We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & Safe, Overpriced, Worthless Internet Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothenburg
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Clean & Safe, Overpriced, Worthless Internet Service”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Went to Luzern to visit a colleague for a day. Hotels in Luzern are stupidly expensive, so while this is a pretty standard HI Express, the price was easily triple the usual price in the USA or other areas of Europe.

Rooms were clean and quiet. While the hotel hosts bus tours (including a large group of Indians), they are accommodated on their own floor for their convenience and that of the other full-fare customers.

Typical HI Express Europe "free breakfast", which means don't expect any eggs, sausage, or anything hot besides the coffee. Pretty standard.

The free internet service was worth every pfennig that I paid for it. Manager explained that this area, essentially a rest stop on the highway, was very far from the phone office and as a result the internet speeds were abysmally slow. I've learned Intercontinental is pretty awful in Europe with their internet access, so no surprise there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimmyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    101
    60
    11
    2
See reviews for
94
72
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon thames
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very convenient hotel and obviously popular as they were fully booked. Had a slight problem as they had not provided a room with a bed for my son but luckily they had a cancellation and provided us with the room we booked. Clean and efficient room if a trifle hot.
Key problem is the lack of a restaurant for evening...we went to the motorway service area around the corner which had an expensive self service restaurant and shop but NO ALCOHOL. Believe me after driving all day with two small children, i desperately needed a drink but it was completely dry. Should be a fine stopover if you bring your own wine!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w1karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The new Holiday Express Inn is convenient for a night, but its location at the motorway is not the best choice for vacation. The staff and Manager are very helpful, free wifi, although a bit complex to get. Has a good breakfast included, free parking (outside). You need a car obviously to move around. Luzern, Zürich and Bern are close to the place. Price something too high, but this is Switzerland...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
243 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Simple Holiday Inn Express and one of my more memorable one. A nice restaurant outside of the hotel greeted us the morning we arrived by car. The reception was simple but efficient; rooms were HI Express standards and nothing to shout about, in fact we found it amusing that there was no AC in the room! But never a problem thanks to the excellent weather all year round in Lucern!

What we really liked about this property;s location is how it is situated behind a leisure stretch of barns and strawberry farms. The moment we opened the windows, we were in full view of a ranch and all the fresh air that greets us. I took a stroll one morning for about 3 miles behind the hotel and took some awesome pictures of what nature has to offer!

I would love to come back for just a night's stay for the whole country experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
247 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a Switzerland vacation. For a night, it was perfect for our needs but if I was staying in the Lucerne area longer then I would book a hotel in the centre of Lucerne itself. As others have noted, this is a hotel to use a) if you have a car and b) know that you will not be near the center of Lucerne and there is no train or public transport to get into town – you’d need to arrange a taxi.
It is located right off the highway in a rest area that has a gas station, Co-op Express and Co-op restaurant (so you can get food and a meal if you arrive during their open hours), but is a good 15 minutes or so drive from Lucerne centre on the motorway. It’s quiet and you don’t hear any motorway noise, at least if you face the side with the farm. The rooms are small and average, a step below the U.S. Holiday Inn Express properties. There is no A/C, but windows open partially and they do provide fans.
Staff were friendly, there is a free car park, and they have free wi-fi too. Breakfast is average and what you’d expect for a continental at a chain like this.
Only downside is when we visited (July 2011), there was a distinctive musty smell in both the corridors and particularly in the room. It could be because there had been a stretch of humid and rainy days, but the smell was pronounced. We opened the windows and put the fan on high and it worked fine.

I booked this on my Priority Club points, but looking at the cost of rooms it seems to be a much cheaper option than hotels in the center of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the farm - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothenburg
8.7 km away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
9.8 km away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#34 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
11.2 km away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#22 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
9.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
9.0 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Luzern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Luzern

Property: Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Address: Raststaette Neuenkirch Ost 2, Rothenburg 6023, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,256 - ₹ 12,799
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is your hotel ideally located on the rest area Luzern-Neuenkirch on the Highway A2/E35 (Germany-Switzerland-Italy) between the exits Sempach and Emmen-Nord, only 12 km north of the world famous city of Lucerne. ATTENTION: There is no public transport to the hotel from the city. You can reach us by taxi or rented car. The hotel can be reached from either direction via the overhead bridge. Free parking spaces are available in front of the hotel. Zug is a 30 minutes drive away; Zürich and Basel an hour. You can reach Lugano in 2.5 hours. The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is the ideal starting point for various day trips in Switzerland - visit Lucerne with the Chapel bridge, the old town and other sights - or take a boat trip on Lake Lucerne and enjoy the breathtaking scenery of this fascinating region - or spend a day in the alps - Pilatus, Rigi, Jungfraujoch, Titlis to name a few peaks. All the 60 modern rooms are equipped with Wireless LAN (WiFi), Pay TV and a Coffeemaker. The hotel also offers family rooms with one queensize bed and one queen size Sofa bed, meeting rooms and a bar. Children under 18 years sleep free of charge on the sofa bed in the parent's room. Complimentary breakfast is served every morning in the Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Hotel Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Express Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Rothenburg
Rothenburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing