We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
99
44
10
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
44
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelother hotelsmultiple saunasprivate baththe buscomfortable roomswiss hotelhalf boardspa areathe hotel stafffonduest moritzatticfacilitiesguestsswitzerlandmountains
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Steinbock for a week with family and mother hiking. Wonderful hotel. Perfect. Outstanding local food. Very attentive owners and staff that are always making sure everything is first class. Great location in the middle of town with excellent restaurants. And benefits from luxurious pool, hot tub and spa for after hiking relaxation. Excellent base from which to hike the Engadin - Bernini, Segantini, Boval, Diavolezza, St Moritz, Corvatsch, Piz Nair and we even made it by car through the Vereina train tunnel to Klosters in under 90 mins.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Hotel Steinbock offers exceptional value for money. It is an old style Swiss property with shutters and an eighteenth century building with historic murals on. I was in the attic in a clean and comfortable room with ancient beams running across the ceiling. The staff are friendly and speak excellent English. The restaurant serves delicious local specialties (with a vegetarian menu) and a wide selection of wine (but no cider...). The wifi was strong and free. Breakfast is a simple continental but the quality was excellent and there was a good choice.

Secure covered parking is available for 15 Francs a night. Steinbock guests have access to the five star facilities of the Hotel Walther next door, which include a huge, heated pool and a really luxurious spa area with steam room, multiple saunas and a solarium. You have to cross the garden to get there, but this is a great perk.

The town centre is only 800m walk away and there are other restaurants and bar a few steps away.

Room Tip: Room 48 a lovely twin room is in the attic
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

I visited the restaurant of this lovely and cute restaurant and had a blast.. Served from really professional, kind and smart servants, delicious food, just everything was perfect. So perfect that i decided to come back as a hotel guest. This was about 10 years ago ! And now i was there for 6 or seven times.

The 3* "plus" hotel is really welll located, you will be picked up from railwaystation for free, you will have nice people to talk to, reception is always there for you and the owners Mr and Mrs Walther will be always happy to talk to the guests and spread the spirit of being superb hosts...

They have rooms from small and not costly to really big and having a price that is related to swiss prices:)

If you decide to take half board you will be very happy. They German chef is a magician and the place is so nice to sit and eat and enjoy the atmosphere, cloth napkins and start talking to other guests.

Moreover there is fresh newspaper to read everyday in the lobby, you may use the pool and sauna area of the 5 * hotel just 30 steps to walk to which belongs to the same owner.

To make it short: this hotel is not a hotel, it is more likely to come back to good neighbours who invite you for a stay and the staff is really kind. Use the day to climb the mountains, take a walk or just sit somewhere in the garden of the hotel and dream about the view to the mountains just in front of you.

Oh, ... and make sure to visit the cinema in Pontresina. It is a delight, really old and located in a school.

Room Tip: 43 quiet and big
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ayurveda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Steinbock stay is an affordable and yet relaxing one especially easy to fit into your schedule if you happen to be taking the Bernina Express. Pontresina is a good place to stop and relax along the Bernina Express belt. What i did, is to call Steinbock about the train timing of Bernina express i'm taking, and from where im departing. They got all the time schedule calculated so they know what time your train will arrive and they just fetch you at the station. Car transport services are provided free of charge for the first time. During our stay we also visited Muotta Muragl, an incredible mountain alp view of the Swiss alps. In the morning we had a generous spread for breakfast and even went for Aqua Aerobics classes in their Wellness center. Their wellness center facilities are also very comprehensive, from Oxygen room, sauna, jaccuzzi and all kind of affordable swiss massage and spa.

Definitely a stay pack with many activities to do, you will not feel bored staying with them!

Room Tip: they dont have an elevator. If you have elderly guest or have many luggages, request for a lower level room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rrafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

A real value for money hotel
I arrived in second week of October 2016.
Good bargain for a smallish single room in this 4 star hotel in expensive Pontresina
The bathroom is outside the room & clean
Décor is in swiss chalet style
Clean & tidy,
Conveniently located opposite bus stop & good base for hiking.
I like the fact that buffet breakfast includes fruits.
There was a complimentary plate of fresh fruits in my room & more fruits for hotel guests laid out in the corridor.
This hotel is owned by the same family which runs the adjacent hotel Wulther & they share a spa & swimming pool/Jacuzzi.
Swimming is a great way to spend time on rainy or snowy days .
Hotel provides complimentary transport to the pontresina train station.
The only con is that I was only able to access the internet on my mobile phone but not on my computer at the hotel.
Donates to charity –donates money towards clean , piped water in Africa

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews