpful, free wifi, although a bit complex to get. Has a good breakfast included, free parking (outside). You need a car obviously to move around. Luzern, Zürich and Bern are close to the place. Price something too high, but this is Switzerland...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothenburg
8.7 km away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
9.8 km away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#34 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
11.2 km away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#22 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
9.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
9.0 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Luzern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Luzern

Property: Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Address: Raststaette Neuenkirch Ost 2, Rothenburg 6023, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,269 - ₹ 12,745
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is your hotel ideally located on the rest area Luzern-Neuenkirch on the Highway A2/E35 (Germany-Switzerland-Italy) between the exits Sempach and Emmen-Nord, only 12 km north of the world famous city of Lucerne. ATTENTION: There is no public transport to the hotel from the city. You can reach us by taxi or rented car. The hotel can be reached from either direction via the overhead bridge. Free parking spaces are available in front of the hotel. Zug is a 30 minutes drive away; Zürich and Basel an hour. You can reach Lugano in 2.5 hours. The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is the ideal starting point for various day trips in Switzerland - visit Lucerne with the Chapel bridge, the old town and other sights - or take a boat trip on Lake Lucerne and enjoy the breathtaking scenery of this fascinating region - or spend a day in the alps - Pilatus, Rigi, Jungfraujoch, Titlis to name a few peaks. All the 60 modern rooms are equipped with Wireless LAN (WiFi), Pay TV and a Coffeemaker. The hotel also offers family rooms with one queensize bed and one queen size Sofa bed, meeting rooms and a bar. Children under 18 years sleep free of charge on the sofa bed in the parent's room. Complimentary breakfast is served every morning in the Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Hotel Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Express Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Rothenburg
Rothenburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing