We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshingly different IHG experience - Country Living - We loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Luzern
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Simple Holiday Inn Express and one of my more memorable one. A nice restaurant outside of the hotel greeted us the morning we arrived by car. The reception was simple but efficient; rooms were HI Express standards and nothing to shout about, in fact we found it amusing that there was no AC in the room! But never a problem thanks to the excellent weather all year round in Lucern!

What we really liked about this property;s location is how it is situated behind a leisure stretch of barns and strawberry farms. The moment we opened the windows, we were in full view of a ranch and all the fresh air that greets us. I took a stroll one morning for about 3 miles behind the hotel and took some awesome pictures of what nature has to offer!

I would love to come back for just a night's stay for the whole country experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Luzern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed here for one night as part of a Switzerland vacation. For a night, it was perfect for our needs but if I was staying in the Lucerne area longer then I would book a hotel in the centre of Lucerne itself. As others have noted, this is a hotel to use a) if you have a car and b) know that you will not be near the center of Lucerne and there is no train or public transport to get into town – you’d need to arrange a taxi.
It is located right off the highway in a rest area that has a gas station, Co-op Express and Co-op restaurant (so you can get food and a meal if you arrive during their open hours), but is a good 15 minutes or so drive from Lucerne centre on the motorway. It’s quiet and you don’t hear any motorway noise, at least if you face the side with the farm. The rooms are small and average, a step below the U.S. Holiday Inn Express properties. There is no A/C, but windows open partially and they do provide fans.
Staff were friendly, there is a free car park, and they have free wi-fi too. Breakfast is average and what you’d expect for a continental at a chain like this.
Only downside is when we visited (July 2011), there was a distinctive musty smell in both the corridors and particularly in the room. It could be because there had been a stretch of humid and rainy days, but the smell was pronounced. We opened the windows and put the fan on high and it worked fine.

I booked this on my Priority Club points, but looking at the cost of rooms it seems to be a much cheaper option than hotels in the center of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the farm - quieter
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

On our way to Italy we spent one night at this hotel and we were satisfied with our choice. It was close to highway and only 15 mins drive from Luzern so we had enough time to walk and get to know the old city as well. The hotel parking is free. Parking in a garage in Luzern is a bit expensive.
The hotel design (both - exterior and interior) is nothing special but we didn't mind that at all. The nature was beautifull. The staff was very polite and helpfull, made us feel welcome and explained how to get to Luzern and where to park. Checking in and out was easy and quick.
The room and bathroom were clean, as well as the towells and bed linen. Our children complained about the pillows - too firm for them. The room was a bit smaller for a family of four, but we managed to "fit in" for one night.
The internet connection was good and free of charge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OdohVideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Rooms basic, small and uncomfortable bed but clean. As usual Holiday Inn offers a pillow menu service but very few hotels in the group seem to stock the feather pillows which is annoying. Luckily, weather was temperate rather than hot as there is no air conditioning in the rooms, only a desk fan!

Good food to be found next door in the services restaurant which is handy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0tusBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

we loved the place. Breakfast was included, but we had to leave for Interlaaken to catch the Good morning train at 6:30 am. So we had to leave at 4:30 am from the hotel. The staff were nice enough to give us packed breakfast at that early hour !

The internet connection was good and so was the room !

the only negative for us was its distance from Interlaaken. But if you are visiting Luzern, this is a great place !!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laxrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothenburg
8.7 km away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
795 reviews
11.2 km away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
573 reviews
4.6 km away
Businesshotel LUX, Emmenbruke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Birdland
Birdland
#1 of 1 in Sempach
58 reviews
9.8 km away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#37 of 67 in Lucerne
1,577 reviews
8.7 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Luzern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Luzern

Address: Raststaette Neuenkirch Ost 2, Rothenburg 6023, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: ₹ 8,672 - ₹ 11,588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is your hotel ideally located on the rest area Luzern-Neuenkirch on the Highway A2/E35 (Germany-Switzerland-Italy) between the exits Sempach and Emmen-Nord, only 12 km north of the world famous city of Lucerne. ATTENTION: There is no public transport to the hotel from the city. You can reach us by taxi or rented car. The hotel can be reached from either direction via the overhead bridge. Free parking spaces are available in front of the hotel. Zug is a 30 minutes drive away; Zürich and Basel an hour. You can reach Lugano in 2.5 hours. The Express by Holiday Inn Luzern is the ideal starting point for various day trips in Switzerland - visit Lucerne with the Chapel bridge, the old town and other sights - or take a boat trip on Lake Lucerne and enjoy the breathtaking scenery of this fascinating region - or spend a day in the alps - Pilatus, Rigi, Jungfraujoch, Titlis to name a few peaks. All the 60 modern rooms are equipped with Wireless LAN (WiFi), Pay TV and a Coffeemaker. The hotel also offers family rooms with one queensize bed and one queen size Sofa bed, meeting rooms and a bar. Children under 18 years sleep free of charge on the sofa bed in the parent's room. Complimentary breakfast is served every morning in the Great Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Hotel Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Express Rothenburg
Holiday Inn Rothenburg
Rothenburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Luzern Canton Of Lucerne, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing