We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Nearby Hotels
US$ 174
US$ 166
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 235
US$ 223
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 231
US$ 193
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 242
US$ 230
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 210
US$ 179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
64
112
64
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
112
64
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnext doorhotel is locatedrest areano air conditioningrooms are cleanbreadthe sofa bedstayed one nightthe hotel staffbreakfast was includedstaff were very friendlyplenty of choicecroissantsoff the highwayfamily roomco opfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very convenient hotel and obviously popular as they were fully booked. Had a slight problem as they had not provided a room with a bed for my son but luckily they had a cancellation and provided us with the room we booked. Clean and efficient room if a trifle hot.
Key problem is the lack of a restaurant for evening...we went to the motorway service area around the corner which had an expensive self service restaurant and shop but NO ALCOHOL. Believe me after driving all day with two small children, i desperately needed a drink but it was completely dry. Should be a fine stopover if you bring your own wine!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank w1karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The new Holiday Express Inn is convenient for a night, but its location at the motorway is not the best choice for vacation. The staff and Manager are very helpful, free wifi, although a bit complex to get. Has a good breakfast included, free parking (outside). You need a car obviously to move around. Luzern, Zürich and Bern are close to the place. Price something too high, but this is Switzerland...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Simple Holiday Inn Express and one of my more memorable one. A nice restaurant outside of the hotel greeted us the morning we arrived by car. The reception was simple but efficient; rooms were HI Express standards and nothing to shout about, in fact we found it amusing that there was no AC in the room! But never a problem thanks to the excellent weather all year round in Lucern!

What we really liked about this property;s location is how it is situated behind a leisure stretch of barns and strawberry farms. The moment we opened the windows, we were in full view of a ranch and all the fresh air that greets us. I took a stroll one morning for about 3 miles behind the hotel and took some awesome pictures of what nature has to offer!

I would love to come back for just a night's stay for the whole country experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a Switzerland vacation. For a night, it was perfect for our needs but if I was staying in the Lucerne area longer then I would book a hotel in the centre of Lucerne itself. As others have noted, this is a hotel to use a) if you have a car and b) know that you will not be near the center of Lucerne and there is no train or public transport to get into town – you’d need to arrange a taxi.
It is located right off the highway in a rest area that has a gas station, Co-op Express and Co-op restaurant (so you can get food and a meal if you arrive during their open hours), but is a good 15 minutes or so drive from Lucerne centre on the motorway. It’s quiet and you don’t hear any motorway noise, at least if you face the side with the farm. The rooms are small and average, a step below the U.S. Holiday Inn Express properties. There is no A/C, but windows open partially and they do provide fans.
Staff were friendly, there is a free car park, and they have free wi-fi too. Breakfast is average and what you’d expect for a continental at a chain like this.
Only downside is when we visited (July 2011), there was a distinctive musty smell in both the corridors and particularly in the room. It could be because there had been a stretch of humid and rainy days, but the smell was pronounced. We opened the windows and put the fan on high and it worked fine.

I booked this on my Priority Club points, but looking at the cost of rooms it seems to be a much cheaper option than hotels in the center of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the farm - quieter
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

On our way to Italy we spent one night at this hotel and we were satisfied with our choice. It was close to highway and only 15 mins drive from Luzern so we had enough time to walk and get to know the old city as well. The hotel parking is free. Parking in a garage in Luzern is a bit expensive.
The hotel design (both - exterior and interior) is nothing special but we didn't mind that at all. The nature was beautifull. The staff was very polite and helpfull, made us feel welcome and explained how to get to Luzern and where to park. Checking in and out was easy and quick.
The room and bathroom were clean, as well as the towells and bed linen. Our children complained about the pillows - too firm for them. The room was a bit smaller for a family of four, but we managed to "fit in" for one night.
The internet connection was good and free of charge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OdohVideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews